Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,223 個評分
486 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

VS
2020年6月22日

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
2020年6月11日

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

篩選依據:

451 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 475 個評論(共 483 個)

創建者 Kajol

2015年10月18日

Peer reviews can be a gamble. But the professor is excellent. Helpful to get started with poetry or get over writer's block.

創建者 Kuma B

2020年4月28日

Really helpful to take class, but the reviews from some students were not always accurate and it got mixed up sometimes.

創建者 Aastha M

2016年7月11日

i find this course highly helpful to learn new aspects of poetry, embrace new thoughts and new ideas to write upon.

創建者 Eric N

2019年12月23日

Some good ideas to progress your poems. Could be more interaction between participants.

創建者 trish d

2015年9月2日

Gently entertaining introduction to writing poetry with some good examples and advice.

創建者 Safa S S

2020年10月15日

Nice experience. Very good and useful course to the English beginning poets

創建者 Shwetha

2019年1月21日

Great course! Recommend everyone who wants to write poetry to take this up!

創建者 Trish S

2015年10月17日

Very interesting and thought provoking. I found the instructor amusing.

創建者 Susan W

2016年6月6日

I enjoyed the ideas, but the peer feedback was less than helpful.

創建者 Michelle S

2021年1月4日

The prof is engaging, but it was not the course I needed.

創建者 Niharika B

2015年10月8日

I am finding it really interesting and helpful. :)

創建者 AJ D

2020年6月27日

Informative and creatively challenging.

創建者 Sumaiya A

2016年7月23日

very informative course.

創建者 Dr.Halowine C

2016年6月29日

It is a riveting

創建者 mario g

2020年11月1日

Excelente curso

創建者 Xhanti M

2015年11月19日

i

創建者 Nguyen C C A

2020年5月4日

The course material, assignments, and the instructor are fine. The only problem I have with this is the "Peer-graded Assignment", while a lot of the time they are helpful, there is a handful of people who have no idea what they are doing. They do not read the instruction (as for grading) at all and give the wrong mark (as in technical requirement, not in whether the poem sounds good or not). For example, it said "give 2 points if response to the other prompt" and yet the "peer" give 0 point? Some people cannot read and their response show that they have no knowledge about certain types of poem and their feedbacks are even sometimes contradictory? This same problem occur in other courses as well so I will stop using Coursera due to its inttelligent "peer" grading syste.

創建者 Carol M

2020年6月17日

I learned one thing from this course- that I write poetry in trochee, not iambs. I can't think of a poem that I've written that hasn't begun with a stress ... and emphasis. Best exercise of the course, for me, came in the Forms week. I gave writing in iambs a try and think that I should practice more as routine.

I have peer reviewed before and have found it helpful in revision. In this community, I'm not sure that all of its participants were familiar enough with poetics to closely review a poem. I would say that one reviewer would give insightful consideration of their read, and the second lacked experience in reading poetry.

With that said, learning one thing is learning something, so I was generally satisfied.

創建者 Scott D

2016年11月22日

Doug's lectures were great! He's entertaining and he gets the concepts across very clearly. I struggled with the course itself, however. The participation rate was low and the iOS app was so buggy I deleted it. The web interface was better but still difficult to work with.

The iOS app would forget I was in the course and lose my assignments. It also wouldn't let me open the discussion forums. With the technical problems and low participation I can only give the course 3/5.

創建者 Victoria B

2019年7月6日

I think this course is good if you're just starting out and want to know the basics. But it's not a great course for more advanced students. The peer graded assignments are a gamble because some people fail to understand what the assignment actually is before they try to grade your assignment. Also, I don't like how certain sections are heavily focused on rhythm and rhyme. This course isn't really geared toward free verse poets.

創建者 Elizabeth D

2016年8月1日

The annotations of the different poems were great and taught me a lot about different poetic elements, but the lectures were unbearably corny with all of the different sound effects and bits. I found myself reading the transcripts because I could not watch the videos without feeling like I was being talked down to or that the instructor didn't take the course seriously.

創建者 Samantha A

2015年9月9日

Not as much creative flexibility as I thought there would be. Writing to prompts left very little room to create poetry that felt like my own. Good short course (knocked it out in a couple of days) for revising/learning techniques.

創建者 Stefan W

2020年9月6日

This course seems to be aimed at absolute beginners. If you don't know what a rhyme is, this "workshop" is definitively worth your time. Else, there may be better investments.

創建者 Hari K D V

2017年10月28日

there's got to be more poems, more reviews. 1 poem to be reviewed makes the brilliant course flippant

創建者 Jennifer F

2020年9月5日

ok. some tools are missing, like a resource page referred to by the instructor.