Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,382 個評分
563 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

SM
2020年6月11日

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
2020年6月22日

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

篩選依據:

101 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 125 個評論(共 563 個)

創建者 Aaliya T

2017年9月25日

I would recommend this impeccable course to all those who aspire to write poetry and who are already great poets too! This course helped me to learn a lot of techniques and hacks to writing a good poem. Overall, I had a great experience writing for the weekly prompts and enjoyed the lecture videos a lot. Cheers!

創建者 Domingo M

2015年9月15日

I learned a lot at a demanding level. I enjoyed, in particular, reviewing peers and getting feedback. It is very different from my old school days back in Germany. I will continue to write poems and now I have more tools in my tool-box from which to choose to make it happen -- with a vengeance.

Thanks!

Domingo

創建者 Jenifer S

2015年8月9日

An entertaining and instructive course on the basics of poetry, with strong invitations for experimenting with different elements of writing poetry, relevant and current. As a former English teacher I highly recommend this for introduction, review, or refinement, to accompany a poetry unit ages 16 and up.

創建者 Tariq Y

2021年5月27日

It may have felt daunting at first, but the comedic character of Douglas Kearney made it a fun experience. My advice would be to try and stay one step ahead, as poetry is one of those things where it is difficult to flick that inspirational switch, especially where a submission is looming over your head.

創建者 Alain M

2021年3月23日

Doug is not only a teacher, but an actor! Wonderful videos. And poetry obliges a little poem to thank him!

Demanding, tricky poetry is many times.

Often we struggle, in rage, with rhythm, feet and rhymes.

Upraise your skills, your art within this course, you'll do

Gladly, gaily by virtue of a great guru!

創建者 Renata P

2021年1月18日

Absolutely loved the course! I don't have any formal education in literature or poetry, and joined the course hoping to learn some basics of the art. I received much more than I'd expected. Professor Doug is an exceptional teacher, and I hope to use these new learnings in the poetry I write henceforth.

創建者 Tarun S K

2021年5月13日

A very structured and comprehensive course covering the fundamentals of poetry. I would highly recommend this MOOC to anyone serious about writing poetry. A well designed syllabus taught by the Prof Douglas K in his inimitable style. The mentors are extremely helpful and the peer group is engaging.

創建者 Julia R

2015年9月3日

I am presently taking this course for fun, I love writing, specially creating poetry. I find the instructor very engaging, interesting, and motivating. He also seems to know his subject very well. He makes the time I spend in class worthwhile. He is just plain fun! Love this class.

Julia

Boulder, CO

創建者 Afua A

2020年9月2日

Instructor was great - knowledgeable, inspiring, made the work seem doable. I really appreciated his style of teaching. Of the three courses I was signed up for, this was the one I completed. Assignments were manageable., as was the format of the course. Thank you for offering this workshop!

創建者 Maria B

2020年8月15日

This is the second time I've done this workshop. I found new things to explore this second time around and will probably do it again in the future. The variety of prompts and fun instruction make it a go-to for poetry inspiration. It's a great experience that can be enjoyed again and again.

創建者 Courtney E M

2020年2月10日

Doug was terrific and presented every week's information with clarity and humor. This was a fabulous course for me, as I try to build a poetry practice as it lays a solid foundation of ideas and techniques. I will likely revisit this course in the future to keep all of these concepts fresh.

創建者 Jyotsna G

2018年1月17日

This workshop is anything but boring. I had so much fun going through the videos, learning the basics, and workshopping my poems. I couldn't have asked for a greater start to this journey! Special credit to the instructor for infusing all his lectures with genuine enthusiasm and vigour!

創建者 Mary C D

2020年6月12日

I really enjoyed this course. The instructor and accompanying videos and assignments were clever and innovative. All kept my interest and enthusiasm for understanding and learning. It was especially motivating and a distraction during the "covid" period. I recommend this course to all!

創建者 Kayanna

2015年11月10日

Excellent overview with bite-size explanations that really puts into context some of that fiddly terminology. The lectures are accessible and makes the theory less daunting. Thanks to Douglas Kearney & crew for helping me to see where I can improve to produce better works of poetry.

創建者 Sujatha R

2021年7月18日

Thanks a lot Mr Douglas Kearney and California Institute of Arts. I really enjoyed doing this workshop and it inspired me to write poetry. I found the peer-graded assignments to be the best part of the course. I highly recommend this workshop to people interested in poetry.

創建者 David H K

2021年3月1日

This course was excellent. The videos were instructive, the writing prompts stimulating, and the feedback from other students very helpful. I wish there was a more advanced workshop course for those of us who would like to continue the momentum generated by this introduction.

創建者 Hala C

2018年10月27日

Amazing course. The instructor was great and had a really fun teaching style that kept me interested, and the mentors were very helpful. I learned a lot about poetry through this course and would recommend it to anyone wanting to challenge themselves and become better poets.

創建者 Laura M

2020年10月3日

Amazing workshop!! I really enjoyed the prompts and how we had to review other people's poems, it made it more enriching and you have the opportunity to read the comments about your work in the eyes of another person. Lots of fun and different from other courses I've taken.

創建者 Gouthami

2020年7月28日

Thank you very much - I enjoyed learning more about poetry and being introduced to so many poets from the USA. Module 6 was especially useful - understanding the difference between revising and editing. I had the most fun with the lipogram. All the best for future courses!

創建者 Jen G

2020年1月23日

What a great presenter who really brought poetry to life for his students! I found peer review difficult given I am such a novice but enjoyed the standard of submissions from others - some great poets in the making. Material and references were excellent. Thankyou.

創建者 James G

2017年10月14日

Great intro to poetry. The analysis of the poems was great, and I really enjoyed the poems covered in the course.

The writing prompts are the hardest and most time consuming part of the course. I write for fun and the practice I got from this course was very useful.

創建者 Marie A

2021年6月20日

I'm from Argentina and absolutely loved everything about this course. It gave me a variety of tools to understand and write better poetry. The prompts were great and the revision process with peers was quite enlightening and easy. I would higly recommend doing it.

創建者 Carroll L

2020年9月2日

Great course with an excellent, charismatic and funny instructor. The lessons were fun & interesting; the assignments were as well. I got excellent feedback from peers--respectful, thoughtful and helpful. Wish there was another segment that built on this one.

創建者 Danila G

2015年10月19日

I really loved this poetry course! It was taught with a different style compared to similar courses that I have taken in the past. He teaches the it with a different flair for poetry! Because of that I not only enjoyed the course but also learned a great deal!

創建者 Cat M

2021年5月24日

The teacher made this a lot of fun and I learned far more than I'd expected, plus I think I came away with a good poem of my own, with thanks to helpful peer feedback. Having finished the course, I now feel more equipped to read, appreciate and write poetry.