Chevron Left
返回到 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的評價和反饋

4.0
1,721 個評分

課程概述

This course will walk you through a hands-on project suitable for a portfolio. You will be introduced to third-party APIs and will be shown how to manipulate images using the Python imaging library (pillow), how to apply optical character recognition to images to recognize text (tesseract and py-tesseract), and how to identify faces in images using the popular opencv library. By the end of the course you will have worked with three different libraries available for Python 3 to create a real-world data-analysis project. The course is best-suited for learners who have taken the first four courses of the Python 3 Programming Specialization. Learners who already have Python programming skills but want to practice with a hands-on, real-world data-analysis project can also benefit from this course. This is the fifth and final course in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

熱門審閱

PM

2020年6月23日

This last course is much more challenging than the prior four, but provides a very good launch pad for taking what you've learned and getting you actually using the skills in building Python code.

RF

2021年4月1日

This course gave great insight in how to approach a new library which I believe is one of the most powerful skills a programmer can have. Keep up the great work that you guys have been doing.

篩選依據:

101 - Python Project: pillow, tesseract, and opencv 的 125 個評論(共 430 個)

創建者 Felipe B

2021年2月26日

There is a big gap within previous courses from this specialization and this one, even though the videos are clear, the pace is really fast. Practically they just show some libraries with a few examples and then they just leave you alone with the final project. Thanks to Google I was able to finish the project, I learn a lot doing it. One thing that is horrible is the Jupyter notebook on Coursera, very s....l....o....w, and they don't facilitate to download the project on a easy way, again using google you can get to something like this: https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/7er5ps/coursera_downloading_all_the_assignments_jupyter/ on my case I had to split the file on 90 MB and then download all the parts On my machine was really fast to complete the project, I spent more time train to complete the project directly on Coursera and then searching solution to the speed issue than actually writing the final project

創建者 Arslan A U R

2020年4月11日

This course might be good for some who are interested to learn PIL and OCV but for python language specialization this course is a bit off topic. They should have taught advanced programming concepts after classes and inheritance e.g. idiomatic programming. This course is taught at a high speed too. Sometimes it becomes hard to follow. May be in future they add more relevant content related to language instead of this course, in the specialization. The focus of this course is to teach how to get help, use and read documentation from different python libraries, which do not required a separate course to my point of view. Neither this course covers pillow, tesseract, and opencv concepts in detail.

Michigan please review the content in this course and make it more relevant to python programming, I know you can do better. See you in another specialization.

創建者 Yongjian F

2019年7月12日

The Peer-review project is not well designed. The instruction about what to submit is misleading. Students are confused about what to submit, uploading a PDF like before, or pasting the whole HTML file?

This becomes clear only after you submit and start to review peer's submission. Students are supposed to copy and paste their code into the submission window. But there is a BIG problem of this approach. The pasted code lose all the formatting, and python relies on formatting. Even if I want to copy a peer's codes and try to run them in Jupyter, the codes are all messed up. There is no way to figure out what my classmate wants to do.

創建者 Sheng-Ta T

2020年12月20日

The labs provide all the script of the lecture, so the lecture videos are pretty much useless. The projects in this course are unexpectedly more difficult than previous courses, and the teaching assistant seems to be complaining about students' posts all the time, making me hesitate to ask questions there. I give 3 stars only because I spent a lot of time and efforts and I felt that I learned a lot by the end of the course. But still, this course could be designed a lot better than this. I will not be surprised that many students just give up in the middle of the learning.

創建者 Nate S

2019年5月25日

There are significant problems with processing and submitting the capstone project; the Coursera Jupyter notebook runs out of memory when working on a particular file (U Mich, you might want to simply reduce some of the image sizes). In addition, the submission process doesn't work without linking outside to a google drive or something of the kind.

The information, though, was excellent, and I'm happy I've completed the whole specialization. Course 3/5 for the reasons listed above (they're quite frustrating) specialization 5/5.

創建者 Ruopeng A

2020年11月23日

I feel the pace of this course is a bit too fast, and it is hard to master all materials learned about the three major APIs (tesseract, openCV, and pillow) given the lecture. A lot of self-experimenting and trial-and-error is required to do the final project. A more through introduction to each of these three excellent API would be helpful and reduce the burden of the final project. Nevertheless, I sincerely appreciate the efforts the instructors devoted to this specializations. I learned a ton from each of you. Cheers!

