Chevron Left
返回到 In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting

學生對 现代艺术博物馆 提供的 In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting 的評價和反饋

4.9
626 個評分
257 個審閱

課程概述

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

熱門審閱

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

篩選依據:

76 - In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting 的 100 個評論(共 250 個)

創建者 Maureen W

Feb 11, 2018

Thank you...a million thank yous for this excellent course. Corey Augustine is brilliant, funny, easy, smart and talented and his style makes what was aways complex for me so much more understandable. I have seen Rotho, Pollock and Kooning in galleries n Toronto and Ottawa and a bit in NYC but I never really knew what I was looking at, even when it stirred me, pleased me, upset me. I am so privileged now to be introduced to meaning. I feel so lucky to have come upon this course. And my 93 year old neighbour who loves Rothko was so pleased when I told her about this course that she is checking out post-war AEE on Coursera today. I love how the course is constructed...the workshop demonstrating materials and approaches, the different voices describing the work. Brilliant!! :)

創建者 Madeline W

Nov 12, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, in particular the studio sessions showing the methods used by the featured artists. The videos prompted me to paint again, something that I have not done for some considerable time. I now need to plan a holiday in New York and a visit to MOMA to see the art for myself. Thank you

創建者 Melissa H

May 24, 2017

Phenomenal course. Thank you!!

創建者 Jan M

Jun 14, 2017

I have always loved the NY abstract expressionists therefore this course gave me the opportunity to learn and appreciate these painters in so much more detail. Also, learning how these artists painted and practicing their techniques has helped me build a much stronger connection to this vital transitional art movement, as well as the artists intentions and concepts. Each artist of study was unique. I really enjoyed our presenter and teacher Cory. He explained everything really well with such conviction. I also enjoyed how the course was set up with information from different sources, recommendations and then the chance to comment and discuss with other course members. As soon as I know I was at the end of the cause, I found myself looking for another one. This is my first online course and I am very happy and inspired to do another one on painters that includes studio practice.

創建者 Roberto B

May 17, 2017

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

創建者 Valerie L V

May 22, 2017

Amazing course, precise but deep at the same time, beautifully designed with a really interesting selection of painters. Corey is a GREAT teacher, very clear, very smart and inspiring. I enjoyed a lot!

創建者 Tatiana P P

Sep 22, 2017

I really liked it! I hope MoMa could offer more courses like this one in the future, with studio time. I would definitely enrol and highly recommend them.

創建者 cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

創建者 Martijn d L

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent introductions, great teacher and very motivating course.

Highly recommended!

創建者 Joan C

Feb 11, 2018

Wish there were more than 5 stars! This was a fabulous program offered by MoMA. I would highly recommend it to any artist interested in Abstraction. It would be wonderful to add even more artists to learn about. Franz Kline, Joan Mitchell and Helen Frankenthaler would be my choices to add, yes please!

創建者 Shane T

Jan 14, 2018

I am almost half way through this course and am enjoying it immensely. The videos are excellent and the lecturers are knowledgeable and engaging.

創建者 Maura S

Jul 14, 2017

Extraordinary class!

A self-taught artist of eight years, I found I didn't really "get" abstract expressionism. This course as presented gave me a much deeper appreciation for the historical impact of this movement as well as a greater understanding of techniques employed, thanks to Corey D'Augustine's weekly "In the studio" video sessions. In fact, those videos, in particular, gave me the confidence to work in oils, which I had never attempted before, and validated my own instincts in working in the abstract world. What's more, the readings and images studied by these seven artists informed my appreciation for the AbEx movement and, hopefully, my ability to not sound like a dumba$$ when discussing AbEx or other forms of art as the course also provided a deeper introduction into technical terminology and evaluatative (is that a word?) procedures.

I highly recommend this course to those artists wanting to enhance their works, and also to those on the critical / commercial side of the art world seeking to deepen their understanding of the AbEx movement and become more informed about different painting processes in general.

創建者 Patricia B

Jul 31, 2017

Terrific! this course inspired me to paint again.

創建者 Maxine C

Jun 18, 2018

I learned so much valuable information from this course; information and ideas that I will never forget. I got an opportunity to expand the avenues of expression within my art and that to me is priceless. Thank you MOMA and thank you Coursera.

創建者 Ma. K C D C

Nov 20, 2017

Definitely my favorite course taken on coursera so far. It gives the learner a new perspective in appreciating abstract expressionist paintngs. It also tackles in depth the processes of the artists discussed in the course. The opportunity to make your own version of the works that were discussed gives the learners a new appreciation of the famous pieces. I am hoping to see more courses by MoMA similar to this one. WIll definitely enroll in more of these.

創建者 KIRSTEN M

Nov 04, 2017

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

創建者 Sophie f

Sep 06, 2017

Excellent course. Corey D'Augustine was a superb lecturer and coach. Cannot recommend it enough.

創建者 Jacquelyn M E

Dec 11, 2017

This was a great course!

創建者 Daniella R

May 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this enriching and inspiring course. The material shared is so valuable and the teachers and exponents are really good. A life changing experience to learn to observe an artwork, exploring deeper into the artists' lives and vision.

創建者 Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

創建者 Irenepecchio

Jan 17, 2018

Very interesting and stimulant course!

創建者 F. S M B

May 23, 2017

Excellent materials, from the reading texts to the video lessons, all very well explain and engaging. Its good for all artists beginners and professional artists.

創建者 Barbara K

May 21, 2018

Great experience, I learnt a lot about artists, techniques, composition and more. I already recommended this course several times! Barbara

創建者 Christa B

Sep 23, 2017

It was perfect and I got a lot out of it - marvellous,

創建者 Robyn L

May 14, 2017

A comprehensive and fascinating investigation of Postwar Abstract Painting. Features seven key artists who work using a range of techniques and represents the diversity of these artists. Presenters are very engaging, interesting, informative and enjoyable to watch. I really enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations of the artists' methods by Corey D'Augustine.