Chevron Left
返回到 Privacy Law and Data Protection

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Privacy Law and Data Protection 的評價和反饋

4.8
406 個評分
69 條評論

課程概述

What does it take to comply with privacy laws? In this course, we’ll look at the practical aspects of navigating the complex landscape of privacy requirements. Better understanding privacy laws and data protection will enable you to protect your organization and the constituents that depend on your organization to safeguard their personal information. First, we will examine the historical context that drove the creation of laws, best practices, and other standards for protecting personal information. We will also consider where in the U.S. privacy laws exist and which sectors remain unregulated. Next, we will focus on the federal health privacy law, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) – and what it takes to comply with it. How do you know the scope of the requirements? And once you know HIPAA applies, how do you actually put measures in place to ensure compliance? We’ll explore the notion that one cannot have privacy without strong security and examine various models that promote the security of personal information. We’ll look closely at breach notification laws – one of the most significant drivers of change in organizations – and discuss strategies for the improvement of data protection overall. Lastly, we will look at international law, state law, the unique and important role of the Federal Trade Commission in protecting privacy. Most importantly, we get practical – we will discuss real-world, practical approaches to how compliance professionals can navigate the complex landscape of privacy requirements to best protect their organizations....

熱門審閱

RC
2020年1月2日

I was particularly pleased to see the sections on GDPR and CCPA. They are relatively new laws and extremely important, so it was nice to see the content being so current.

SA
2020年6月29日

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

篩選依據:

1 - Privacy Law and Data Protection 的 25 個評論(共 68 個)

創建者 ‘Toni N

2019年11月14日

I found this course to be very interesting. Lauren Steinfeld of the University of Pennsylvania was an amazing teacher and always found a way to summarise vital concepts and points in a succinct manner. The course was also exposed me to multi-jurisdictional aspects of privacy law in the US and Europe and this helped me to appreciate the way privacy and data protection are treated in different parts of the world.

創建者 Fuad T A Q A

2019年11月22日

Thank you very much for this effort in the work of this training course, which is one of the most important courses in the field of data privacy protection

創建者 Mehmet B K

2019年7月15日

Its a great cours for those who does not have a clue about USA privacy law. If you want to make your first step, this is a great opportunity.

創建者 Lena E

2019年11月11日

Good overview of general principles of privacy law and data protection.

創建者 Aidan O D

2020年1月24日

I know the course is by an American college, but there is an over-focus on American information. As this course is a MOOC, you would expect that the content covered would be more general and only use specific examples to help support ideas.

An entire section was dedicated to the American health insurance system, which was just incredibly repetitive and uninteresting. As many of your students are from outside the US you should consider this.

創建者 Alex H

2019年11月3日

Good overview of privacy law, both US FIP and EU GDPR. Would have preferred if the example privacy law explored in Week 2 were something finance-related like FDCPA or FACTA/FCRA, rather than HIPPA, but the discussions were good (including a quick dive into data security and cyber threat protection).

創建者 Andres P d L

2019年10月31日

This course covering legal Issues, HIPPA and privacy topics proved to be the most challenging of the 4 courses. I need to go back and review this section and take it a bit slower next time. However everything in there was broken down nicely and supplied great supplemental examples.

創建者 Sally V C

2019年8月20日

Professor Steinfeld is extremely knowledgeable, responsive and she provides an engaging learning experience. I really enjoyed learning through the useful combination of video and content. A tremendous help to anyone interested in learning more about the privacy landscape.

創建者 Zuleymi V

2020年11月9日

Data protection is one of the most important new skills to learn about this decade, it is growing and demanding new job positions. Which is great for Compliance Professionals who whishes to learn new things and make minimun changes in their professional carrier.

創建者 Grace C

2020年3月29日

I thought this course was well organized and thought out. I appreciated that it included a brief segment on the CCPA. I actually would love if in the future they built out the CCPA section a bit more since that seems particularly relevant in today's landscape.

創建者 Zhiyao L

2019年7月14日

This is a very good course. It gave me an overview knowledge of the data privacy protections both in the US (HIPAA, FERMA, COPPA) and Europe (GDPR). I would highly recommend for anyone trying to learn about the basic regimes of data privacy.

創建者 Muzzil Q K

2019年4月22日

I am quite familiar with the privacy regime in the EU and other individual States such as Malaysia and Australia but this course gave me an important perspective on privacy and information security particularly from a US perspective.

創建者 Amah A

2020年3月27日

This Course is very instructive and interactive. It helped me understand and do a comparative analysis between the US data protection regulatory framework and the Nigerian NDPR which is quite similar to the EU-GDPR framework.

創建者 Casimiro V

2020年12月27日

Very easy to understand, but at the same time provides a very good introduction to the subject. After this Course is a lot easier to understand these areas of knowledge and know what other courses we must look for.

創建者 Aniuska R

2020年8月17日

Lecture are easy to follow and most of the articles included great examples on the topics. For the instructors: I would recommend using different articles, as some were not accessible unless you had a subscription.

創建者 Kungwang H

2020年5月5日

A very good overview of privacy law and data protection. My only complaint is that it is a tad too easy and the final paper writing assignment, which is graded by peer, can have a higher grading standard.

創建者 Sultan A

2020年6月30日

Great overview of privacy and data protection. Heavy emphasis on HIPAA given Lecturer background and expertise. Would recommend to any beginners or curious individuals.

創建者 ALEXANDRE J D S

2020年9月25日

Very good course, however it should have more descriptive content and a greater number of classes, due to the interest of great resourcefulness today.

創建者 Pauline

2020年5月11日

Good course that provides a very basic overview of privacy regulation and law in the USA. It is good for people that have never studied the system.

創建者 Rosalee F

2020年9月14日

This Course was excellent and very informative, as Privacy and protection of personal information is a topical issue in this electronic era...

創建者 Joel A C

2020年1月20日

A great review of the law, history and current standing for privacy & also (some) related national security law concepts. Highly enjoyable!

創建者 Ganesh K

2020年9月22日

I liked the tutor's approach to abstract and present difficult topic in a simple manner in a way that it was easy to understand.

創建者 Sergey S

2019年11月5日

This course allows you to structure information on the protection of personal data and learn how to use this information.

創建者 Jose L L C

2020年3月25日

muy bueno, hace analizar el cumplimiento de todas las leyes que estan sujetas las empresas segun su giro de negocio.

創建者 Pedro M G

2020年4月14日

Excellent introductory course to the US privacy law and data protection framework. I highly recommend it!