Chevron Left
返回到 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

學生對 伦敦帝国学院 提供的 Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的評價和反饋

4.0
1,665 個評分
379 條評論

課程概述

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

熱門審閱

JS

Jul 17, 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

JV

May 01, 2018

This course was definitely a bit more complex, not so much in assignments but in the core concepts handled, than the others in the specialisation. Overall, it was fun to do this course!

篩選依據:

51 - Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA 的 75 個評論(共 377 個)

創建者 Naveen K

Aug 09, 2018

I've finished all the two previous courses in this specialization.I was shocked at seeing the content and programming assignments given to us.It was totally different.They expect a lot from us.Content is not up to the mark.First two courses was awesome.But this course is an exact opposite to the first two.Totally disappointed!! I was hoping to finish this specialization.But it seems I cannot. I didn't expect this.

創建者 Ong J R

Aug 11, 2018

Concepts weren't taught well and programming exercises are full of errors. Very difficult to debug and find out if I am on track during the programming exercises. Lecturer lacks passion and ability to convey core concepts well to audience. Hard to follow up on the mathematical derivation with the simple stuff that we were taught in module 1 and 2.

創建者 Valeria B

Jun 26, 2019

Too few examples given during the lessons. More examples could greatly improve understanding and the solution of quizzes and programming assignment.

I had to integrate this course with multiple sources I looked up for by myself, so I'm really wondering if I wisely spent my money on this course.

創建者 Yaroshchuk A

May 22, 2020

Instructor writes down equations and formal definitions while reading out loud what he is writing. None further explanations are given.

Basically whole course is a voiced list of equations together with some links to Wikipedia which even further empathize pathetic quality of content.

創建者 용석 권

Jan 30, 2019

Programming assignments' quality is too bad to follow it. Their lecture's explanation and assignments' notation are not matched. Moreover, the code is sometimes ridiculous.

創建者 Benjamin F

Nov 18, 2019

The didactic value of this course is rather low. The lectures do not explain the very concepts required to sovle the subsequent assigments, or do it in a very poor way.

創建者 Kareem T M

May 18, 2020

Worst Course I have ever token on Coursera, the instructor hadn't mention any examples or simplify the information.

創建者 Michael B

May 16, 2020

If I could give it negative stars I would.

創建者 Mohamed S

Jun 01, 2020

topics are poorly explained and confusing

創建者 Fredrick A

Feb 21, 2020

The coverage of PCA provided by the instructor was wide and provided me with an intuitive basis for executing the PCA algorithm in the wild. Ultimately, the subject and its various steps were easy to understand. That said, I gained many great insights watching Khan Academy videos especially ones on eigenvalues/eigenvectors. By far the hardest part of the class was implementing and executing the python code. There the devil was in, and sometimes, outside of the details. I cursed the name of the Instructor more than once (a lot more). But, in the end, because of the real life, no safety net experience, I was able to jump right into PCA (and other feature engineering projects) adding value to my team at work on day 1.

創建者 Abdu M

Jan 20, 2019

Best course out of the series so far. A fine balance between theory and derivations, and practice with the programming assignments. It seems that they have solved their programming assignment issues (the first one still has some problems with the grader I believe). This course does require you to have some prior experience, though, so if you are new to programming or linear algebra (not just the concepts but how to apply them) it's bets to take the first two courses with some additional help (maybe Khan academy or even MIT OCW. I will certainly refer to this course in the future, as well as the professor's book on Mathematics for ML.

創建者 Laszlo C

Dec 06, 2019

This is an excellent course first covers statistics, looks back to inner products and projections, thereafter it connects all of that and introduces PCA. The knowledge that you've gathered throughout the first two courses gets applied here. Granted, it's more abstract and challenging than the others, I wouldn't give a worse rating just because of that. You'll need to dive into certain topics on your own and if you strengthen your coding skills for the programming exercises. Nevertheless, it's just as highly rewarding as the first two.

創建者 Douglas W

May 22, 2020

This was the most challenging of the three classes in the series. I thought the instructor did an excellent job of moving from theory to practice, and in the end I came away with a good understanding of the topic. As a developer, part of my personal learning style is to shadow these types of lectures in code. I did (or attempted) naive implementations on most slides - that definitely helped my comprehension of this challenging material. Be prepared to work hard, occasionally head scratch and you'll do fine.

