Chevron Left
返回到 并行编程

學生對 洛桑联邦理工学院 提供的 并行编程 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,631 個評分
244 個審閱

課程概述

With every smartphone and computer now boasting multiple processors, the use of functional ideas to facilitate parallel programming is becoming increasingly widespread. In this course, you'll learn the fundamentals of parallel programming, from task parallelism to data parallelism. In particular, you'll see how many familiar ideas from functional programming map perfectly to to the data parallel paradigm. We'll start the nuts and bolts how to effectively parallelize familiar collections operations, and we'll build up to parallel collections, a production-ready data parallel collections library available in the Scala standard library. Throughout, we'll apply these concepts through several hands-on examples that analyze real-world data, such as popular algorithms like k-means clustering. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - reason about task and data parallel programs, - express common algorithms in a functional style and solve them in parallel, - competently microbenchmark parallel code, - write programs that effectively use parallel collections to achieve performance Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Program Design in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun2....

熱門審閱

AL

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

RC

Aug 25, 2017

Superb study material. Learnt a lot during this course. I am not much into mathematical stuff, but got a hang of how to break problems and improve efficiency through parallelism.

篩選依據:

1 - 并行编程 的 25 個評論(共 232 個)

創建者 Kinshuk V

Dec 16, 2017

Although the course is taught well and covers a lot of ground, it is my opinion that the course content is not relevant to what I and majority of other Scala developers were looking for in terms of parallel programming. The instructor has been upfront in differentiating parallel programming (the objective of this course) from concurrency programming. However, I was more interested in learning about concurrency, especially about Akka actors, etc. I wish there was a course of Akka, which is what most Scala developers use for concurrent applications.

創建者 Oliinyk V

Apr 02, 2018

General idea of the course is very good. There are a few things to improve though:

Focus more on intuition behind algorithms rather than formal math

Build a solid foundation that would allow students to develop parallel algorithms themselves.

Practical assignments should focus exactly on this, rather than filling in missing pieces of code that are only tangentially related to the algorithm itself.

It would be helpful if the course provided minimal but solid basics and intuition behind parallel computations. The basics that would allow students to learn more advanced concepts themselves.

In any case, the course has a lot of value and the instructors are awesome.

創建者 Šejla Č

Mar 08, 2019

Plus: Very in-depth lectures, challenging assignments. Minus: The actual parallel code somewhat remains a black-box, assignments sometimes focus more on figuring out the algorithm logic which may not have anything to do with the course. Still I enjoyed it and learned a great deal.

創建者 Leitner C S E S

Nov 21, 2017

Some of the practical examples are a bit tedious, because the bigger issues you sometimes need to solve seem to be implementing a random algorithm, instead of implementing its parallelization per se. That is, the support classes for parallelizing the algorithms are pre-coded for you, while you at times spend more time figuring out how the algorithm itself needs to be implemented with that rather than coming up with these parallelization semaphores (which I would have considered more interesting, at least). But the content covered is highly relevant and first class (the authors being world-leading experts on the topic), so if you are interested in parallel programming, this is course is a great choice.

創建者 Marcin Z

Apr 16, 2019

First 3 weeks were cool, but the last week was somehow rushed and the assignment did not involve any parallel programming.

創建者 Ilya B

Jan 20, 2019

The tasks are not well designed for online education

創建者 VICTOR A

Aug 11, 2018

All but the last assignment are interesting. A fair amount of the lectures are also good, even though some of them are too theoretical - the bad lectures are the ones that focus too much into proving mathematical properties, but thankfully there is just a few of those.

The last assignment is considerably larger than the other ones and requires a physics background (or interest to do research on your own). I think they could improve it by approaching the material independently with smaller exercises before applying them again into the larger application that is built as part of the assignment today.

創建者 Sviridenko K

Mar 26, 2019

Amazing practice assignments! It was very interesting to solve them.

創建者 Denys L

Dec 10, 2018

Nice and complicated

創建者 manuel B L

Jul 22, 2018

Excelente curso...

創建者 Marek D

Aug 02, 2016

Great course. I learned things that I didn't think were possible.

創建者 Somnath B

Aug 04, 2016

Crisp and to the point. Enjoyed thoroughly

創建者 Vivek G

Aug 12, 2016

Organised and delivered elegantly.

創建者 Andronik

Jul 31, 2016

Programming assignments are somewhat challenging, but it's fun :)

創建者 Jon Z

Jun 28, 2017

Great course, thank you so much!!!

創建者 Denis A Z Q

Aug 27, 2017

Course with excellent content, methodology and teacher. It was an extraordinary learning experience

創建者 Jaeyeol S

Sep 13, 2016

Somewhat difficult course, but good to first learn parallel programming.

創建者 Bulat S

Aug 07, 2016

The material in the course is not complete, but it's perfect as introductory course in parallel programming.

創建者 Ashvin L

Apr 24, 2018

The course is fairly advanced and you would need to review the materials many times to understand the concept. The assignments are definitely fun and not as straightforward as other courses.

創建者 Artur R

May 24, 2018

This is one of the most dense and solid courses on Coursera and I really enjoyed tackling it

創建者 murmelssonic

Aug 15, 2016

Good course. The only thing I would suggest to improve is in the Assignments, the error messages are not always sufficient information to recreate the bug that caused the error, so it is hard to correct the bug (since if you don't recreate the bug, you don't find the root cause). On the other hand it's understandable, that giving away too much info from the grader makes it easier to "workaround" the failed test without necessarily providing a good solution. Tricky trade-off.

Anyway, both the lecturers do a very good job of explaining fairly complex stuff in ways that non-computer-science students can understand.

創建者 Deniss M

Oct 30, 2016

Спасибо! Thank you!

創建者 IURII B

Aug 03, 2017

Thanks!

創建者 Aliaksandr P

Jul 16, 2016

I like the course. I learned some nice ideas for parallel computations, not just Scala specific API.

To polish: sometime lectures and tasks contain many complicated but not significant details. And some important ideas are not emphasized. I had to filter the content carefully.

創建者 Animesh K

Aug 09, 2017

Cool course