Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong

學生對 耶鲁大学 提供的 Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的評價和反饋

4.9
1,440 個評分
515 條評論

課程概述

How can you tell if the bold headlines seen on social media are truly touting the next big thing or if the article isn't worth the paper it's printed on? Understanding Medical Studies, will provide you with the tools and skills you need to critically interpret medical studies, and determine for yourself the difference between good and bad science. The course covers study-design, research methods, and statistical interpretation. It also delves into the dark side of medical research by covering fraud, biases, and common misinterpretations of data. Each lesson will highlight case-studies from real-world journal articles. By the end of this course, you'll have the tools you need to determine the trustworthiness of the scientific information you're reading and, of course, whether or not your Facebook friend is wrong. This course was made possible in part by the George M. O'Brien Kidney Center at Yale....

熱門審閱

PB
2021年9月27日

I used to be in a statistics career field and use some of that knowledge for this course. I absolutely feel like it's easier to spot fraud and will help me have a critical eye for so many other areas!

JA
2020年7月24日

This is a great course that helps you interpret the correct way to read clinical studies. It's something I'll use, especially when and if I am asked to take a medication that has serious side effects.

篩選依據:

26 - Understanding Medical Research: Your Facebook Friend is Wrong 的 50 個評論(共 520 個)

創建者 Francesco R

2020年12月6日

Very well done and high quality course, thanks to Yale University and professor Perry Wilson. I have really appreciated the format and the way the contents have been explained.

Some arguments I have always had some problem to understand (such as p-value and RR or AR) are now clearer and more manageable.

thanks again,

Francesco

創建者 Judy L

2020年6月6日

Excellent class with an engaging research physician who thoroughly enjoys statistics. Extremely relevant information on how-to interpret current medical news on Covid-19. Thoroughly enjoyed format with an excellent balance of fun scenarios and serious deconstruction of real journal articles. Recommend highly!

創建者 Višnja Ž

2020年5月12日

Amazing course, I learned a lot. Thank you for pointing out all the different 'red flags' we should immediately be aware of and look for. The lecturer should do another course as soon as he can, and I expect that he continues to use the many funny scifi references. Thank you for making this.

創建者 Jaime H

2020年5月20日

This course was excellent. Quality content that was educational, informative, and entertaining. Dr. Perry was factual and provided great examples. I would highly recommend this course, and I would take any other courses that Dr. Wilson offers.

創建者 Marliz S

2020年6月2日

I really enjoyed this course and hope to refer back to the videos when I read medical articles or conclusions. I definitely recommend this course, not just for the great content, but also for the way it was presented. Engaging and fun!

創建者 yewei g

2020年5月9日

Interesting course, amazing video examples, great teaching! Thank you so much! As an investor, I will no longer be intimidated by medical researches anymore. BTW, I think this course is invaluable in this crazy COVID-19 new world.

創建者 Buck w

2020年6月5日

A fascinating course taught by an extraordinarily gifted, interesting and often funny professor. Dr. Wilson was able to explain complex concepts in surprisingly easy to understand terms. will look forward to his next course.

創建者 Christiana L

2020年5月19日

This is the first MOOC that I've ever finished after attempting millions (take that as you will). It was very informative, engaging, fun, and timely! Thank you Dr. Wilson and the rest of the staff for this amazing course.

創建者 kevin m

2020年5月3日

Incredibly good presentation of what can be a difficult subject to teach. Examples were great, style of delivery was relaxed and friendly. I loved this course. I'm a 65 year old male and am excited to continue to learn.

創建者 Natalie S

2020年7月6日

Absolutely brilliant professor. Very engaging material, easily explained with vivid examples. I looked forward to watching the videos. I now feel more confident to read through medical literature thanks to Dr. Wilson!!!

創建者 Claudia K

2020年8月14日

An amazing course! It definitely changed the way of reading manuscripts. I feel more confident and more aware of what I am reading. I definitely recommend this course, especially for medical professionals!

創建者 Alice S

2020年8月5日

The course was really engaging and fun to follow, and Professor Wilson used great examples to help teach some of the harder-to-understand concepts. I learned a lot and I'm glad I took the course.