創建者 Jitesh J T

Dec 24, 2019

Hi,

The course tries to cover most of the important mathematical concepts in Mathematics applied to PCA. The assignments were a bit tough, but i guess that the road ahead when we do programming for data sets in real world applications would not be that easy. Loved the way the lectures were delivered and the programming assignments help to build a strong base for applications of linear algebra that we have done earlier.

Thanks and Regards

Jitesh Tripathi, PhD in Applied Mathematics

創建者 Tarek L

Sep 11, 2019

This is a difficult course, but it really gave me an appreciation of the mathematics behind machine learning. I encourage anyone doing this course to read Deisenroth's free book Mathematics for Machine Learning (mml-book.com) to better understand the notation and technique used to get to the proofs. If anything, the rigor of this course inspired me to further pursue learning in mathematics to strengthen my machine learning foundation.

創建者 ChristopherKing

Apr 18, 2018

The whole content of this course is fantastic, not all details were covered in the video, but main ideas were expressed in a great way buy math formulations. Pay attention to those vectors and matrices, especially their dimensions, this will help you solve problem quickly. More important, matrix is just a way to express a bunch of similar things, knowing the meaning of those basis vectors is important.

創建者 Sriram R

Jun 18, 2019

This is one of toughest course in this specialization. Having said that, it was interesting to learn about the inner working of the PCA and is well taught. At times it was tough to follow and could have been better if there are some additional examples explained to reinforce the concept. Also week 4 is kind of rushed with little or no time to fully appreciate the beauty of PCA.

創建者 Yuanfang

Sep 07, 2019

A little more challenging than the other 2 courses in this series. The programming examples on K nearest neighbors, eigenvector fitting of facial data, and the PCA implementation are neat and rewarding. Can't help but feel there's still a great deal of math details that is only briefly mentioned - oh well there's always the free textbook to reference. Overall highly recommended.

創建者 Renato

May 03, 2020

This course is challenging, it requires a lot of participation in the forum plus an overlook on the internet to help you out understand a little more how the vector (eigenvectors) relate to the efficiency of PCA. It is pretty interesting to understand the algorithm itself and how it works. Be aware to review a lot and take your time to understand things.

創建者 Gergo G

May 15, 2019

This course is really challenging. A strong mathematical background is necessary or it needs to be developed during the lectures and self-study. The professor's explanations are clear, and still lead to complex ideas which is great. Programming assignments are also difficult, however they serve as a superb opportunity to develop your skills in Python.

創建者 Anastasios P

Dec 26, 2019

Challenging course, a lot harder than the two previous in the specialisation. Having said that, I really enjoyed it for the insights that it gave and for actually making me learn some Python as well. With this course you need to go search and fin the necessary functions and usage to complete the assignments. The best course in the series I believe.

創建者 Idris R

Nov 02, 2019

Great, challenging course. The instructor will expect much of you as the material is not spoon fed. At times this is frustrating but yet that's the best way to build your own intuition. This is a *hard* course and I imagine most of machine learning is like this. Fun, rewarding, and challenging. You'll flex your math and programming muscles.

創建者 Jaiber J

May 01, 2020

A great course, worth the money. It was hard, as it should be. The explanations are concise, and the assignments take much more to complete, at times leaving us scratching the head. Anyway, I'm so glad to have completed, it has provided me such great insight about how mathematics powers the machine learning algorithms we use everyday.

創建者 Ratnakar

Jul 13, 2018

This is by far the best course I have taken. The Instructor is exceptional in setting the stage to understand the complex topic by letting us know the motivation of every concept, making us understand the fundamentals right, deep diving into the core of the topic and them nicely summarizing the topic along with the applications.

創建者 Geoffrey K

Jun 05, 2020

This course is at a higher level than the first two in the specialisation, and the instructor focusses on the mathematics of matrices, while the assessments are programming. There are easier courses for just PCA (which I thought helped me). Looks like most learners find a way through, and its worth it.