Chevron Left
返回到 Mountains 101

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Mountains 101 的評價和反饋

4.9
1,685 個評分
627 條評論

課程概述

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

熱門審閱

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

JJ

Aug 01, 2020

Incredibly well-produced set of videos that are highly educational, well-rounded, beautiful, and interesting. I hope it leaves you wanting to both visit and protect these places, as it did for me.

篩選依據:

76 - Mountains 101 的 100 個評論(共 623 個)

創建者 Kimberly F

Jul 30, 2017

A great course for an intro to mountains! You get a little bit of everything from geology, history, biology, wildlife, culture, evolution and conservation as well as handy tips for hiking in the mountains. The modules were easy to follow, the instructors easy to understand, and each lesson was accompanied by beautiful graphics, and interviews with professionals that helped to make it feel like you were there. Can't wait to take Mountains 201!

創建者 Goh T Y

Jun 28, 2020

Being from a country with limited mountains, I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I've always loved the outdoors, and this course allowed me to understand mountains better despite not being in close proximity with them. The scientific concepts were clearly explained, and I enjoyed how the course was very interdisciplinary. Being a humanities student myself, I really enjoyed the elaborations on how mountains shaped cultures, literature and art.

創建者 Michelle P

Aug 01, 2020

A top-notch course that I would highly recommend for everyone. The cross-disciplinary content made the learning process both intriguing and an absolute delight. The material covered was deeply fascinating, with practical tips that anyone can apply. The breathtaking imagery left me totally inspired. I really didn't want this course to end! A big thank you to the Mountains 101 team and the University of Alberta. Got any more up your sleeve?

創建者 Lawrence S

Jul 14, 2017

I truly enjoyed the course. It tackles a lot of disciplines from geology to history to social and they introduced relevant experts from those fields. The photos during the videos were also beautiful and they provided a pleasant experience while the instructors were discussing. This course is well developed and well produced and I consider one of the best MOOCs I have taken so far. Congratulations to the team for this magnificent work!

創建者 Ophelia

Oct 03, 2017

I found the course to be informative with just the right amount of difficulty, requiring me to pay close attention to the lectures and those interviewed. I was amazed over how much I learned and the absolute necessity of mountains and the ecosystem!

I commend the lecturers and the interviewees for their obvious devotion and commitment to the preservation of mountains and their habitats.

Without hesitation I give the course 5 Stars!

創建者 Dar M

Jan 29, 2017

This was such a wonderful and informative course. I love the mountains and travel frequently around the world to experience mountains in other places as much as I can. The videos were put together wonderfully with different speakers and resources, such a great collaborative effort. Education and awareness is so important for sustainability. I also really enjoyed the interactive maps and tech tips. Really great course all around.

創建者 Marie S

Sep 11, 2020

Mountains 101 is an excellent interdisciplinary survey of every subject about the mountains. The instructors delivered interesting, easy to understand lectures, which were accompanied by entertaining videos, particularly of the Canadian Rockies. Can't wait to get out on the trails again to explore some more, learn more in nature's inviting laboratory, and check out some of the many references they recommended. Thank you!

創建者 Ramyashree A H

Apr 22, 2020

Wonderful couse!! I am a postgraduate (M.Tech) student from India. In high school I was very much interested in geography. I would like to mark places on my country map and world map. I chose engineering because I love maths and physics. But topics like geography, history, sports etc are my subjects of happiness and curiosity. I don't study them as my subjects, rather I enjoy watching videos in free time. Thank you !!!

創建者 Cole M

May 12, 2020

As an Environmental Sciences student, now employed with Parks Canada as an intern, I see huge benefits of the information I've been able to absorb from this course. Relative knowledge reinforced, and confidence to take on more of the mountain terrains. I feel that this course has given me more than just the taught information, but installed a deeper respect for our mountainous regions and all the life within them.

創建者 Dawn S

Jun 17, 2020

This was an awesome course! Filled with insight and beauty and an appreciation for Canada and its stance on conservation! The professors both kept me captivated and I enjoyed every lesson and seeing your PM at the end was awesome! I am going to miss this course but I have gained so much by taking it thank you for giving me an even greater appreciation for the mountains, in my eyes they are the footstools for God.

創建者 David P D

Jun 05, 2019

An outstanding applied geography of mountains that deals with the physical, ecological, and human dimensions, with practical advice on how to experience mountains firsthand. The course makes great use of current and historical photography, diagrams, animations, pop-quizes during recorded lectures, and interactive maps. It sets a high bar for self-paced courses in terms of content, pacing, and use of the platform.

