Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,382 個評分
563 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

SM
2020年6月11日

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

VS
2020年6月22日

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

篩選依據:

501 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 525 個評論(共 563 個)

創建者 Georgette J

2020年10月18日

It was good for a self-directed course. You get what you put into it, so the extent of learning is up to the student. It has been 20 years since I have taken a course, so this course helped me get back into the groove of learning again.

創建者 Vishal O

2020年6月20日

Brief and engaging! The practices ensured that I did real work. And the properly organized structure made sure that we learned the basics that are most important. I'm grateful to the creators and the community that has been so supportive.

創建者 Liz G

2020年6月3日

A beginner's introduction to poetry and key concepts, but well presented. Readings were good introductions to poets I didn't know and also good examples for the lessons.=. The prompts were also useful and led to interesting exercises.

創建者 Shruti R

2020年8月13日

Great course! What an insightful and fun workshop, it teaches interesting writing techniques as well as essential tools for writing a poem. Plus, the dramatic and funny professor is the cherry on the cake. I highly recommend. :D

創建者 Kapil C

2020年5月11日

It was absolutely lovely to be a part of this course. Mr. Douglas kept the energy going. The assignments were super interesting and reviewing peers was an exciting experience. I have learned so much from this. Thank you!

創建者 Johanna M

2018年11月9日

This course is great, but if you are looking for something challenging, this might not be the one. Overall, though, it helped me to go back to the basics and analyze my poetry from a foundational standpoint.

創建者 Sanelisiwe E M

2017年2月13日

This course truly opened my eyes on the importance of revision, I recommend this course not only for budding poets but even for those who have never attempted poetry. You will learn a great deal.

創建者 Sr. M A

2020年4月16日

This was a great poetry course that is for a person of beginning level. I really enjoyed it because I've been want to learn more about poetry and it helped get my poetic juices flowing again.

創建者 Laurie D

2019年3月8日

I appreciate the practicality of assignments and delivery of concepts for writing poetry. I learned some skills and it gave me structure. The conversation between students is less accessible.

創建者 Lia

2021年2月8日

Nice workshop! Informative and open to exploration. The instructor made the workshop fun without loosing the depth of poetry. I feel that I will read poetry with other eyes! Thank you

創建者 BI H

2020年5月10日

I really like this course and have learned a lot systematically from it! I hope the tutor mentoring and feedback can be a little bit more if possible in this course in future.

創建者 Rohini M

2019年1月16日

I Just loved this course. I learnt a lot of things about poetry. Soon i wish i would publish a book on poetry by writing and incorporating the lessons learnt in the class.

創建者 alex d

2020年1月29日

Excellent course for poets of all levels! A great refresher course if you're looking to learn more about the beauty of poetry or if you're simply looking for inspiration!

創建者 Marsheila R

2021年7月13日

D​oug was great, the info was great. Peer review was often frustrating as you were not paired with people at the same level so their comments were often unhelpful.

創建者 Benedick G

2016年7月7日

Very fun instructor.

The peer review as a workshop is perfect.

I just wish that there are more poems to study and that it's longer or it has a continuation.

創建者 Adrienne P

2019年3月14日

This was an excellent workshop to help me brush up on poetic forms. Actually having to write, and revise was more useful than simply studying.

創建者 Eyal G

2015年8月19日

Great teacher and great content BUT I just wish that it would have been more abundant with information. it seemed for times maybe too short.

創建者 Vernon G

2015年9月18日

Early days yet but I've seen enough to realise it is interesting, intense, funny, persuasive, stimulating and creative. Thank you Douglas.

創建者 Guillemette A

2015年9月14日

Very nice course, with interesting material, taught in a witty and engaging manner, and pretty good prompts. I had a very nice experience!

創建者 Valeria L

2020年5月19日

A great workshop to learn the basis of poetry and to start writing and sharing your poems. The clases are fun and the people really kind

創建者 Ta-Tanisha I

2021年10月4日

Would have been more beneficial if there were instructor review instead of the review from peers that just responded n/a to everything.

創建者 Katya F

2015年10月12日

Loved the short but sharp classes! Thank you! Would love to see more peer reviews (didn't get any on my poems yet).

Best of luck!

Katya

創建者 Ryan S

2020年4月27日

Liked the way Doug made poetry accessible and fun to write. His enthusiasm and knowledge really made the course worth sticking with.

創建者 Lucia B

2021年5月18日

It was a really nice experience.

The teacher is awesome.

The only thing is that my certificate is written in Chinese characters.

創建者 Kajol

2015年10月18日

Peer reviews can be a gamble. But the professor is excellent. Helpful to get started with poetry or get over writer's block.