Chevron Left
返回到 Mountains 101

學生對 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Mountains 101 的評價和反饋

4.9
1,185 個評分
441 條評論

課程概述

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

熱門審閱

SK

Dec 23, 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

TY

Apr 21, 2020

Awesome content and video production. Very interesting and covers a wide range of topics. As some that enjoys mountain recreations, it is a good primer on the environment I spend so much time in.

篩選依據:

51 - Mountains 101 的 75 個評論(共 439 個)

創建者 Kathleen S

Feb 13, 2017

This is an excellent class for the basics of mountain geography. I took this out of interest only, not for a grade or college credit, and enjoyed it very much and even learned a thing or two. The cinematography was beautiful and the lessons delivered in an interesting format. Both instructors were excellent and passionate about what they were discussing. Well done!!! and thank you for offering this FREE class to the world. Well worth the time & effort! Nevada, USA

創建者 Rich W

May 13, 2020

This course is really fantastic. I love the mountains and found that I was being taught more about topics I'd already thought about an introduced to a range of new ones that I hadn't considered.The lecturers and presenters are engaging, the quality is immensely high and its clear that there's a deep love of the mountains folded throughout the entire course.I would highly recommend Mountains 101 and will definitely be looking into how I can take my learning further.

創建者 Istafa S

Aug 25, 2017

This course was really well done! The content was really interesting with many guests that were relevant to the topic being discussed covering an interdisciplinary view of mountains and their significance. As a result of this course, I will now be looking into Masters programs offered at the University of Alberta so that I too can be a part of the great research happening at this university. Thank you truly to the creators and all those involved with this course.

創建者 Odysseas C

Nov 25, 2019

Amazing course. Despite the fact I come from an entirely different background (Marketing) I enrolled because I am a landscape photographer and I wanted to enrich my knowledge on the place I like to spend my time the most, Mountains. It helped me gain important practical knowledge that will me help better prepare my next trips to nature, gain further respect and admiration for Mountains and dwelve deeper in their biological importance, history and understanding.

創建者 Εleftherios K

May 24, 2020

An exceptional, multidisciplinary course on mountain science and culture. It is engaging, very well organized and thought-provoking. The amount of science material presented is just perfect and the interviews featured added an extra 'flavor' to the lectures. I loved the mountain tips at the end of every lesson and of course, the video production and scenery was breath-taking! I had an amazing time learning new concepts and practices. Thank you so much!

創建者 Kristopher A

Apr 04, 2017

This course was one of the best produced ones that I have seen on Coursera. The production quality of the videos is very professional and they interview experts in many different fields(history, literature, meteorology, biologists, etc.) to provide a very interdisciplinary view on the topic of the course. The quizzes aren't very challenging but they suggested plenty of supplemental material for those that want to learn more about the subject.

創建者 Kimberly F

Jul 30, 2017

A great course for an intro to mountains! You get a little bit of everything from geology, history, biology, wildlife, culture, evolution and conservation as well as handy tips for hiking in the mountains. The modules were easy to follow, the instructors easy to understand, and each lesson was accompanied by beautiful graphics, and interviews with professionals that helped to make it feel like you were there. Can't wait to take Mountains 201!

創建者 Lawrence S

Jul 14, 2017

I truly enjoyed the course. It tackles a lot of disciplines from geology to history to social and they introduced relevant experts from those fields. The photos during the videos were also beautiful and they provided a pleasant experience while the instructors were discussing. This course is well developed and well produced and I consider one of the best MOOCs I have taken so far. Congratulations to the team for this magnificent work!

創建者 Ophelia

Oct 03, 2017

I found the course to be informative with just the right amount of difficulty, requiring me to pay close attention to the lectures and those interviewed. I was amazed over how much I learned and the absolute necessity of mountains and the ecosystem!

I commend the lecturers and the interviewees for their obvious devotion and commitment to the preservation of mountains and their habitats.

Without hesitation I give the course 5 Stars!

創建者 Dar M

Jan 29, 2017

This was such a wonderful and informative course. I love the mountains and travel frequently around the world to experience mountains in other places as much as I can. The videos were put together wonderfully with different speakers and resources, such a great collaborative effort. Education and awareness is so important for sustainability. I also really enjoyed the interactive maps and tech tips. Really great course all around.

創建者 Ramyashree A H

Apr 22, 2020

Wonderful couse!! I am a postgraduate (M.Tech) student from India. In high school I was very much interested in geography. I would like to mark places on my country map and world map. I chose engineering because I love maths and physics. But topics like geography, history, sports etc are my subjects of happiness and curiosity. I don't study them as my subjects, rather I enjoy watching videos in free time. Thank you !!!

