Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,054 個評分
410 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

VS

Jun 23, 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM

Jun 12, 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

篩選依據:

351 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 375 個評論(共 407 個)

創建者 Shashank D

May 13, 2020

I really liked this course as I got what I was looking for. This course gives a very creative and nice way of learning poetry and also the tools to make them better. The content provided here was very relevant and knowledge boosting. Only thing that could have been better was the explanation of few topics. Overall it's a great course if you want to learn poetry.

創建者 Ian B

Aug 02, 2017

Great course to learn the fundamentals of poetry writing. I wish I was held to more of a deadline, as most prompts didn't need to be turned in, and thus I wasn't able to benefit from feedback or criticism, but on the whole this is a great class and worth the time if you're looking to learn how to put a poem together effectively.

創建者 Vinyas M

May 11, 2016

Course was great with very nice prompts.

The only issue I had was with scoring. Since this was mainly a workshop more emphasis should've been given to feedback of an assignment rather than scoring points. Sometimes readers of a poem might not be able to grasp what the author intended and cause the student to fail the assignment,

創建者 Atul B

Jan 26, 2020

The syllabus was an eye opener for someone who wants to delve into the world of poetry. How metaphors, rhymes and rhythms are the pillars of poetry. However, I do feel that the rhythms sections needs to be simpler and more exhaustive as it's the most overlooked aspect making people read silently instead of reading vocally.

創建者 Nabeel M

Nov 10, 2015

fantastic course - only slight issues are quizzes that seek to trick you on the way they are worded rather than actual knowledge, and slight america-centric-ness of the material used (although all material was still fantastic, an example or two from non western poets might have been interesting to add)

創建者 Faithlynn C

Dec 01, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. Although I wish there had been more practices to instill the firm knowledge of what the content was. Computer flashcards, or even extra little quizzes in each lesson would have been nice. Other than that, great course, great teacher, and great content! Thank you!

創建者 Khawla R

Dec 30, 2019

This is my first poetry workshop. I have learned many things and got to know new poets. The instructor is informative (and sometimes funny). I think if anyone wants to dive into the poetry realm, I think this is a safe start! Thanks to Cal Arts and Coursera for providing the course J

創建者 Doug P

Nov 25, 2015

Overall felt it to be an excellent course. A refresher in some areas and mind expander in others. Has been decades since taxing my brain so. Had a few browser issues but it all worked out. Some of the prompts were interesting and quite a challenge. Compliments to the chefs...

創建者 Swikrit K

Jul 10, 2019

Sometimes waiting for reviewing other peoples work takes a while if enough other students aren't at the same stage as you. Maybe an alternative solution for this would be to have more then two students review a luck someone's work if there isn't enough to go around?

創建者 farhat f

Aug 31, 2017

The video lessons in this course were not only enjoyable but also extremely enlightening. They were just the right length. I especially found the videos on revision very helpful.

Evaluations of Peer Assignments weren't all that satisfactory though

創建者 Anveer R

Aug 04, 2020

The best thing about the course was the instructor, although I have never met him I immediately felt connected with him and understood everything he taught. My only wish was that the course should have been longer that's how much I enjoyed it.

創建者 Vishal O

Jun 20, 2020

Brief and engaging! The practices ensured that I did real work. And the properly organized structure made sure that we learned the basics that are most important. I'm grateful to the creators and the community that has been so supportive.

創建者 Liz G

Jun 03, 2020

A beginner's introduction to poetry and key concepts, but well presented. Readings were good introductions to poets I didn't know and also good examples for the lessons.=. The prompts were also useful and led to interesting exercises.

創建者 Nishtha C

May 12, 2020

It was absolutely lovely to be a part of this course. Mr. Douglas kept the energy going. The assignments were super interesting and reviewing peers was an exciting experience. I have learned so much from this. Thank you!

創建者 Johanna M

Nov 09, 2018

This course is great, but if you are looking for something challenging, this might not be the one. Overall, though, it helped me to go back to the basics and analyze my poetry from a foundational standpoint.

創建者 Sanelisiwe E M

Feb 13, 2017

This course truly opened my eyes on the importance of revision, I recommend this course not only for budding poets but even for those who have never attempted poetry. You will learn a great deal.

創建者 Sr. M A

Apr 16, 2020

This was a great poetry course that is for a person of beginning level. I really enjoyed it because I've been want to learn more about poetry and it helped get my poetic juices flowing again.

創建者 Laurie D

Mar 08, 2019

I appreciate the practicality of assignments and delivery of concepts for writing poetry. I learned some skills and it gave me structure. The conversation between students is less accessible.

創建者 BI H

May 11, 2020

I really like this course and have learned a lot systematically from it! I hope the tutor mentoring and feedback can be a little bit more if possible in this course in future.

創建者 Rohini M

Jan 16, 2019

I Just loved this course. I learnt a lot of things about poetry. Soon i wish i would publish a book on poetry by writing and incorporating the lessons learnt in the class.

創建者 alex d

Jan 29, 2020

Excellent course for poets of all levels! A great refresher course if you're looking to learn more about the beauty of poetry or if you're simply looking for inspiration!

創建者 Benedick G

Jul 07, 2016

Very fun instructor.

The peer review as a workshop is perfect.

I just wish that there are more poems to study and that it's longer or it has a continuation.

創建者 Adrienne P

Mar 15, 2019

This was an excellent workshop to help me brush up on poetic forms. Actually having to write, and revise was more useful than simply studying.

創建者 Eyal G

Aug 19, 2015

Great teacher and great content BUT I just wish that it would have been more abundant with information. it seemed for times maybe too short.

創建者 Vernon G

Sep 18, 2015

Early days yet but I've seen enough to realise it is interesting, intense, funny, persuasive, stimulating and creative. Thank you Douglas.