Chevron Left
返回到 Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony 的評價和反饋

4.7
49 個評分
29 條評論

課程概述

This course is about how music works. It is about the relationship between the technical and aesthetic details of music. It is also about how developing a meaningful theoretical vocabulary can help you think and talk about musical style, and how learning that vocabulary can expand your appreciation for music. In this course you will learn music theory not by looking at theory itself, but by listening to, looking at, and—yes!—writing your own musical examples. By hearing, seeing, and writing yourself, you will learn about classical, modern, ancient, pop, jazz, and folk styles. Through lectures, relevant examples, and numerous practice assignments, we will examine fundamental aspects of melody. We will move into working with two voices and counterpoint, and finally to three voices and the beginnings of harmonic function. This is an intermediate-level course for musicians and composers who already have some understanding of music theory through previous study. If you are a musician or composer looking to build a deeper understanding of music theory for composing, performing, or improvisation, you have come to the right place. If you are an amateur lover of music or, perhaps, play a musical instrument and want to develop a deeper sense of appreciation for music theory, aesthetics, and history, you are also in the right place!...

熱門審閱

HS

May 06, 2020

It's not simply a course but it's a journey through decades of music. What a fun way to learn! Especially with such an interactive and amazing instructor.

PR

Mar 29, 2020

A very useful and interesting overview to melody and harmony. I loved Marc's sense of humour. It has motivated me to study the subject in more depth.

篩選依據:

1 - Approaching Music Theory: Melodic Forms and Simple Harmony 的 25 個評論(共 30 個)

創建者 Chris

Aug 09, 2019

I very much enjoyed this course. However, I will need more practice before I will automatically see all these things in the music I am studying.

I chose it primarily for the harmony part. I was pleasantly

surprised how helpful the first two weeks were for my general understanding of music and how the pointers

really helped me for composing music. I feel much more structured and oriented now, should I endeavour in writing music.

It also helped my analytical skills a lot. This is mostly due to the peer review assignments I had to review. This role change brought me a further understanding on the concepts treated in class.

As for counterpoint and harmony, it was a good start. I fell in love with counterpoint in particular and maybe got a bit addicted.

The harmony part was interesting to me - however, I feel we rushed a bit through the concepts. I would love to deepen my understanding there. this section could benefit from more exercises, not only the finals.

Also, the part tested in the finals is a very small aspect of what was treated in that lecture - to really understand the lecture I would like some more assignments.

If there is a follow-up course

available, I would be extremly interested!

On the structure& formal things:

I think the structure over all was very good. The "see one-do one-teach one" principle is very well applied and the course offers maximum teaching success given its online, remote form.

The questions in the forum were always answered quickly and well so.

To my feeling, the course's concept suffers a bit from the relatively low number of participants. In particular in week 3 & 4 there are not enough projects to review. I suggest that older projects from former students are still available to the new ones

as to counteract this partiular issue.

The class is definitely for people who have already practised music over several years and have had basic theory education. Otherwise, the exercises, especially imitating composing styles, would be nearly impossible with only the instructions given.

The hours indicated are but an indication. Writing music AND reviewing other people's music takes more time. In week 4 had to stop the video repeatedly to catch up with what was discussed and write down my thoughts, needed ca double the time.

Especially week 2 + 3 kicked my butt time-wise.

I was irked by the strong use of spotify and the link to academia.edu. The latter appears untrustworthy from the amount of data it collects from its users, and spotify also needs an account. Given that this class is an education, I would appreciate open source/open access platforms or simply hosting the music on coursera.

As a lost note, about week 1.5 I got used to the instructors humour and now it is an integral part of the fun in the class for me. Help!

創建者 Jan D

Jun 19, 2020

I can't overemphasize how good this course is. It's extremely well thought out. Thank you so much for making this available to a broader public!

創建者 Tony B

Sep 12, 2019

Fantastic course! This course approaches music theory from a totally different angle. Hear it first and then look at the music score.

創建者 Joy S

May 06, 2019

I thought I left a review for this. Strange.

創建者 Rafael M J

Feb 17, 2020

In first place, I have to say that the time required is much higher than 3-6 hours/week. At least for those of us not proficient at sight reading, writing and reading music, which is an important part of the exercises, takes a lot of time. I found useful to use a program to generate music scores.