創建者 Cole M

May 12, 2020

As an Environmental Sciences student, now employed with Parks Canada as an intern, I see huge benefits of the information I've been able to absorb from this course. Relative knowledge reinforced, and confidence to take on more of the mountain terrains. I feel that this course has given me more than just the taught information, but installed a deeper respect for our mountainous regions and all the life within them.

創建者 David P D

Jun 05, 2019

An outstanding applied geography of mountains that deals with the physical, ecological, and human dimensions, with practical advice on how to experience mountains firsthand. The course makes great use of current and historical photography, diagrams, animations, pop-quizes during recorded lectures, and interactive maps. It sets a high bar for self-paced courses in terms of content, pacing, and use of the platform.

創建者 Richard E

Apr 11, 2020

Very educational survey course for non-Science majors. No complaints as I knew what I was getting into. It would be interesting for me to attend a follow-up course with some Geochemistry, Math, and computing skills (Python, R, SQL, etc.) required. Excellent presentation of issues related to human activity and various cultures. Quite educational. References provided for deeper dives. Recommended!

創建者 Gordon W

Jul 17, 2017

Amazing Course! Interesting and Eye-opening course of mountains. The courses touches on many different aspect of mountains, which I very enjoyed. As well as a bonus, I got to learn about many different mountains across the world and lots of tips for travelling and hiking in the mountains (which I plan to do in the near future, after seeing how beautiful and magnificent they are from this course)!

創建者 amit a

Nov 02, 2017

This course gave me a holistic understanding of the various aspects of mountains viz. historical,cultural, geological and ecological. The course is very well researched and the speakers are well acquainted with the subject. I would thank University of Alberta and Coursera for such a wonderful experience. I am looking forward for future courses which cover Himalayan mountains in detail. Thank you.

創建者 PIETRO B

May 03, 2020

Hi, I'm Pietro from Italy. As a mountain lover I really liked this course, it makes me love even more this environment and push me te do even more to make whatever is possible to protect it. I hope in the future to come to Canada and visit al the beautiful national parks that I've seen. Again thank you very much I really appreciate a lot this course and I will recommend it to my friends.

創建者 Michelle O

Feb 01, 2019

Thank you for creating this fantastic course! I loved the interdisciplinary approach, and the many segments featuring experts from various areas of mountain research. Professors Hik and Robinson also did a great job of guiding through the course material. Overall I learned a great deal about mountains, which will inform my own projects going forward. I recommend this course to everyone!

創建者 Oleh H

Aug 12, 2019

It was a fascinating journey, but also a very insightful one. I learned a lot about the great job that scientists and park employees are doing in Canada, and had thoughts of how those or similar strategies could be implemented in my native Carpathian Mountains in Ukraine. Mountains are the greatest gift of nature which we must preserve and enjoy. "Take photograps, leave footprints".

創建者 Christopher W

Feb 02, 2019

Mountains 101 provided a broad, interdisciplinary review of topics pertaining to mountains. The course instructors presented the material in a way that was both informative and interesting. The visual accompaniments to the lessons which depicted terminology or a biological/geological process were outstanding. I would recommend this course for anyone with an interest in mountains.

創建者 Brian P N

May 22, 2020

The information and its presentation were well done! From concise and digestible info from the course professors, to the awesome tech tips as well as the interactive mountain world, Mountains 101 hit just the right note. Focusing on the interdisciplinary methodology to studying ecology and mountains was insightful, and the surprise message from a guest at the finale was amazing!

創建者 Lynne F

May 08, 2017

I took this for my own enjoyment. I grew up outside Edmonton and would go to Jasper/area and Wilmore Wilderness any chance I got! A family I knew as a child instilled in me their love and respect for the mountains, the plants and rocks and animals in the area. I would love this on a disc or memory stick so I could watch it all again. Thank You so much! Great presentation!

創建者 Ron T

Apr 01, 2017

🍻Absolutely Amazing 👍👍I was worried about taking any sort of U Of A course in the past. Now after taking a step out of my comfort zone and Clicking the signup button😬 I was amazed how well the course was put together. It challenged me to think and view different perspectives at the same time I was learning tons of new and exciting things.

Thank you. Keep them coming.

Ron

創建者 Kim S

Apr 03, 2017

Very informative and interesting course! The pictures were incredible & made it easy to stay focused and engaged....I forgot that I was on a computer :) The interviews with researchers & professionals from different universities, Parks Canada etc. were great learning tools. It opened my eyes to the amount of research being done to protect our mountains and their ecosystems.

創建者 David G

May 07, 2020

The Mountains 101 course was outstanding! Both professors did an excellent job of presenting all of the material, and the guests were amazing as well. I really feel more inspired and humbled by the majesty of the world's mountains and their importance. Thanks so much for such an extraordinary class! I wish you all of the best, and continued success in your efforts.