Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Data Science in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Introduction to Data Science in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
23,710 個評分
5,323 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

PK
2020年5月9日

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
2017年12月9日

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

篩選依據:

151 - Introduction to Data Science in Python 的 175 個評論(共 5,244 個)

創建者 Sarah A

2021年3月1日

It started out great but the more difficult assignments like week3 and week4 could use better wording and better clarification on the expected submission answers. The problems could be more well defined based on expected answers. A lot more of my time was spent troubleshooting the errors of assignment submission than what was being asked to be solved in the assignment question.

創建者 Minyi Y

2016年11月20日

The content and assignments are certainly useful and relevant. However, the lectures are too short and do not help much with doing the assignment. As a beginner, I relied heavily on google and the discussion forum to get through the assignment. And I am not sure if i can actually tackle similar problems again without referring back to the pre-mentioned resources.

創建者 Julien

2018年9月20日

Interesting course covering the main introduction topics to Data Science, however there is a too large gap between the theoretical (videos, Jupiter notebook examples, ...) lessons provided and the knowledge required to perform the assignment. The time to do individual research to perform the assignment is tremendous. This is not an easy course at all.

創建者 Jennifer W

2020年9月17日

I didn't feel that the lecture material corresponded to the exercises. I spent all my time just looking at Stack Overflow. The exercises are also not clearly written, such that you spend time trying to adhere to solving for the solution as opposed to learning Python fundamentals.

創建者 Sabbir A

2020年8月8日

I learned things, yes. But I was here to try and learn what is already there in the books; I thought it would make me understand easily and in interesting ways. I was disappointed. There is no point in taking the course if it sends me back to the books. :(

創建者 ANAND S

2020年10月30日

This is a pretty tuff course and the explanations and teachings are not up to the mark while assignments are good. To complete the course you have to take the help of youtube and web to fully understand the concept.

創建者 Claude P

2016年11月20日

More concise coding tutorials and less "search on your own on the internet" needed. It is great to get to know the online community and the course needs more coding example directly relat to exams.

創建者 Tom M

2018年12月29日

A lot of self directed learning, bordering on excessive. Sometimes it takes some investigation to figure out why the autograder did not pass you. Overall, I felt I learned a lot, much on my own.

創建者 Pamela T

2019年2月2日

This is a great overview for python, but the materials/videos/slides are very elementary compared to the sophistication of the homework. Required many more hours than the estimates.

創建者 Saadman S

2020年9月16日

Statistical stuffs are really tough, it's hard to understand without any background also the assignment materials should be discussed more, they should be included in the course.

創建者 Alice

2020年12月20日

Recent changes to the course made it a lot worse! Longer, less concise videos, difficult to find course notes, fewer mid-video working problems, and quizzes are pointless.

創建者 Bárbara C G

2021年2月2日

The videos are ok. The assignments are extremelly centered in data cleansing. The debate in forums is very helpful, and the course staff answers regularly.

創建者 Ryan V

2021年2月10日

Interesting material, poor instruction and not enough practice for things to sink in. Have to basically teach yourself everything through google searches.

創建者 Colleen K

2018年9月21日

I learned a lot by doing assignments, but the course materials are not helpful. Stackflow and Python documents guide me much more than the course itself.

創建者 Mohammed A H

2020年9月26日

During the course, the instructor was presenting with a background contains moving people which caused a big distraction to me.

創建者 Sudharshan C

2020年10月28日

The assignments can be better structured. I found it tough to navigate and perform operations

創建者 Sai S

2020年12月23日

Needs to be packaged in more interesting way..felt course contents and presentation vague

創建者 Khairul A

2020年8月10日

Too fast explanation

創建者 Brian L

2020年10月3日

TLDR - poor design of class makes for a bad experience and wasted time.

