Chevron Left
返回到 Parallel Programming in Java

學生對 莱斯大学 提供的 Parallel Programming in Java 的評價和反饋

4.6
stars
711 個評分
139 條評論

課程概述

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

熱門審閱

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

篩選依據:

26 - Parallel Programming in Java 的 50 個評論(共 138 個)

創建者 Qian L

Jan 24, 2018

The combination of quiz and programming assignment helps understanding the course in a quite nice way. I will finish up the other two courses for sure.

創建者 tarun n

Dec 21, 2018

The concepts like thinking about work,span,cp.amhdals law very very helpful. Although i believe there should be more examples wit code as in quiz.

創建者 John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

創建者 Serikzhan K

Jul 20, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

創建者 frishta

Oct 10, 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

創建者 Matthew

Oct 23, 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

創建者 B. M

Oct 18, 2017

Excellent course! Easily digestible and very fascinating topic. Dr. Sarkar knows his stuff and knows how to teach it!

創建者 Suresh T

Sep 12, 2018

This covers fundamentals of parallel programming and upto date with all jdk8 lambdas and functional programming

創建者 Rafał S

Jan 20, 2019

Great introduction to parallel programming in Java. Clear and well thought content. Quite challenging quizzes.

創建者 Malyik J

May 21, 2018

It was a great journey. The course material was clearly presented and it was easy to follow. I recommend it.

創建者 Arvind K G

Dec 30, 2018

Thank you for making taking the time to prepare this and making it available online on Coursera. Cheers!

創建者 Ricardo P

Oct 07, 2017

A good and concise introduction to foundations and practical concepts of parallel programming.

創建者 Keesun B

Feb 15, 2018

Very useful course to understand basic terms and syntax of parallel programming in java.

創建者 marcos h b p

Nov 11, 2019

I liked very much the material support. I found fascinating the framework PCD. Congrats

創建者 Kumar G

May 09, 2018

It's a very good course on learning the parallel programming in Java. Enjoyed it :)

創建者 Sidronio L

Jan 29, 2018

Thanks for the opportunity to learn and change my vision for construct algorithms.

創建者 Lei Y

Apr 29, 2018

simple but useful topics, practical code examples, and new features of java 8.

創建者 Travis W

Jul 23, 2018

A little easy, I don't think I spent more than 5 hours on the whole thing lol

創建者 Mr. J

Jan 12, 2018

Nicely done. Good pace. Good granularity. Appropriate level of coverage.

創建者 Robinson S

Apr 01, 2019

The course is very good, teaching in simple way several complex questions.

創建者 Lucas B

Sep 13, 2017

This is a very good general introduction to the parallel APIs with Java

創建者 Tsung T C

Jul 13, 2019

Clear instruction and concepts provided with this 4-weeks-long course.

創建者 Arun K

Nov 03, 2018

The fundamental core concepts are lucidly setforth by the teacher.

創建者 Mark F

Aug 20, 2018

Well organized and high quality videos. Nice job with this class!

創建者 Ivan K

Dec 16, 2017

Fantastic course with perfect balance between theory and practice