創建者 Stephen B

Aug 24, 2020

Such a fantastic course!!!

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of it. The instructors are excellent, the material interesting and well presented and the interactive maps and tech tips added much to the learning and experience of the course. The images and interviews with various subject matter experts added to the quality of learning. I am sad to have finished the course because it has been so enjoyable.

創建者 Blake F

Aug 26, 2020

The course is super comprehensive and leaves you with an overall greater appreciation for the majesty of our planets mountains, and the processes that occur within their ecosystems. Not only do you feel more knowledgeable about the ecological processes of mountains and their formation, but the course also gives you a broad range of perspectives when it comes to living in and adapting to mountain life.

創建者 Richard E

Apr 11, 2020

Very educational survey course for non-Science majors. No complaints as I knew what I was getting into. It would be interesting for me to attend a follow-up course with some Geochemistry, Math, and computing skills (Python, R, SQL, etc.) required. Excellent presentation of issues related to human activity and various cultures. Quite educational. References provided for deeper dives. Recommended!

創建者 Gordon W

Jul 17, 2017

Amazing Course! Interesting and Eye-opening course of mountains. The courses touches on many different aspect of mountains, which I very enjoyed. As well as a bonus, I got to learn about many different mountains across the world and lots of tips for travelling and hiking in the mountains (which I plan to do in the near future, after seeing how beautiful and magnificent they are from this course)!

創建者 amit a

Nov 02, 2017

This course gave me a holistic understanding of the various aspects of mountains viz. historical,cultural, geological and ecological. The course is very well researched and the speakers are well acquainted with the subject. I would thank University of Alberta and Coursera for such a wonderful experience. I am looking forward for future courses which cover Himalayan mountains in detail. Thank you.

創建者 Mayukh S

Jun 02, 2020

The course was very interesting .The map pointings activity which showed different landforms across the globe, their beautiful interesting pictures,various diverse landscapes the class notes, the teachings of the instructors were so good!!!I The class seemed a real one. I learned a lot and it was very detailed,informative ,creative and a flexible one even in terms of grading and schedule.

創建者 PIETRO B

May 03, 2020

Hi, I'm Pietro from Italy. As a mountain lover I really liked this course, it makes me love even more this environment and push me te do even more to make whatever is possible to protect it. I hope in the future to come to Canada and visit al the beautiful national parks that I've seen. Again thank you very much I really appreciate a lot this course and I will recommend it to my friends.

創建者 Michelle O

Feb 01, 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

創建者 Chris S

Jul 08, 2020

This was one of the most phenomenal online courses I've ever taken. They have high engagement, production value, and information specificity. This really is a magnificent starting point for anyone interested in mountains, ecology, the outdoors, etc.; I would recommend this to just about anyone. Kudos and thanks so much for some of the most enjoyable learning I've experienced in years!

創建者 Ricky A N

Jul 30, 2020

Excellent with a broad and well-balanced coverage of a wide scope of issues on all aspects of mountains. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I learned much and extended my knowledge in areas already familiar to me. I also now have many additional ideas for ongoing study, research and travel related to topics covered in this course. Thank you for a rewarding and enriching experience!

創建者 Oleh H

Aug 12, 2019

It was a fascinating journey, but also a very insightful one. I learned a lot about the great job that scientists and park employees are doing in Canada, and had thoughts of how those or similar strategies could be implemented in my native Carpathian Mountains in Ukraine. Mountains are the greatest gift of nature which we must preserve and enjoy. "Take photograps, leave footprints".

創建者 Christopher W

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

創建者 Brian P N

May 22, 2020

The information and its presentation were well done! From concise and digestible info from the course professors, to the awesome tech tips as well as the interactive mountain world, Mountains 101 hit just the right note. Focusing on the interdisciplinary methodology to studying ecology and mountains was insightful, and the surprise message from a guest at the finale was amazing!

創建者 Lynne F

May 08, 2017

I took this for my own enjoyment. I grew up outside Edmonton and would go to Jasper/area and Wilmore Wilderness any chance I got! A family I knew as a child instilled in me their love and respect for the mountains, the plants and rocks and animals in the area. I would love this on a disc or memory stick so I could watch it all again. Thank You so much! Great presentation!