Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Languages, Part A

學生對 华盛顿大学 提供的 Programming Languages, Part A 的評價和反饋

4.9
1,641 個評分

課程概述

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

熱門審閱

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

篩選依據:

451 - Programming Languages, Part A 的 475 個評論(共 479 個)

創建者 Mike

2019年3月26日

Good

創建者 Hugsy W

2017年10月23日

good

創建者 Héctor B A

2016年9月1日

Great course overall. It focuses on functional programming concepts like immutability, locally-defined functions, pattern-matching and forces the user to use recursion, taking you out of your for-loop comfort zone. In my humble opinion, maybe the time spent in learning the SML language, which is not the main goal of the course, takes a bit too long, but on the other hand I guess that can't really be helped. Videos are grate and grading procedures are pretty fair. Mind you, the course is fairly time-consuming.

創建者 Lorenzo B

2020年6月13日

Four stars because for me at least one of the most interesting parts about the course it the comparisons that happen LATER in part B and C, between oop/fp and especially static/dynamic typing; that is, I treat this course as a test to see if you're interested in the whole thing (I am). Otherwise a solid 5/5. Also I personally found that polyml often gives clearer diagnostics than sml/nj, but your mileage may vary here. AND it's my first course here :=)

創建者 Scott v K

2017年1月8日

The constructs of learning functional programming are very useful and well explained. This course is about theory with practice problems which are somewhat challenging using SML as the programming language. The only downside of the course is the use of SML, which is fine for educational purposes, but lacks any real development / debugging frameworks and has no commercial usability beyond learning the concepts in the course.

創建者 tiny-imagenet

2021年2月15日

The content of this course is very good and easy to follow. It's not a very difficult course. All homeworks can easily be completed by watching the video content. The video presentations do have some sound issues that may make them annoying to watch. The sound issues are present in all videos and take this course in my opinion from a perfect score to a 4/5.

創建者 Aschwin W

2020年7月12日

I wanted to learn more about Functional Programming and prepare for a course on Compiler Construction. This course showed how statements and expressions differ. Also using a pure functional programming language is really good to prepare for my daily work and developing a compiler.

創建者 Jeffrey C

2022年1月4日

Fun course at times and overall very intense. Some of the homework questions later in the course were extremely difficult and required a lot more time than designated (and a lot more time than I would prefer to give).

創建者 Messias T

2021年1月11日

Gostei bastante do curso, entretanto, algumas partes dos homeworks ficaram mal explicadas, além da falta de mais casos de testes para corroborar o que se pedia nas questões.

創建者 Jie G

2020年1月18日

Very useful, but I cannot submit my assignment and ML is also not available for my computer

創建者 Atsushi

2019年1月6日

the course material was good and fun! but the discussion forum was not so active.

創建者 Arto P

2021年1月10日

Clear content and good exercises, which need an investment of time and thinking.

創建者 Chua B Q

2019年5月18日

Solid introduction to functional programming and programming languages concepts.

創建者 Philip A

2016年11月29日

The peer review was too time consuming. Otherwise great course

創建者 Steve C

2020年9月3日

A challenging course with some deep insight into programming.

創建者 Mark R

2019年6月17日

Good intro. to Functional Programming

創建者 CLARISA B H C

2019年3月5日

Muy buena información; nivel alto.

創建者 Mai N

2022年6月4日

it's very useful, thanks

創建者 Chang L

2018年7月29日

Quite interesting~

創建者 Ojesanmi F

2020年8月28日

so cool

創建者 Lê H T

2022年6月26日

good

創建者 LvGJ

2020年7月27日

good

創建者 lhdgriver

2019年9月29日

Easy

創建者 Roman H

2021年5月24日

Dangerous combination of dry presentation of abstract concepts, and demonstration rather than explanation. The class left me with lots of open questions, most beginning with "why", many followed by "would you", and may not be well suited for an online environment without teacher interaction.

I get the impression you have to really like math, rather than computers and programming, to find this class interesting.

The horrid sound quality from the terrible microphone the teacher used doesn't help make the lessons more enjoyable. Or maybe that's coursera's compression, I'm not sure as I haven't taken many classes here yet.

PS: Something about this comment form is buggy, making proper formatting of my review impossible.

創建者 Andrew M

2019年11月10日

This series of courses Part A-C looks amazing BUT using SML/NJ is critical to Part A. On a MAC running Catalina SML will not run, maybe because it utilises 32bit routines which cannot run on Catalina. I found an online version of standard ML but it isn't suited to doing the homeworks.