Chevron Left
返回到 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p?

學生對 伦敦大学 提供的 Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的評價和反饋

4.4
91 個評分
28 個審閱

課程概述

We live in an uncertain and complex world, yet we continually have to make decisions in the present with uncertain future outcomes. Indeed, we should be on the look-out for "black swans" - low-probability high-impact events. To study, or not to study? To invest, or not to invest? To marry, or not to marry? While uncertainty makes decision-making difficult, it does at least make life exciting! If the entire future was known in advance, there would never be an element of surprise. Whether a good future or a bad future, it would be a known future. In this course we consider many useful tools to deal with uncertainty and help us to make informed (and hence better) decisions - essential skills for a lifetime of good decision-making. Key topics include quantifying uncertainty with probability, descriptive statistics, point and interval estimation of means and proportions, the basics of hypothesis testing, and a selection of multivariate applications of key terms and concepts seen throughout the course....

熱門審閱

AS

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,\n\nThe course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

FT

Sep 16, 2018

Best course on the concepts of Probability and statistics , for the beginners. Dr.James Abdey provides lot of examples from the everyday life .

篩選依據:

1 - Probability and Statistics: To p or not to p? 的 25 個評論(共 30 個)

創建者 Tanmoy C

Mar 04, 2019

This is a fantastic course to refresh probability and statistics. The only reason i have provided four star is due to a bug in the week 5 assignment where the grading does not provide multiple selections. Additionally there is no support for course stuff if you have question. You are really on your own. I would still encourage to take this one.

創建者 Brett C

Feb 14, 2019

The setup of peer reviewed assignments was a very poor experience due to lack of explanation and incorrect grading rubrics. Reviewers were presented with a single radio-button list, when they should have been presented with a series of check-boxes.

創建者 Paolo T

Nov 14, 2018

The only reason to vote 4 instead 5 stars stay in the fact that there are not official moderator to fix the quiz bugs. For all the rest, 5 stars! At all! I loved it!

創建者 Thomas J H

Nov 14, 2018

Yes, the scoring system for peer-reviewed work needs work -- poorly formatted and unnecessarily confusing. That said, I would welcome more courses by Dr James Abdey. As an introduction and overview/review, this particular course is excellent. NOT superficial, as one reviewer commented. If fact, if you download the PDFs which accompany each major video, you will that you can very quickly progress to the deeper end of the pool: much quality information. I would love to see an option for R, and not just Excel. But I can highly recommend this course (do suggest the assessment be tweaked), and hope again that Dr James Abdey will offer more.

創建者 Olivera M

Jun 12, 2019

I really liked the course, I would just say that this is for complete and absolute beginners who haven't had any interactions with statistics and that it wont leave you with a lot of practical knowledge, more of a broad idea of what statistics could do for you.

創建者 Ritesh R

Jun 09, 2019

God course for beginners level.

創建者 José L

Jun 06, 2019

Easy to follow to your own time

創建者 Ivan

May 25, 2019

Really well done!

It starts slow, explaining everything clearly. If you want to add material to a specific lesson, you can easly do it following what the teacher already explained.

創建者 Giovanni B

May 23, 2019

Very interesting course, well explained, I found the material useful. The reason I do not give 5 stars is that I found the course somewhat slow, it took a long time to explain certain concepts, and not broad enough, concentrating on a few very specific areas of probability and statistics.

創建者 Daniel D

May 09, 2019

Nice overall introduction to statistics, but suffers from bad grading mecanism when perofrming peer graded assignments.

創建者 david w

Mar 19, 2019

The course material was top notch I learned a lot. It was an excellent crash course, and beautifully explained. I took off a star because the failure of the grading system in Assignment #2 / Week 5 cost me a lot of time, and likely affected many of my peers as well. That type of technical glitch is unacceptable in MOOC, particularly because there doesn't seem to be anyone around to support the students. Thanks for resolving it, though, whoever you are!

創建者 Chia K X

Mar 19, 2019

Lecturer is patient and always tries to explain difficult concepts clearly.

創建者

Mar 19, 2019

I liked the pdfs of the Theory, however I found it hard to follow the explanations in the videos. (Too much talk, to less graphs/figures and terms in my opinion). There is a bug at the evaluation of the second assessment. The assessments are good to check if you understood the topic, however the quiz are interesting but not helpful to check if I achieved the learning objectives.

創建者 Rodney M

Mar 10, 2019

Horrible.

Too much talking or woffling as i came to call it. Dumbed down too much. We know what a toolbox is. Don't give us an example of how a toolbox is used. This is just an example of the level of stupidity you must assume your students have.

Week 1 was a waste of time and weeks 2 and three could have been summed up in a 10 minute video.

You skipped over probability and straight into statistics without mentioning any of the useful things of probability like the laws of probability. Communicative, Distributive etc.

I've learnt almost nothing from this. Will not recommend at all. Not useful at all.

創建者 Weichi C

Jan 31, 2019

The concept is well presented with the assumption that further research and dedication needed is required to get to next level.

創建者 ruixi z

Dec 18, 2018

Great

創建者 yue

Dec 05, 2018

Very good introduction and overview, gives clear picture of probability and statistics.

創建者 Abhishek S

Nov 28, 2018

Hi,

The course taught about the basics and that's exactly what I was looking for. I learnt a lot, and so many things which I hear and read, became clearer and more meaningful. Thanks you!

創建者 Jordi a

Nov 26, 2018

Basic introduction to the world of statistics, well structured and supplied with reading materials. Quite elementary, I'd say at most it's a HS/pre-college level overview of different fields and concepts. The lecturer conveys a strong appreciation for the subject. Recommended for those who want a first approximation to the subject.

創建者 Leonardo B

Nov 21, 2018

It's a great course.

創建者 Grigory S

Nov 08, 2018

The first course I've paid for to get a certificate.

For me it's VERY hard to understand any theoretical math-related concept from video-lectures. I need to read paper for it and there are paper for every video in this course.

I am very thankful about it but the main purpose of video is missed: VISUALISATION very important in teaching math concepts especially such practival one as statistics. I wish there'd be more videos with lovely visialusation of sample data and it's statisitcs to get students a general feeling of what all this 'boring' calculations looks like.

I also understand that one course is not enough to have good knowlegde of statistics and read books while completing this.

創建者 Eyob

Nov 06, 2018

funny charming and full of numbers

創建者 Cor v H

Nov 05, 2018

Flawed assessment system. Superficial.

創建者 Ravikumar S

Nov 02, 2018

it was a nice learning experience, with a very step-by-step approach

創建者 Guillermo K

Oct 18, 2018

Great overview, it could have used more practice problems and tougher questions