Chevron Left
返回到 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
5,517 個評分
929 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to information visualization basics, with a focus on reporting and charting using the matplotlib library. The course will start with a design and information literacy perspective, touching on what makes a good and bad visualization, and what statistical measures translate into in terms of visualizations. The second week will focus on the technology used to make visualizations in python, matplotlib, and introduce users to best practices when creating basic charts and how to realize design decisions in the framework. The third week will be a tutorial of functionality available in matplotlib, and demonstrate a variety of basic statistical charts helping learners to identify when a particular method is good for a particular problem. The course will end with a discussion of other forms of structuring and visualizing data. This course should be taken after Introduction to Data Science in Python and before the remainder of the Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, and Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

OK
2020年6月26日

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

RM
2020年5月13日

I am going for the specialization and I know this is just the second course in it and I haven't even seen the further courses yet, but this is already my most favourite course in the specialization.

篩選依據:

51 - Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python 的 75 個評論(共 915 個)

創建者 Evandro R d P J

2020年11月5日

And then, there it goes, another course in this amazing Specialization. This course of Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python was magnificently well constructed. The videos, quizzes and assignments are pretty fun to dive into and, this is the first course in which I see Peer Assignment (because it makes sense) and it was great to learn with other people from all around the world!

創建者 Thomas P

2020年10月16日

This Course is really interesting for those who are already worked with matplotlib, numpy and scipy.

The first three weeks a lot of hard plotting is done for learing the modules. In the last lecture, week 4, the more easy way is shown with pandas built in plotting functions and a toolkit expansion - which makes the plotting more applicable when working with Pandas Data Frames.

創建者 Omkar K

2020年6月27日

its actually a good course as it starts from fundamentals of visualization to the data visualization,the assignments this course provide are exciting and full of knowledge that you learn in course ..

創建者 Dipanjan G

2020年6月11日

Great course with lots of learning. The lectures were crisp and the course inspired us to look at materials beyond the course and in the internet which is a important skill for any data scientist

創建者 SIMRAN S

2020年9月6日

A beautiful Course to accompany with python and Machine Learning.

I learnt along with my peers who graded my assignments too, Thank you.

創建者 Josselin G

2019年9月13日

Pretty good course the material is good.

Offers good coverage and proposes some interesting problems.

Pairs grading works pretty well.

創建者 Somaiya J G

2018年11月6日

Really amazing course, Christopher Brooks salute man, you explained every details in good way that one can easily understand.

創建者 Ahmad H S

2019年7月28日

Amazing source

創建者 Dr. R H

2020年9月23日

For the last assignment, it would have been great if we could have chosen the topic of our work ourselves (e.g. sports/politics/...). I had to work on a task regarding religion, which is for me an extremely boring subject; this led me to delay the finalization of the assignment by weeks.

創建者 Oleksii K

2020年9月3日

I did not find this topic really useful. I think there could have been more details about matplotlib and less information about 'what is a good plot'.

創建者 Sandip K D

2020年5月9日

Good course. But I think Seaborn should have been explored in detail since it's much better.

創建者 Betty C

2020年5月3日

The material does not cover all of the assignments. I did learn A LOT by finishing my assignments, but the process was frustrating. I feel like a baby who have not learnt how to stand, but my parents ask me to run.

If you are good at finding solutions in original documentations (e.g., python, pandas, and matplotlib) and Stack Overflow, this is the right course for you.

However, if you are seeking for abundant materials and examples to sharpen your skill, sorry, this course may not right for you.

創建者 Aarya P

2020年9月20日

Learnt about the different plotting and charting techniques.How to get subplots and architecture of matplotlib. Just syntax of each type of charts is shown.

The downside is there is alot of research work on your own.Also the course diffculty is quite high as i was not much experienced in matplot. Wouldnt recommened to beginners. Also teaching style could be largely improved so as the assignments.

