Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
798 個評分
287 個審閱

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

JK

Aug 22, 2016

Wonderful, learning about writing poetry here is IT! I will always use this to go forward and once in a while come back to freshen up. Thank you, there's nothing else out there like this class!

AR

Nov 02, 2015

I have learned so much and I love D's energy and the avid participation of the other students. Will definitely pass on what I've learned. Can't wait for more courses like this in the future! :)

篩選依據:

151 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 175 個評論(共 283 個)

創建者 andres f u

Apr 16, 2016

wonderful teacher, its funny at the same time smart.

創建者 Ester

Sep 30, 2015

thank you Dough for sharpening and making change sight!

創建者 Gracie A

Apr 16, 2018

I loved this course! It was amazing and entertaining. Also, this course helped spark inspiration through the prompts

創建者 Jill B

Jun 12, 2016

Wrote a poem

I like.

That's something.

創建者 Anna M

Mar 14, 2016

This is a great course with lots of information about the tools you need when crafting great poetry. I love the weekly writing prompts; they were very helpful in getting me back into the rhythm of writing. The discussion board was also a nice play to hang out and exchange thoughts about poetry and to give and receive critique from my peers. I recommend this course to anyone, at any level, who is interested in writing poetry.

創建者 Don P

Sep 13, 2015

Next best thing to a face-to-face seminar: write a new poem to a prompt from Kearns, listen to your classmates' reviews of your poem; revise, revise, revise.

創建者 Alexandra L

Aug 09, 2016

This is one of the most enjoyable classes I've taken on Coursera, and it's all Douglas Kearney's fault. *grins* From day one, he has made this class fun, challenging and ever-interesting, and I feel like he has helped me get back into writing poetry. I would most certainly take more of his classes on here, and if I ever went to California for school, I would love to be in his classes.

創建者 Jhonatan J A E

May 08, 2016

The course is just great! All the contents are presented in a pretty pleasant way and concepts are clearly explained shortly and exemplified. Participants are supposed to learn through practice, resulting in very challenging and encouraging experiences.

創建者 Xie W

Mar 10, 2017

It's a lot of fun to study this course, especially the peer review could be very rewarding and entertaining.

創建者 Ishan S

Aug 18, 2017

Well the method of teaching is best in any of the moocs ever. He is a ventriloquist and when you listen to him its not like studying but entertainment.

創建者 Kamila L

Aug 30, 2017

Nice, easy and informative. Enjoyed it very much. Now I'm starting work on my own little book of poetry.

創建者 Matteo T

Nov 04, 2016

I'd like to thank M. Douglas Kearney, Calarts and Coursera for this course. I learned a lot about poetry with the help of M. Kearney whose explantions were really clear and entertaining!

創建者 Diane V

Jul 21, 2016

I really loved this course! I have always loved reading poetry and have tried my hand at it periodically over many years. I learned a lot , wrote some poems that I like, and most of all enjoyed the teacher so very much. He made it so much fun, that I found myself laughing out loud several times. The workshop idea was also good, and I learned from reading the others' poems. Thank you for this course. !

創建者 Dave J

Feb 10, 2018

Good exercises, fun presentation. Peer feedback was somewhat helpful though not amazing.

創建者 Richard C

Aug 03, 2016

Excellent course. The performance of the presenter may seem over the top at first but they actually enhance the impact of the lesson later on. The enthusiasm is genuine and not faked and I enjoyed his te

創建者 Suzy W

Feb 09, 2018

This course fit in perfectly in my busy life. I learned something new (or re-remembered it) each week in this course!

創建者 Heather P

Mar 13, 2017

Fun, fresh and full of really great instruction and examples.

創建者 bluesnow

Mar 16, 2017

Excellent theory and practise. Entertaining but skilled videos. Good team feeling. Useful feedback.

創建者 Chandrawulan H

May 08, 2017

I enjoyed the experience of learning the step by step of making poem with Coursera. I love the workshop and the prompts given too...

創建者 Sarah S

Dec 01, 2017

Great no-cost online poetry workshop.

創建者 margarita c

Jun 26, 2018

Amazing!!! I am learning so much!

創建者 Stephanie P

Jun 04, 2016

This course was excellent! It really helped me on my journey in poetry appreciation and writing. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

創建者 Sharon L

Jun 13, 2016

I enjoyed the course thoroughly. Although the basics were a review for me, the section on revision (vs editing) was extremely helpful. I also appreciated how enthusiastic and engaging the instructor was.

創建者 Mario R P

Jan 17, 2016

S

創建者 Erin

Mar 07, 2018

This was an entry level course to poetry and I feel like by taking it I have become a much better poet.