Chevron Left
返回到 Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music

學生對 伯克利音乐学院 提供的 Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music 的評價和反饋

4.4
356 個評分
78 條評論

課程概述

This course shares practical tips and strategies to help you take your first step into launching your career as a musical artist. We’ll cover everything from developing your unique identity as an artist and how to lead a band all the way to planning and recording your first independent record with the help of crowdfunding. The course curriculum is modeled from the real-world experience of Leah Waldo (also known as the emerging country artist, Elisa Smith) and features interviews with industry executives, artists, producers, and engineers — all designed to help you navigate the music industry....

熱門審閱

AA
2020年10月3日

This course has helped me a lot in finding put the driving forces to accomplish my career goal as a musician. Moreover it helped me to identify the various music brand partnership around the globe.

AM
2020年7月16日

This course is really helpful for those who want to build a career in music or want to build a band and managing them. Great Class, simple concepts, and connecting it all to your dream.

篩選依據:

51 - Building Your Career in Music: Developing A Brand and Funding Your Music 的 75 個評論(共 76 個)

創建者 Brett M H

2018年8月14日

I really love this course and think Leah Waldo's perspective as a musician is vital to understanding how to navigate the music business. I feel like this is part of Course 4 mixed with an actual musician's experience and guidance. It was really nice to feel like Leah understood that everything she was teaching was just a reflection of herself and her own experiences. I really appreciated this course even though she is a country music performer and I create beats - I felt like she cut through a lot of the crap that I might face as just a random student/musician in this course. As a producer, I felt like I was able to learn so much valuable information about how I need to navigate the music business even though I might be unaccustomed to that point of view. It made me think differently, and also allowed me to connect with a different genre of music. Leah was really good at emphasizing that the IVI is important to an artist and I think that translates to anyone trying to do something creative so it was one lesson that I pulled out of the whole course and can apply to almost anything creative. Learning about networking was also vital in teaching me about how I can extend my social sphere and try to reach out to my audience on a small and larger level.

創建者 Andrew A

2020年4月9日

It was ok. Good to get some practice to help students I teach. The final project asks you to pick one component in the initial description, then expects you have done all components after you have submitted the project... so that was less good. This course is done from the perspective of an artist, with only industry people the artist has worked with being brought in. If you want the industry insider (producer, marketer, social media expert) experience, this is not it.

創建者 James N

2020年6月22日

This is useful for those who need guidance on artist identity and vision and is new to the process of recording, collaborating, producers, setting article goals and the business side of working as an artist. This doesn't go massively into the detail one would want from a more experienced angle, but I enjoyed this reliably less-intensive Berklee course.

創建者 Olga L

2020年12月23日

It was a good course, but gets too deep into subjects that aren't suitable for beginners. There are so many things to consider before thinking about crowdfunding for example. However, it was good to learn.

創建者 Elena T

2020年8月26日

As a Marketing student, I have to admit that I really liked this course.

It gave me a clearer idea of the music industry and suggestions from a Marketing perspective on how to promote an artist!

創建者 Jeffrey T N

2020年7月9日

Very good material for singer/songwriter with a small band wanting to make their first recording, or a budding artist planning to put something together.

創建者 LeAttol ( E L

2018年1月8日

This course seems silly at first But it's an eye opener, Especially to the idea that the business seems a bit off kilter and over enthusiastic

創建者 Dan C

2018年7月27日

This is a good course. I really appreciated used her personal experience as a living case study to teach and demonstrate the material.

創建者 Abu S M F

2020年6月15日

You get to know a lot about crowdfunding, would like more in-depth methods and mechanics

創建者 James c

2020年7月30日

Informative and good advice. Thanks alot

創建者 AADIL K

2020年7月1日

Great course

創建者 Stephanie A

2020年9月28日

I took this course as part of the Music Business Specialization and am not a musical artist myself. This course was geared towards musical artists and although I learned a lot of valuable information, some of the assignments were unnecessary for someone in my position including the final project. They should consider making it so non-artists can just do the peer-review portion and not the submission.

創建者 Rohit V R

2020年7月29日

Instead of making me sit through Q&A sessions, I felt that these sessions could be used as research for the instructor and put forward to me as a more comprehensive maybe point wise instructions on what I need to do so I can make better note of things.

創建者 Karel P

2020年8月30日

Creo que el curso tiene algunos conceptos desactualizados y otros muy personales. Por ejemplo, existen muchos casos de éxito de artistas cuyos ingresos dependen solo del streaming.

創建者 Elihú R M

2019年1月22日

Esta bueno el curso; sin embargo, tiene algunos errores como la entrega final.

創建者 Andrés F G

2020年7月8日

Its cool, but I would like that the instructor already have more trayectory

創建者 Leonardo R

2020年10月22日

Good... but basic, not updated and not deep

創建者 Juan C C L

2020年9月18日

Good intention, good vibe. Nice try.

創建者 Eileen

2020年5月20日

This course is good for someone who is just starting out in their artist journey and is geared for someone who is a vocalist who is also a band leader. The budgeting and networking tips are very rudimentary and could have been left out, in my opinion, in place of more artist-relevant things - there are much better resources out there for learning these skills. The thesis in the first week about not seeing the "business" side of your artistic endeavors as a chore that is separate from your creative side as well as making sure you have a cohesive "elevator pitch" that shows your identity, vision and intention was good. Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there.

創建者 ASHNA G

2020年7月5日

Good course i wish it should have social media tips to build brand in music instagram

創建者 Mohammad K H

2020年6月2日

The full course is boring,.The total course is based and focused on the lecturar.

創建者 Daniela Z Q

2020年9月28日

DO NOT, please DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME (& MONEY) IN THIS COURSE. IT'S OUTDATED and BORING. The instructor just talks about her band ALL THE TIME, and is not even a big or a good band, they have barely 8 listeners per month on Spotify. So how can you trust her? She also talks about growing your fan base by asking people for their email to make email lists..... really??? is 2020 not 2008. This course does not teach you anything you can't google and I'm pretty sure you could get better results and ideas there, or watching youtube videos.

創建者 Brianna S

2020年6月29日

I hate to give such a negative review, but I think this course is an absolute waste of time. First off, this is in the music business specialization on Coursera, however this course is really made for artists and not managers (like myself) or anyone else in the music field. In addition, the course is basically making you follow the steps that Leah did in her career, but when I researched her band I found that they are not successful in the slightest. Therefore this kind of invalidates the course as a whole.

創建者 Kaitlyn C

2020年4月27日

I'm taking the Music Business Specialization to learn more about the music industry and hopefully get information on artist management. This course is for musicians or bands and the prompts and final project focus directly on what to do as an artist. I found it very difficult to take this course and to answer the discussion questions not being a musician.

創建者 Manuela S O

2020年8月30日

This course is to focus on artist to be part of this specialization. Some lectures are pretty lame and bored. And if your are planning to become an artist manager, or working around an artist is useful, but questions are focused on you as an artist and it's impossible to develop the complete course without feeling alien.