Longer - There is a disjunct between what is covered in the videos and what is tested in the assignments, and there are problems with the assignments (the autograder and the extremely dated pandas version supported) . The videos function as a partial reference guide, which is only very loosely what is tested in the assignments. If I didn't pay for the class, I would see value in the assignments themselves. Since I did pay for the class, I expect more value from the videos. For the 3rd and 4th weeks I proceeded more quickly by relying much more heavily on stack overflow and pandas documentation, to the point of sometimes ignoring the videos entirely. As-is the gaps between videos and assignments, on the one hand, and ongoing difficulty of knowing how to navigate the black box which is the autograder (using an outdated version of pandas) are shunted to the forums and other students, volunteers, and assistants. While the forum is helpful (always start there with the assignments, so you will waste less time on poorly designed / assessed questions!), it is poor pedagogy and a bad experience to offload bad course design onto it.

創建者 Zayd A

2019年5月28日

I had done "Python for Everybody" from Charles Severance which I had found excellent, with the instructor being passionate and the pace being just about right. I had assumed it would be similar for "Introduction to Data Science in Python", but that wasn't case. The delivery of the course is at a very very fast pace, you don't even have time to stop and absorb the functions and methods that you are supposed to learn. The instructor and the research assistant will list the functions and methods one after the other without pausing. The assignment is then extremely hard with no resemblance to the material in the course (I couldn't do it even after having reviewed the videos). After holding on for the first 2 weeks (it's a very useful topic after all), I gave up and decided to learn from the "learning the Pandas library book", which is a very good summary of the main Pandas functions and methods (and which was recommended by Dr Christopher Brooks), and I was able to follow it very easily.

創建者 Lucas C

2019年9月1日

Overall: I felt this course was useful but pretty time-consuming. The course had relatively limited taught material and relied a lot on searching & self-studying. If you have a fair amount of time it is a good choice.

Pros: You learn through doing assignments which are well supported by mentors/community. Also, you get used to studying through googling problems and learning from websites such as Stackoverflow.

Cons: Whilst this learning method definitely had its merits, it could be quite time-consuming for someone seeking to gain introductory-level skills quickly. You could find yourself in situations where you spend hours searching for something quite elementary and could easily have been taught to you, which could be frustrating. I personally think this course could be improved by adding a bit more small quizzes for beginners to play around with the basics, before requiring them to self-learn through searches.

創建者 Susan C

2021年2月9日

The lectures were essentially the instructor reading from the provided Jupyter notebooks at _very_ high speed. You can slow down the video, but then you get a weirdly artificial drone that is hard to listen to. And the lectures jump briskly from topic to topic without providing any context, or advice about writing good programs. The assignments took WAY more time than estimated because (a) there was a lot of self-learning via StackOverflow (b) the auto-grader is very very finicky. (It would have been useful to have a quick demo video showing how to approach the assignments and deal with the auto-grader).

That said, the people (TAs?) helping on the forums were very helpful. And I learned quite a bit, but mostly on my own.

創建者 Markus Z

2020年8月7日

Compared to the previous course I have taken at University of Michigan the content was ok but how it was taught I didn't like. Just reading rapidly the text of the Jupyter Notebook is not enough from my point of view. Ok you can find out the stuff yourself but why take then this course and don't go directly to stack overflow.

You just get weird replies from the auto grader and search through the forum to get any idea why you didn't pass. And if you pass, you will never know if your solution was the proper way to solve this task....

創建者 Ruibo S

2020年10月4日

The assignments are much more difficult than what is covered in the class. The teaching speed is too fast without enough PPT slides. The class coding demonstration is also too fast. The lecturer should either teach more in class or make the assignments easier. Assignment 3 and assignment 4 need a lot of independent studies of the functions in pandas library. If the assignments need a lot of independent studies, what is the meaning of the teaching in class?

創建者 Daniel D

2020年1月29日

I agree with some reviews saying that course was mostly limited to self-learning. Videos were rushed and learning mostly limited to self-studying. Assignments descriptions were confusing and not well explained, not to mention that it takes hours to figure out why correct solution is not accepted. I'd say writing code (correctly) takes 4 hours but then you need 8 hours to figure out why your answer is not accepted.