Chevron Left
返回到 释放想象力:诗歌工作室

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,193 個評分
473 條評論

課程概述

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

熱門審閱

VS
2020年6月22日

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

SM
2020年6月11日

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

篩選依據:

401 - 释放想象力:诗歌工作室 的 425 個評論(共 469 個)

創建者 Magdalene C

2020年3月13日

It is a very condensed course and I think it works better for students who already have some experience writing poems. I'm new to poetry and it took me some time to catch on the various technicalities which were zoomed by very quickly. Certainly feels more like a revision course. Nevertheless, the course has been fun and enjoyable. I learned a lot about poetry writing. The course makes me want to know more about poetry writing. Thank you for this opportunity.

創建者 Clare M

2020年6月4日

I throughly enjoyed the Sharpened Visions Poetry course with Douglas, he has a lovely engaging approach and delivery. I learned a lot.

The only area that I felt was lacking was regards feedback on submissions. Which I could not find at all and I never knew how other students felt about reviews I had submitted. I felt this was at the heart of the course for learning and missed that link..

Thank-you

創建者 Fred P

2015年10月25日

A fun and engaging experience, excellent writing prompts. The kind of on-line educational experience I appreciate- encouraging and supportive, yet completely unwilling to take itself too seriously. The on-line poetry workshop experience with peers can be hit or miss, but even so, I gained some unexpected insights into my writing. Well worth enrolling and completing.

創建者 Anshika S

2020年8月31日

The course is amazing. Got to learn so many new things and there was a definite improvement in my writing skill. However, i wish the content was more culture neutral. the poems picked, the examples used were mostly centered USA and as an Asian it was a bit difficult to catch on. Nevertheless one should definitely go for this course. the mentor is amazing as well.

創建者 Shashank D

2020年5月13日

I really liked this course as I got what I was looking for. This course gives a very creative and nice way of learning poetry and also the tools to make them better. The content provided here was very relevant and knowledge boosting. Only thing that could have been better was the explanation of few topics. Overall it's a great course if you want to learn poetry.

創建者 Ian B

2017年8月2日

Great course to learn the fundamentals of poetry writing. I wish I was held to more of a deadline, as most prompts didn't need to be turned in, and thus I wasn't able to benefit from feedback or criticism, but on the whole this is a great class and worth the time if you're looking to learn how to put a poem together effectively.

創建者 Vinyas M

2016年5月11日

Course was great with very nice prompts.

The only issue I had was with scoring. Since this was mainly a workshop more emphasis should've been given to feedback of an assignment rather than scoring points. Sometimes readers of a poem might not be able to grasp what the author intended and cause the student to fail the assignment,

創建者 Atul B

2020年1月26日

The syllabus was an eye opener for someone who wants to delve into the world of poetry. How metaphors, rhymes and rhythms are the pillars of poetry. However, I do feel that the rhythms sections needs to be simpler and more exhaustive as it's the most overlooked aspect making people read silently instead of reading vocally.

創建者 Nabeel M

2015年11月10日

fantastic course - only slight issues are quizzes that seek to trick you on the way they are worded rather than actual knowledge, and slight america-centric-ness of the material used (although all material was still fantastic, an example or two from non western poets might have been interesting to add)

創建者 Faithlynn C

2015年12月1日

I really enjoyed this course. Although I wish there had been more practices to instill the firm knowledge of what the content was. Computer flashcards, or even extra little quizzes in each lesson would have been nice. Other than that, great course, great teacher, and great content! Thank you!

創建者 Khawla R

2019年12月29日

This is my first poetry workshop. I have learned many things and got to know new poets. The instructor is informative (and sometimes funny). I think if anyone wants to dive into the poetry realm, I think this is a safe start! Thanks to Cal Arts and Coursera for providing the course J

創建者 Doug P

2015年11月24日

Overall felt it to be an excellent course. A refresher in some areas and mind expander in others. Has been decades since taxing my brain so. Had a few browser issues but it all worked out. Some of the prompts were interesting and quite a challenge. Compliments to the chefs...

創建者 Swikrit K

2019年7月9日

Sometimes waiting for reviewing other peoples work takes a while if enough other students aren't at the same stage as you. Maybe an alternative solution for this would be to have more then two students review a luck someone's work if there isn't enough to go around?

創建者 farhat f

2017年8月31日

The video lessons in this course were not only enjoyable but also extremely enlightening. They were just the right length. I especially found the videos on revision very helpful.

Evaluations of Peer Assignments weren't all that satisfactory though

創建者 Anveer R

2020年8月4日

The best thing about the course was the instructor, although I have never met him I immediately felt connected with him and understood everything he taught. My only wish was that the course should have been longer that's how much I enjoyed it.

創建者 Harshita P

2020年8月28日

I like this course very much. I learned many poetic devices also got to know various forms of poetry. the most interesting topic was revision although after drafting the entire poem revision is the most important part to make it final draft.

創建者 Georgette J

2020年10月18日

It was good for a self-directed course. You get what you put into it, so the extent of learning is up to the student. It has been 20 years since I have taken a course, so this course helped me get back into the groove of learning again.

創建者 Vishal O

2020年6月20日

Brief and engaging! The practices ensured that I did real work. And the properly organized structure made sure that we learned the basics that are most important. I'm grateful to the creators and the community that has been so supportive.

創建者 Elizabeth G

2020年6月3日

A beginner's introduction to poetry and key concepts, but well presented. Readings were good introductions to poets I didn't know and also good examples for the lessons.=. The prompts were also useful and led to interesting exercises.

創建者 Shruti R

2020年8月13日

Great course! What an insightful and fun workshop, it teaches interesting writing techniques as well as essential tools for writing a poem. Plus, the dramatic and funny professor is the cherry on the cake. I highly recommend. :D

創建者 Nishtha C

2020年5月11日

It was absolutely lovely to be a part of this course. Mr. Douglas kept the energy going. The assignments were super interesting and reviewing peers was an exciting experience. I have learned so much from this. Thank you!

創建者 Johanna M

2018年11月9日

This course is great, but if you are looking for something challenging, this might not be the one. Overall, though, it helped me to go back to the basics and analyze my poetry from a foundational standpoint.

創建者 Sanelisiwe E M

2017年2月13日

This course truly opened my eyes on the importance of revision, I recommend this course not only for budding poets but even for those who have never attempted poetry. You will learn a great deal.

創建者 Sr. M A

2020年4月16日

This was a great poetry course that is for a person of beginning level. I really enjoyed it because I've been want to learn more about poetry and it helped get my poetic juices flowing again.

創建者 Laurie D

2019年3月8日

I appreciate the practicality of assignments and delivery of concepts for writing poetry. I learned some skills and it gave me structure. The conversation between students is less accessible.