創建者 Michelle S

2020年6月9日

I had a lot of fun learning how to understand medical reports. F. Perry Wilson's use of examples for the common person was useful. His lectures was very engaging and interesting. Thank you!

創建者 Wendy R

2020年7月15日

Totally loved the course! It was very informative and interesting and easy to understand. It was also entertaining and engaging! Wish all courses were taught by Prof. Perry!!

創建者 Giulia P

2020年5月14日

Incredible course. All amazing, how Dr. Perry teaches is unique. The material is easy to understand. I would recommend you 100% to enroll in this course.

創建者 Michael V

2020年5月15日

A course every health professional should take. Informative and entertaining...that speaks volume for a course on medical research!

創建者 Sophia W C H

2020年8月15日

Just wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who made this well-fleshed out, simply-explained and beautifully presented course.

創建者 Sylvia W

2020年6月2日

I write about medicine and thought I knew all this. I was wrong. Great information, delightfully told.

創建者 Héloïse B

2020年5月15日

Great course. Very informative and fun way to learn more about statistics. I would definitely recommend.

創建者 Isidora Z

2020年9月11日

One of the best and funniest teachers I've ever met. Thank you for all the lessons you taught us!

創建者 Dr S K

2020年9月13日

Absolutely stunning course.... Felt it to be a bit lengthy. Needs patience. But wonderful

創建者 Kristina J

2020年5月13日

Definitely recommend to learn this topics!

創建者 Elene L

2020年8月9日

I liked the review for me of my past courses in stat and research methods. I do not think anyone who never has a stat course could even follow this course, But i did enjoy the course and the content.

創建者 Meena M

2020年5月8日

It is very to understand to. Mee tq to learn this subject

創建者 Yasemin T

2022年1月10日

I​ never go online to rate items, so this has to be very poor or very great. This was a top-notch course that I literally did for fun - I have no need for coursework, I am completely done with that portion of my life. What I appreciated about this course was the level of information that was presented - it was fairly advanced for the layperson yet made very approachable.

Dr. Wilson has a great enthusiasm for the subject matter (a GREAT enthusiasm) - and uses real-life research examples to populate his lectures. Personally, despite having had a statistics course over 20 years ago, I learned more here than I did in my college class - and these lectures are done in nice short "soundbites" so you do not get overwhelmed. The use of technology, yet not being beholden to it - and having a great stage presence in communicating makes the lectures enjoyable.

Additionally, while this course seems to be a couple/few years old, Dr. Wilson has taken the time to add up-to-date, relevant COVID information to the course as time has passed.

This is a bonus. Having been both on the student and teaching side of things, it amazes me to see teachers/professors/instructors who will never update their material (this is at all levels of schooling and even here on Coursera). On top of which they will use "peer review" in grading/teaching (which is beyond ridiculous and the ultimate in laziness); and around looking at other courses here on Coursera many have even dropped whatever help there was when those courses were first offered 6 years ago (I would stay away from those courses - those "peer review" assignments will kill your grades if you are going to take them for certificates - read through the syllabus and the reviews). NOTE TO COURSERA: PLEASE DO A FULL AUDIT OF YOUR COURSES (AND LOOK AT THE COURSE OFFERINGS AND REVIEWS, THE STUDENTS ARE LARGELY RIGHT) - IT MIGHT BE TIME FOR SOME OF THE PROFESSORS TO UPDATE THEIR MATERIAL OR HAVE IT REMOVED FROM THE COURSE LISTING.

None of that happens here. It is pretty straightforward (it might be why there are so many 4 and 5 star reviews, oh, plus it is just a good course). What you have in this course set up by Dr. WIlson and his staff: lectures for each week, after the lectures a medical paper to read, then a quiz based on the lectures/paper. There are forums and Professor and assistant are available for questions.

FYI - I did not even fully read the papers at the end, internet problems on my end, so I am getting out with a ~85% if I wanted the certificate. And that is not with trying very hard - as they say, you get out what you put in.