Chevron Left
返回到 现代与后现代(第 1 部分)

學生對 卫斯连大学 提供的 现代与后现代(第 1 部分) 的評價和反饋

4.8
588 個評分
130 個審閱

課程概述

This course examines how the idea of "the modern" develops at the end of the 18th century in European philosophy and literature, and how being modern (or progressive, or hip) became one of the crucial criteria for understanding and evaluating cultural change. Are we still in modernity, or have we moved beyond the modern to the postmodern?...

熱門審閱

NM

Jan 08, 2016

One of the best professors i've ever come across! If the teacher is so passionate about the subject material as well as conveying the ideas, the course will be excellent. This is one of those courses.

AR

Dec 25, 2017

I Like How Professor Roth remains objective throughout the course without letting his personal opinions hindering his teaching in any way.Enjoyed the course Very much!Highly recommend.

篩選依據:

1 - 现代与后现代(第 1 部分) 的 25 個評論(共 133 個)

創建者 Susannah R

Feb 01, 2018

The lectures were excellent, and I really enjoyed the course... However:

the reading was always quoted at 10 minutes per week, when often the reading was much longer, and was complex ideas,so quite a slow read. Madame Bovary in 10 minutes? I don't think so. More like 10 hours.

Now I know that by writing essays the info really sticks, and the understanding is greater. But this is a part time interest for me. After two essays, I had had enough, so I just watched the lectures from that point forward.

創建者 성수민

Jul 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, professor! you have the perfect sense of humor!

創建者 Joyce U

Jul 04, 2019

For me as an Artist; I am challenged , having to listen to the lectures several times to get it. The professor's presentations are AWESOME. The knowledge that I am acquiring is well worth it. It has been a few weeks... struggling so not being able to complete the essays; I tried to at least finish the lectures. I wasn't allowed, disappointed.

創建者 Martín S F

Jul 04, 2019

Very interesting course and bibliography.

創建者 Serkan B A

Jun 04, 2019

It might be one of the best courses I've ever taken online. There were some minor errors in English subtitles, and to be honest, I hate peer-review system, but overall, it was great! Would definitely recommend it.

創建者 Lewis H

May 02, 2019

Fantastic course. I really appreciate the instructor's attention to detail and narrative ability. The topics covered in this class were diverse and interesting. I will certainly be signing up for the second part of this course.

創建者 Fable Z

Apr 03, 2019

That is very good class

創建者 Shams

Mar 09, 2019

If it is possible I would give the course 10 stars not just 5 !

I came from a very different background, I'm a pharmacist from Middle East - Egypt- where English is not my mother tongue. But this course has given me the type of knowledge I was searching for not knowing where to find it .

A very interesting to-the-point presentation for western history ... serves the different ideas in the course which covers almost the remarkable thinkers we hear about with the key ideas for them .

I think this course is a must for everyone interested in the history of modern ideas and how we became what we are .

I'm studying now part ii and looking forward to join more courses about that topic .

Special thanks for Mr.Michael S. Roth for his interesting way in lectures and mastery this topic every will.

創建者 James

Feb 28, 2019

awesome

創建者 EFRIN G

Feb 19, 2019

Simply excellent course!

It is dynamic, well constructed and easy to follow.

The essays are challenging and focus on the materials.

創建者 Chris P

Feb 17, 2019

Cool ideas. Very engaging instructor. Finally I understand the Simpson's and the odd Nietzschean qualities of our modern and post-modern world.

創建者 Eric N

Jan 28, 2019

Excellent but perhaps too many books to read! Reading three or four novels is unrealistic for such a course.

創建者 Warren C

Jan 25, 2019

Fascinating overview of what 'Modern' might mean.

創建者 Коныхова А Л

Jan 16, 2019

Потрясающий лектор! Очень интересный курс!

創建者 Peter F

Dec 16, 2018

A great and accomplished scholar presents his subject matter in a compelling way.

創建者 Julia P

Dec 06, 2018

Very insightful.

創建者 Малахов И В

Nov 08, 2018

The course is very good. Thank you.

創建者 Fogan A

Oct 26, 2018

Help know how was the modern time, and the different school of thought that forged it...

創建者 Cecilia P T

Oct 13, 2018

Amazing course! Professor Roth guides you through philosophy, history, literature and art in depth but also in a simple, enjoyable way!

It took me more than seven weeks to complete the course as there were some readings to be done which were quite time-consuming and having a full-time job it wasn't always easy to devote as much time as needed to this pretty demanding course, but I enjoyed every lecture and managed to always find even the tiniest bit of time to watch the videos and complete the assignments.

It's been a great experience so far, I'm looking forward to Part 2 now!

創建者 Mohammad A

Oct 06, 2018

Very well-structured and brilliantly taught. If philosophy/sociology/cultural studies interest you but you've never had a chance to learn it in a progressive, structured sequence, then this course is for you. This will help you make wholistic sense of ideas and place them in reference to one another.

創建者 Elif S

Sep 11, 2018

Excellent course! Very motivating and inspiring lectures. I am more than glad to have found this course and i will be continuing with Part II for certain. Thank you!

創建者 Wang Z

Jul 10, 2018

A very comprehensive introduction about modern philosophy, etc.

創建者 Tammy H

Jun 13, 2018

Love the course so much. I've already known a little bit about every thinker and writer mentioned in the course but haven't noticed how they are related to each other. Now everything makes so much sense! :D Although it's a bit hard to catch up since my mother tongue is not English, I'm very happy to learn many new words. Thanks for everyone who makes the course online! :)

創建者 Claiton V V d S

May 30, 2018

Perfect!!

創建者 Calvin E

Mar 20, 2018

Very interesting subject matter, and the course was well organized and accessible. Would recommend taking the course to those interested in late Western philosophy.