創建者 Ryan L K H

2020年6月17日

This course was a real disappointment when compared with the other courses in the Python 3 Programming specialisation. Steve and Paul were EXCELLENT in the first 4 courses, building concepts up slowly and assigning challenging but manageable final assignments that integrated everything learnt prior. This capstone on the other hand had a complete 180 in terms of pedagogy. If the aim was to teach students to learn how to dig through messy documentation, fiddle with libraries and dependencies, and read page after page of stackoverflow forums, then a simple project requiring us to find a library and explain several features would’ve sufficed. Instead, we got three libraries thrown at us with nary an explanation of how to use them. I’m not talking about simply reusing code that has already been constructed by Christopher, but rather, going through analytical skills of how to deconstruct any library and work out the functions. I’ll still recommend the course, but the final capstone does leave a bad taste. I felt like I was tracking to hack together some abomination, instead of purposefully constructing a tool step by step. A shame given that the incremental style of development was emphasised by Steve and Paul a lot. Here, I was adding lines of code without care as to what they did, just in the hopes that it would give me the outputs needed to pass.

創建者 Edward K

2021年4月4日

"Capstone Projects are hands-on projects that let you apply what you've learned in a Specialization to a practical question or problem related to the Specialization topic."

Capstone Projects – Coursera Help Center

In this capstone course I expected to apply what I had learned in the previous four courses. I had already taken Python for Everyone, when this course utilized Python 2. I wanted a course about Python 3 which included classes, inheritance, etc. The use of the runestone textbook is great!, but I wish that it had included more about classes, inheritance, etc. I expected that the capstone would be an application in which I was required to apply a class structure with inheritance, etc to a problem.

This capstone was about opencv, pytesseract, and pillow, which are worthwhile topics, but these topics are complex and should be covered in a separate specification. To learn Juypter, opencv, pytesseract and pillow within three weeks is asking too much for students who are MOOC learners (parttime).

I rated this capstone two stars, because the capstone missed the stated purpose of a capstone according to Coursera Help Center.

創建者 Yelyzaveta S

2021年5月20日

While the topic of this course and the libraries that it covers are extremely interesting and worth studying. I believe that they were not discussed on a deep enough level in order to come to the total realization of what's going on inside of them.

Generally being advertised as a part of python specialization for beginners as well as people without technical beckground, this particular course reaches far outside a scope of knowledge, which could have been achvired though the previous courses of the specialization.

Withouth providing enough materials to practice, it leaves you with a bit of theory how certain libraries work and then throws at you grands projects, which additionally require extensive research from your side in order to come to means with all the tools you are to use in the process.

My opinion is that this particular course is not suitable for beginners. Even after completing all the previous courses from this specialization.

創建者 Muhammad A

2020年4月12日

Even though the pillow, tesseract and opencv libraries are very cool and interesting to use - the project does not present a useful challenge. The instructor felt like he was just reading code off a script and there was no interactive problem-solving or debugging.

The project's scope was too specific in its usability and the explanation of the libraries was also lacking. It leaves too much for you to figure out on your own - which would be great if it was challenges related to writing good code, but the challenges were related to figuring out how to use these specific libraries and spend time finding methods which let you do what you wanted it to. I think the project can be improved by giving more clearer instructions on the libraries, but more challenge on the programming logic.

Given the nature of image processing, a lot of time was also spend waiting for the code to finish running before you can debug (and each run took minutes)

創建者 Tianran L (

2021年4月20日

It's very disjointed from the previous 4 courses, as it's taught by a different instructor with a very different style.

I get it that the goal is to get learners out of the simple & clean bubble of the learning environment and deal with messy real-world one. But from the lecture videos, it's clear that the instructor makes assumptions of students' Python skills and just skim through many concepts and codes expecting students to understand them. This doesn't make sense. If these concepts are utilized building towards the capstone, why not have them elaborated in an extra course before the capstone? The learning experience is terrible as I feel I've missed out many things left unexplained (despite Googling).

I'll suggest having instructors from the previous courses in this specialization to do the capstone course for consistency purposes.

創建者 Simon W T C

2020年12月5日

For those who take this course with the completion of the specialization in mind, take note that the difficulty increase quite drastically for this course as compared to the other courses in this specialization. Also beware that this course has a more figure it out yourself rather than a guide approach to teaching and the lecture has a more read the script approach to it, at least we get to read the script for revision and play with the lecture code. Some may be out off by it, but i would say that this is better than other capstones or courses in Coursera, at least the instructions for coursework are clear and the coding environment for it work.... as compared to other more buggy approach in other courses... but beware the Jupyter thingy takes a long time to run your code...

創建者 Raul M

2021年5月24日

Awful, especially when compared to the other 4 courses in the Python 3 Programming specialization. Minutes on end of the teacher showing how to hit the help function and then partly reading through it is definitely not what any student should get upon paying for a course.

Other reviews of this course have gone into enough detail on how unintuitive it is to submit the projects, be sure to read them before enrolling in this course.

