Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
5,161 個評分
852 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

OK

Jun 27, 2020

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM

May 14, 2020

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

篩選依據:

801 - Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的 825 個評論(共 839 個)

創建者 Harshith S

Jun 03, 2019

Better than the previous one. But still very vague explanations

創建者 Sanjay S

Aug 11, 2020

This was a good course. I learned a lot about charting.

創建者 Xavier P C

Apr 20, 2020

The only course in the specialization that's worth to do

創建者 Peter B B

Feb 10, 2018

Fine for learning matplotlib, little additional benefit

創建者 Sylvain D

Mar 19, 2018

Good but I feel not comfortable with peer reviewing...

創建者 Jesús P S

Jan 09, 2018

Not so good as the first course of the specialization

創建者 John W

Mar 20, 2018

Solid, but not as good as Applied Machine Learning.

創建者 Rizvaan M

May 05, 2020

Overall a good course, but has to improve.

創建者 Sandeep S

Sep 20, 2019

Week 4 - Assignment is very frustrating.

創建者 Avi S

Jun 29, 2018

tough unexplained assignments

創建者 Rahul

Jul 03, 2018

Peer grading is not worthy

創建者 Mohd S M

May 06, 2020

Little hard to understand

創建者 Qiang L

Jan 15, 2019

Skills taught is limited.

創建者 Muhammad s k

Oct 12, 2019

Not a defining one

創建者 Vishen M

Feb 07, 2018

Good course.

創建者 Muhammad T R

Jun 19, 2017

best I think

創建者 Daniel M

Feb 16, 2019

sucks

創建者 Phil L

Jun 29, 2020

Programming can be a slog when the right materials are not available or the documentation is sparse. It is for this reason that I choose to take and pay for a course instead of muddling around the documentation alone and pulling my hair out. This course does not remedy that issue. I find the professor likeable and he cares about his subject but I have to say it directly and bluntly: the videos are examples of teaching issues with incomplete treatment of basics before moving onto complexities. There is more than a little word salad to get through in the videos which are more and more frustrating as you re-watch them expecting you might have missed important info needed to complete the assignments. It is frequently the case that you have to dedicate far more time to background research in order to complete exercises than the time commitments quoted here. This course could be so much better with some rethinking on how to emphasise and present key concepts so that we are enabled to start from a solid base instead of wandering half-lost as soon as we begin coding. Maybe a collab with professor Severance could remedy.

創建者 Jason B

Oct 16, 2017

Some of the material was interesting but on a whole not nearly as engaging as course 1. I fully can appreciate how the principles of chart design are valuable to the subject matter covered in this series but on a whole I would have liked more focus on the technical skills and maybe had the academic perspective on design extra reading.

Also the peer grading portion of this course is a little rough. The people that graded my work were great but I don't expect them to engage my work in a very meaningful way. It's not realistic to ask them to give their full effort to grade 3 assignments for an online course that they pay for. My personal preference would have been to structure the assignments so that they could be automatically graded like in course 1.

創建者 Bruce H

Feb 14, 2018

The concept is good: introduce the theory of information visualization and introduce how to make charts with Python and matplotlib. Unfortunately the materials are deficient for the programming part. There aren't nearly enough practice exercises to help you learn matplotlib. The previous course in this specialization (intro to data science in python) by comparison has many more guided practice exercises, and I am disappointed that this course does not live up to the standard set by the first course. If you are taking the complete specialization, as I am, then I guess it's worth it and I hope the next courses in the series have more material.

創建者 Charles R

Aug 25, 2020

The course teaches you about important plotting and design skills but the peer reviews and lack of clarity for the assignments makes this class less useful than it could be. In the previous class the discussion forums were an invaluable resource but in this class they are full of spam requests for a peer reviews which makes finding useful information more difficult than it should be.

創建者 Filippo R

Mar 30, 2018

The rate lectures/assignment is disappointingly low, a lot of time goes only to find data available online and to find questions to answer. In my work I have plenty of opportunity to apply data science and very little knowledge on how to. This course gave me more assignments and not so much tools.

創建者 Alexandre G

Oct 11, 2019

This course only scratches the service of the subject and asks the learner to learn almost everything by himself searching the Internet. The lecture content must be expanded significantly in order to give enough knowledge for the programming assignments.

創建者 Georgii B

Mar 21, 2020

Peer-grading is horrible. Nobody reads assignments or checks your work - they just give top grade for every category and leave "." as a comment, all to breeze through the mandatory peer grading. This certificate has very low value.

創建者 Steven O

Mar 18, 2017

I think there there is too much time given to the esoteric of what makes plots pretty rather than the nuts and bolts of how to do it and the limitations of using Pandas and Matplotlib for real world data