Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Data Science in Python

學生對 密歇根大学 提供的 Introduction to Data Science in Python 的評價和反饋

4.5
25,787 個評分
5,739 條評論

課程概述

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

熱門審閱

YY

2021年9月28日

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

2020年5月9日

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

篩選依據:

4976 - Introduction to Data Science in Python 的 5000 個評論(共 5,690 個)

創建者 Vivek S

2018年3月20日

Lectures should be more in depth especially when going over the concepts in python. They should show at least couple of ways to solve problem under discussion to help drive home the discussion point. Assignment questions were not constructed properly and were very confusion at times. Having a correct answer (not the solution) would help in debugging the issue.

創建者 Vincent R

2020年9月12日

A very interesting and challenging course that would benefit from replacement of the somewhat disturbing living background of the videos, a slower-paced delivery of the lessons, the proper identification of the key functions and methods that are required for the assignments, and replacement Kudos to Yusuf without whom I would not have complete the course!

創建者 Vishal D

2018年3月12日

Really good problem sets and discussion forums. Unlike some other courses, this one doesn't provide much in the way of useful videos. Essentially, you get problem sets and have to search pandas documentation or StackOverflow for help, or look in the discussion forums. Still very useful in learning pandas, but the "classroom" part is not worthwhile.

創建者 Bryant C

2018年1月14日

It was a good introduction to Python for those who are familiar with programming basics, however, the assignments were quite ambiguous at times and did not involve much material from the actual course lectures. Nevertheless, the discussion board helped along with the TA providing helpful hints, guidelines and test code for solving the problems.

創建者 Iustin D

2019年2月24日

The course content was OK. It's jut a pity that the assignments section was so frustrating to use. I needed around 10 attempts for each submission just to realize that I forgot a print() or that the file names were not exactly as in the requirements... In total, I spent half of the time allocated to assignments just to hunt for stupid errors.

創建者 Randal P

2017年2月26日

The course was helpful in presenting typical problems in data science, but the lectures showed you examples in one area of pandas and the assignments asked questions in different areas of pandas. I found the assignments frustrating and spent much of my time trying to understand what they were asking rather than actually solving the problems.

創建者 Sameer G

2021年5月28日

The course is good but needs a bit more comfort with programming concepts than what the "Python for Everyone" course provides. Also, the course length could be slightly longer - a lot of material seemed to be rushed with not enough time to really grasp the concept before moving to the next one. Still, it laid a good foundation to build upon.

創建者 Vishesh A

2020年8月21日

The assignments in the course are designed to really test your skills and knowledge. However, I did not find the lecture videos to be much useful. For the assignments, I had to look most of the stuff on the internet (Stack Overflow and Pandas documentation). The course is definitely worth it if you are ready to spend time on the assignments.

創建者 Andre d W

2019年9月14日

The content of the course is reasonable. However, the time needed to read documentation and forums is not factored into the estimated hours needed to complete the course. Lastly, having to sign up for the whole series just to take one course is money making racket. And then you have to cancel the other courses which is very inconvenient.

創建者 Keith M

2020年1月12日

Great and detailed course, but very confusing and possibly inconsistent 'beginning of recession' question in assignment 4. After much research online and note of teaching staff definition of the quarter to look for, I still got it wrong according to the autograder. But strangely got everything else right that depended on this answer?!?

創建者 Aarish N

2020年6月10日

Though the information and knowledge provided was a very effective and great insight, I did feel that the course was a bit rushed and fast-paced. Big topics cannot be understood with a 3-minute video that barely touches the theory and gives only one example. Practice should be accommodated before we enter those difficult assignments.

創建者 Miguel F A

2016年11月21日

The course is interesting, but the grading system needs to improve substantially. The grader bugs considerably, and the questions are often not well defined, which requires a lot of unnecessary trial and error to understand what exactly the question was about. Finally, complete the assignments took way long that what it is suggested.

創建者 Ting-Yi C

2022年1月5日

Participants should be familiar with numpy and pandas because the teaching pace is very fast. The assignments are long questions which make them sort of complicated. Even so, there is no simpler practice to familiarize yourself with numpy and pandas. I will get back after reading the textbook or watching helpful videos on YouTube.

創建者 Jose P O P

2017年12月1日

It is an interesting course that shows you part of the extent of the things that you can do with the Pandas library within python. However don't expect to be able to code everything by scratch, instead expect to be able to google the answers for your coding questions and be able to adapt those to your particular coding objectives.

創建者 Kaelo M

2020年6月6日

The assignments are great and challenging.

Lectures leave a you bit short or not fully equipped to take on segments of the assignments, that I understand and accept however I feel it they should hit at least what else do you need to go out and learn yourself in order to complete the assignment.

Oh and the grading system, eish.

創建者 monsoon85

2017年3月22日

Good and necessary introduction to Python. But especially Assignement 3 regarding cleaning the data should be improved. It´s good to know how to clean the data but it´s confusing when Q1 is apparently correct but actually it´s not. Mabye it would be better that Q2 - Q13 based on a new dataframe which is correctly by all means.

創建者 Alexandre G

2019年9月23日

The lectures do not contain enough material to prepare you for the programming assignments. Programming assignments are challenging but the problems are not clearly stated, most of your work will consist in finding answers in Stackoverflow instead of looking for the answers in lectures or programming assignment instructions.

創建者 Iana L

2021年11月8日

While the information provided is not bad and I liked the style of teaching, with the Jupyter Notebook, the assignments are unnecessarily ambiguous, to the point that you have to go through the forums simply to understand the meaning of the question and what to return. And the autograder mechanism was also quite misleading.

創建者 象道

2019年10月27日

the instructor guides students to pandas, not bad. the assignments are not difficult, but are poorly designed---it's hard to get the goals of functions, and one may not get them done without searching internet. just don't know what a function is supposed to return, and there's no enough explanation on the assignments.

創建者 Aakanksha D

2017年6月16日

The Assignments are very good. But the video lectures are terrible. they offer no or very little Explanation what so ever of the notebook being displayed on the screen. The TA just reads the notebook instead of diving into what the functions are doing. The subtitles overlap with what people are writing in the journal.

創建者 Tyler N

2017年1月30日

This course was over all okay. My primary complaints are that I felt that the class moved too quickly and relied too heavily on students to teach themselves through the Pandas documentation. The Pandas documentation is really only so-so and it would have been nice to have more guidance through the course materials.

創建者 Deenadayalan P

2020年8月25日

the weekly assignments are so challenging.But the instructions are not clear enough.for each question,one has to adventure through the discussion forum to find what the question expects.Thank you for the discussion forum because there are enough good people to explain and ask questions in each and every dimension.

創建者 Pablo B

2019年10月7日

Though I very much appreciate Dr. Brooks' traits when video lecturing: relaxed, informative, and often lucid-- I worry that students with little to no computer science background will struggle greatly with assignments. That is to say, there is a disparage between the videos and the expectations of the assignments.

創建者 Ali R K

2016年11月17日

Contents are great and very relative. Exam is fair and reasonable. However students have to deal with an autograder for the scores and the autograder is not up to par for this course. The amount of time that you spend on learning during the course is only a fraction of time you spend to get through the autograder.

創建者 Jonathan O

2018年8月31日

The assignments have bugs that become more and more present after browsing the discussion board so extensively. I think that it would be really helpful to eliminate any bugs in the grader, so that when you get a solution marked as correct, you can actually count on later problems building on a correct solution.