A final point: the vibe in the discussion forum is a huge downer, and it seems to be because of the hard rules enforced with very little empathy towards students.

創建者 Tapas S

2020年11月29日

As a beginner I found it quite difficult as compared to other courses in this series. I was expecting a lot more handholding and detailed explanation of the subject as it was done in the other courses in this otherwise great series. However I really enjoyed learning.

創建者 dougie

2021年5月20日

A dismal course, which is a disgraceful "effort" by:

"Christopher Brooks is an applied Computer Scientist who builds and studies the effects of educational technologies in higher education ..."

創建者 Ryan V

2021年1月5日

Esoteric and unintersting information that doesn't tie back to anything done in the previous courses for this specialization.

創建者 Paddy W

2021年2月25日

This module was too big a step up from the last four in the specilisation!!

創建者 Scott W

2020年5月2日

Pro: Jupyter Notebook is a helpful Python interpreter, but we would have benefited from using that at the beginning of the program. The final projects were fun and challenging!

Con: This course was released prematurely. Throughout the initial lectures there are several spelling errors on the terminal commands provided. Additionally, throughout this final course, there were missing instructions on how to install things like: Jupyter Notebook, Teseract library, ipywidgets library, coremltools, kraken, and ipywebrtc.

Though Jupyter is a great platform, Introducing a new platform after the previous 4 courses having never used Jupiter was a poor choice and left the students to learn entirely new software and set it up - something that should have occurred during the first course.

Week 1 requirements were to upload both the image and code, but the coursera software only allowed one file to be uploaded. No instructions on installing dependancies for Jupyter such as to download as PDF even though the upload instructions requested PDF. Overall, poor guidance and instructions with Week 1 assignment.

Several “bugs” are noted in Week 3 of the forum as if this is an appropriate fix to the course. Note that courses 1-4 did not require all these “bugs” to be posted in the forum. This is a lack of preparedness and professionally that unfortunately reflects poorly on the whole program, despite the first 4 courses not having such a problem. Module 3 Optional did not work resulting in error: “UnidentifiedImageError: cannot identify image file <_io.BytesIO object at 0x104228270>”

創建者 Hong J

2021年4月29日

it is the worst course within this specialization path. very bad organized, very hard to follow even went through all the course with this specialization. the instructor is reading through the material all the time. the assignment is extremely difficult for first time python learner. also, student had to search for other information in order to understand. i thought the course suppose to provide most of the information for student to understand, not preventing them learning new things! after this class, i almost lose my interest in learning python.............

創建者 Glen v U

2021年6月9日

This course is so much worse then the first 4 courses. The lecturer just keeps talking and talking and thinks he's explaining the material but he really isn't. The pedagogy becomes very different with respect to other courses in the specialization and there was not enough time to get used to it. I find the way of teaching very annoying.

創建者 Michael D

2021年6月1日

This goes way to fast. I don't like the format and the Jupyter environment makes it much more difficult to learn.

創建者 Shahan A

2020年11月29日

poorly explained course. assignment instructions often times not clear.

創建者 Kunle O

2022年2月9日

This course made me a much better programmer

The course started pretty badly. The installation instructions weren't straightforward at all and the whole process was frustrating. Using Jupyter Notebook when we'd been using something else all specialization seemed stupid. Once I found the updated instructions in the Discussion forum, everything got much better. In the previous courses, we were learning the Python language, but this was the first course that taught me how to think like a programmer (and familiarized with useful libraries!). My Week 1 code was trash, but thankfully I was able to see how others approached the problem (thanks to peer grading). I buckled down and my Week 3 code was immaculate. By the end of the course, I felt like I could be a professional programmer for the first time. Very glad I took this course.

PS, I love Jupyter Notebook now.

創建者 Ryan Y

2022年6月3日

This course does not guide students step by step and let you freely accomplish the goals of the project. But, actually the hints are hidden in the every corners of the course. Indeed, this course is easy but takes a bit time to familarize the properties of various functions.

I found that there are a lot of negative comments about this course. Those students claimed this course is frustrating. Perhaps, they may not be suitable to join tech industry. Indeed, there is no hints for you guys to complete any projects in the real world. What you need to do is to be curious and search useful information on the internet to complete any projects!

創建者 PORBENI, E D

2021年2月19日

The best way to learn is by thinking and doing!

While reading the reviews of this course, I got discouraged to engage properly with the materials because of the opinions. That being said, if you are looking to learn by doing, this course is for you. It is a specialization project. It is not meant to be a walk in the park!

Overall, I think it helps you think and actually forces you to code. If indeed you want to learn Python, it will help you a great deal!

Don't take reviews saying it is difficult to heart. It is difficult but doable. All that you need to complete it have been covered.

I wish you success!