The spirit of the course is of learning by doing. There are more than 20 exercises where the student has to write pieces in different styles, from folk to gregorian to atonal. two part counterpoint and more. There is not much theory but, at least for me, the experience has been very good. Reviewing others' scores and being reviewed is an interesting experience, because the same music can be perceived in many ways, depending of the listener/reader.

An important part of the course is listening to a lot of music in spotify. All pieces can be found also in youtube.

創建者 Reginald F

Jul 03, 2020

This is a good addition to Coursera's collection of music theory courses. I would recommend starting with the University of Edinburgh basic theory course, then either this or the National University of Singapore "Write Like Mozart". There's only a little overlap in content and approach between this and WLM -- take both. I would encourage Prof. Lowenstein to follow up with more advanced courses.

創建者 Suzi H

Aug 06, 2019

I really like the Teacher in this course. He is knowledgeable and funny. He seems to really enjoy what he does. I wish I had more teachers that were this engaging. I also enjoy the subject matter. Since learning the piano for 8 years Theory is starting to click. I'm hoping this class will help me to go further in my music studies.

創建者 veronica h

Apr 09, 2020

I loved this course because it is packed with very clearly explained lessons and I really enjoyed every video. The assignments gave me lots of opportunity to practice but they did take me more than 30 minutes to do each one. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in getting into music theory.

創建者 Ben N

Jun 30, 2019

ALL THE STARS!

Shout to Sam L. for the hookup with this class. Learned a lot! I really feel primed for my education and then some! A lot more than I bargained for. And of course I want to get to CalArts even more.. you lovely jerks!

Thanks!

創建者 Éric T

Jun 12, 2020

Super interesting course, quite challenging but very rewarding. Marc is a fantastic lecturer! He brilliantly manages to convey his excitement for the topic. I wish there were more courses offered by him on Coursera!!

創建者 Dennis T R

Feb 24, 2020

Clear and informative. A little background in music theory will make the content easier to understand and apply. The focus is unique and generates thought. Music theory can be fun for everyone. Thanks.

創建者 Harsh S

May 06, 2020

It's not simply a course but it's a journey through decades of music. What a fun way to learn! Especially with such an interactive and amazing instructor.

創建者 Philip R

Mar 29, 2020

A very useful and interesting overview to melody and harmony. I loved Marc's sense of humour. It has motivated me to study the subject in more depth.

創建者 Wang S

Sep 17, 2019

I'm Chinese, and not good at English. But with a dict in my hand, I enjoyed a lot in this course. Thanks the teacher very much.

創建者 Joy S

Jun 08, 2020

lecturer is very skilled in his lecture delivering. thank you sir for teaching such a nice course

創建者 Miss P

May 24, 2020

Hilarious and ingenious! All I miss is another course by Mr Lowenstein. Encore, Encore!

創建者 Mary C d C P J

Jul 17, 2019

If you want to learn about melody this is the perfect course. I totakky recommend it.

創建者 enzo i

Jun 26, 2020

great trainer, very good balance between theory and practice!

創建者 vinicius g d m

Oct 30, 2019

excelente conteúdo, abrangente, profundo e simples.

創建者 Martin B

Apr 18, 2020

Great course I learnt a lot.

Thanks Marc

創建者 Andres B

Dec 21, 2019

gracias

創建者 Audrey K

May 16, 2020

I enjoyed this course. The instructor is engaging and makes it fun. A lot of material is covered, and I did feel, at times, that some of the music theory could be explained in a little more depth, but given the time constraints of a four-week course, I guess I understand. I'd like to see this course expanded to perhaps six weeks in order to cover things like avoiding crossing voices in counterpoint and I would have liked an exercise for three-part counterpoint. I also think a clearer list of prerequisite knowledge could be included for this course. Either that, or a quick lesson on chord inversions, for those who need it. If this course is expanded, I will take it again. That's how much I enjoyed it.

創建者 Hilit U

Jun 15, 2020

Very good overall. The professor explains lots of important aspects of music theory. The writing assignments helped me comprehend the material and (in my opinion) are a must if you want to actually learn something (even the optional assignments). Four stars because personally I didn’t connect to the professor sense of humor and the playlists only on Spotify were also a bit annoying .

創建者 Maeve Z

Apr 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! The teacher was great, but I wish we explained certain terms more before jumping into how they affect the piece. This course helped me to realize that I can compose things- I just have to sit down and start writing. Was a big help to my mental health to have something to do during the quarantine, and this class was great for that.