創建者 Andy F

2019年9月20日

The lectures really need to flesh things out more, they too often feel too fleeting and leave more than they probably should to searching other resources. Questions for the final piece clearly haven't changed in at least two years and lack clarity as to what should be done

創建者 Manuel O A

2020年5月18日

I learned a lot about pandas and plotting, but:

I spend a lot of time figuring out the instructions on assignments because were ambiguous or incomplete, I used the discussion forums searching explanations for assignments.

創建者 Kareem H

2019年12月8日

Plotting concepts need more deep explanation or more practice, generally the provided information wasn't meet the course's level "in my opinion."

創建者 Markus K

2020年4月20日

I didnt like the peer review

創建者 Pragyan

2020年9月29日

It's a poorly managed course. The videos, though informative, are extremely short and only provide one use case for a function. The rest is "left to the student to hunt around in the documentation". I wouldn't have taken the course if all I had to do was read the documentation.

The third assignment is extremely poorly worded. It's not a difficult assignment, but it took me 2 hrs to figure out what the hell the question actually meant. It's like someone from grade 7 wrote the instructions for the question.

Week 4 doesn't really provide any new information, but introduces a completely new package when the first three weeks didn't even conclude Matplotlib correctly.

創建者 Mariusz K

2019年11月10日

Too little of expounding and too much of searching the net by oneself. Too few examples. It is a self-learning but what's the Course for then?

Plus the assignments. I didn't like the peer evaluation idea, just as evaluating the others, because I don't have time for this and that's not what I came for.

First - what's the motivation of random viewers to fairly and thoroughly evaluate my work? Plus it's hard to finish the course quicker for this reason, because one has to wait a couple of days to get a grade. That's the reason I resigned from waiting for the assignments evaluations for next weeks assignments and in consequence for the certificate.

創建者 Qiang L

2020年3月27日

The construction of this course is fine, but content is really bad. Instructor could not give detailed introduction in matplotlib. So basically you need to learn everything by yourself. On the other hand, there is huge gap between course and assignment. I would say that you should have at least intermediate level of matplotlib before you take this course, which strongly against the principal of this course. I suggest instructor giving a more general idea first and gradually providing more specific application and harder examples.

創建者 Kumar I

2017年5月25日

Compared to the first course in this series, I found this one not so challenging. The final project was very loose (I understand that the instructors wanted to give the feel of a real research). The first assignment was very superficial. As much as Cairo's principles are important, I feel devoting an entire assignment to that is justified. The second and third were relatively straight-forward, but that was perhaps the saving grace.

Wish the course spent time in dwelling on complex visualizations.

創建者 Liam L

2020年5月11日

Too little teaching and too much googling. The questions are poorly defined and you end up using Stacker and the discussion forums to really understand what they are asking. I put the time in and got the answers but would have liked them to explain whats going on a bit more rather and give a bit of guidance. Also very expensive, compared to other Pandas and Matplotlib courses.

創建者 Shuang S

2019年8月15日

It taught some visualization that is not use very often and sometimes I feel I couldn't catch up the knowledge, so if you are a beginner, skip this class first.

創建者 Darien M

2019年11月21日

This course is anbalagous to taking a creative writing course, but all lessons are on vocabulary and grammar. Once again the lectures are unhelpful. The discussion forum in this course does not provide much help (unlike the first course in the sequence). I suppose they are applying the graduate school mentality to teaching: you want to learn it, figure it out. I myself am definitely not at that level right now.

The assignments are challenging, and you will learn from them, but you won't learn deeply. It seems all very superficial. Just look things up to get them done. Type in any question you have and a solution will certainly appear on SO. Why not give students the tools necessary to solve challenging problems on their own (like in Python for Everybody and Python 3 Programming)?

Professor Brooks is clearly passionate about programming and is very accomplished/intelligent. Unfortunately the teaching in this course is of low quality.

創建者 Yaron K

2017年9月21日

Disappointing. Matplotlib is built from layers of interacting functionality, and this course doesn't create a structure to understand it. Unclear and confusing. Note however that the following courses in the specialization show matplotlib code but don't necessitate writing it, so you can do them (at most auditing this course before) and only return to this course if you want a specialization certificate.