Chevron Left
返回到 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

學生對 伦敦大学 提供的 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的評價和反饋

4.6
916 個評分
311 條評論

課程概述

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

熱門審閱

TS

May 01, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

SR

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

篩選依據:

1 - Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的 25 個評論(共 309 個)

創建者 Mehran Y

Oct 14, 2018

The subjects and examples are OK. However, the technical side of the course is missing!. The idea of most videos could be explained in 1 or 2 minutes rather than 10 minutes. The assignments are quiet simple and no challenging at all. Some times I was so bored which I watched the videos at 2x speed. Finally, the review process of other students has a big bug which I realized that this bug existed from the first day and people are confused about how to review other students, however, the bug is still there. IF you already know a little bit about statistics I do not suggest this course. If you know nothing and want to know what is statistics about (in a very basic and simple manner) then watch this course as a fun!

創建者 Guomin R

Jul 27, 2019

Dr James Abdey is a fantastic teacher. He delivered the knowledge with plain languages and vivid examples. Very helpful!

創建者 Mellacheruvu J S

Apr 13, 2020

It was indeed a great experience learning probability and statistics from Dr. James Abdey who from now-onward will remain to be one of my favorite Mathematicians. The amount of Excitement that I could feel as I proceeded from one module to another, understanding a few concepts to the base level that were only known to me before, being able to anticipate questions and also being able to answer a few of my peers in the discussion forum is way too beyond what I expected from this course. Prior to joining this course, probability always confused me, because I always confused probability with possibility. But the ending remarks totally changed the way I perceived probability. I would surely recommend this course to all those who want to test the waters of probability and statistics! Thank you so much for the learning experience!

創建者 Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

創建者 Rodney M

Mar 10, 2019

Horrible.

Too much talking or woffling as i came to call it. Dumbed down too much. We know what a toolbox is. Don't give us an example of how a toolbox is used. This is just an example of the level of stupidity you must assume your students have.

Week 1 was a waste of time and weeks 2 and three could have been summed up in a 10 minute video.

You skipped over probability and straight into statistics without mentioning any of the useful things of probability like the laws of probability. Communicative, Distributive etc.

I've learnt almost nothing from this. Will not recommend at all. Not useful at all.

創建者 Soh W K

Mar 12, 2020

Professor James did an excellent job in making Probability and Statistics EASY TO UNDERSTAND!

Be patient, and listen to his interesting lectures.

Do all the tutorials, and apply the knowledge.

Probability and Statistics could be the most important invention in Humanity.

創建者 Rohan R

Apr 02, 2020

Excellent beginners course into the world of data science.

This course has been an eye opener for sure.

We need an advanced course of statistics from Dr James Abdey to further our study and getting deeper into the world of Data science.

Thanks a lot Dr Abdey.

創建者 Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

創建者 Alex H

May 03, 2020

Please fix errors in the peer review homework instructions, including poor display of LaTeX equations (assignment 1), and missing sample mean box (assignment 2). I also found the lecture notes skipped some explanatory steps at times. But those small issues aside, this course is a really good overview of some important stats concepts, and I really love Dr. Abdey's engaging lecture style. I do feel I've learned a good amount, and it has given me the confidence to move onto further stats studies, including Khan Academy and some other Coursera stats courses. I would highly recommend this as a gentle introduction to statistics.

創建者 John J S

Nov 17, 2019

Very simple and high level but also extraordinarily clear and well presented. The course is a survey so breadth of covered material is intense: just as one area is developed enough to become truly interesting the course must move on to another area. This is an appetizer. An amuse bouche.

創建者 Majnoo G

Aug 26, 2019

One of the good starting points to learn the basics of probability and statistics. With less of mathematics and more on theory and interesting examples, this course is just right to start your journey on statistics. It covers some of the detail concepts with ease. Highly recommended

創建者 NIKHIL V

Jan 19, 2020

This was an absolutely fantastic course on Probability and Statistics. It made me know "WHY" behind the concepts very well and how we should think to get the solution rather than blindly applying the formula. Thanks a lot.

創建者 TILAK P S

May 01, 2020

I would like to thank Dr. James Abdey for his wonderful explanation of probability and statistics in a short time. I definitely learnt many things which I can make use in my further courses. Thank you

創建者 Soham R

Jun 24, 2020

Excellent introductory course for probability and Statistics, Dr. Abdey made the course very lively with his approach of teaching. Hope to see many more online courses from you in the future.

創建者 Haibo Y

Feb 10, 2020

Brilliantly organised materials striking a nice balance between theory and application! All the best Dr. Abdey! Looking forward to seeing a novel distribution under your surname!

創建者 Marco v

Jan 05, 2020

As a beginner, this course is quite difficult for me. Anyway, it is very well-done and Dr James Abdey is a great teacher, thus I found it enjoyable. I recommend it.

創建者 fozan t

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

創建者 Guy S

Nov 28, 2019

The best (introductory) statistics course I have had! Clear and understandable explanations.

創建者 Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

創建者 Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

創建者 Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

創建者 Lakshey S

Apr 07, 2020

Too much theory, some examples and visual representation will help more :)

創建者 Daniel O

Mar 10, 2020

As simple intro is fine.

He pretends he understands the Taleb's Incerto, but he doesn't.

創建者 Cor v H

Nov 05, 2018

Flawed assessment system. Superficial.

創建者 Dmitriy Z

May 13, 2020

First of all I must say thanks to Dr James Abdey - I really enjoy this MOOC. He say many words bewaring of assumption in models, but dont tell how dangerous it coud be. Naive, first order models based on wrong assumptions cause catastrofic consequences. Everyone who lerning something about probability should know that! Cost analysis don't make a sense if you may go bust - no matter how low probability of this outcome. It is the same category as sleepeing on a railways or playing Russian roulette - you don't wont do it whatever the profit. Also, in About this Course section I found this: "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events" - but I dont found any mentions of Black Swan events in this MOOC. Nonetheless this it a crucial point for anyone who wanna deal with uncertainty in the real world. More about it you can read in Nassim Taleb books. Thanks again and good luck for everyone who wanna find the answer about "To P or not to P".