Chevron Left
返回到 中世纪的魔术

學生對 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 中世纪的魔术 的評價和反饋

4.6
864 個評分
248 個審閱

課程概述

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

熱門審閱

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

CP

Jul 06, 2017

When i read the title of this course, i could not imagine what it is about. So i took it. It's a great course, with different perspectives and with a really clear language. Thank you!

篩選依據:

176 - 中世纪的魔术 的 200 個評論(共 244 個)

創建者 Florencia M

Aug 07, 2016

Me encant+ó, no espera este tipo de temáticas en cursos impartidos por universidades; fue una grata sorpresa porque me encantan estos temas cuando están dados con seriedad y contenido

Lo único que al ser en inglés se me complico mucho, no tanto las clases en video porque tienen subtítulos, sino las actividades que si o si están en inglés.

El resto impecable, muy interesante y ojalá hayas mas cursos sobre estos temas.

創建者 Gorret F

Feb 28, 2018

Un cours bien présenté avec des enseignants compétents et des vidéos utiles, un dernier module qui pourrait être mieux réalisé ou scindé en deux.

創建者 Gerardo M P

Mar 27, 2017

I am grateful for take it thanks

創建者 Jude S W

May 11, 2018

I like this course, but I wish it was longer and more in depth. I also feel that the grading was a bit elementary. Harder task, required reading or longer tests would make me feel more learned and more accomplished.

創建者 Isabelle A A

May 11, 2017

Very interesting course - I enjoyed it immensely. I also liked the assignments, but I would recommend improving the peer-review rubrics (which others have recommended as well). Also, please double-check video transcripts for their accuracy. Thank you for offering Magic in the Middle Ages!

創建者 Michelle I

Nov 17, 2017

Interesting!

創建者 Jennifer D

Sep 01, 2017

It was awesome - apart from the video on Geomancy as that made absolutely no sense to me!!

I was much more interested in the History side of the course than the technical parts of the last two weeks - but I did find the stuff on Islam really interesting and really liked that this was included.

創建者 Pang J P

Sep 27, 2017

I think the course is really helpful in determining the timeline and historical findings of the root of magic and it's fundamentals. It provided me with the insights through time and different perspective and contexts. Though much deeper info was not shared, but much reading and implied context that was relevant is mentioned within. Course may not be perfect, and there's room for some fine-tuning. All in all, I enjoyed and benefited a lot from the course.

創建者 Loren E K

Dec 14, 2017

Great class with lots of practical knowledge of how magic came to be and how it was applied.

創建者 Nick P

Sep 04, 2016

First and foremost thank you for providing us with all that material which is of high quality! The only improvement I can think of is a better sound quality and also having a person of your institution to review peers' assignment (or something of similar logic in order to improve the evaluation process of the assignments). Thank you for your time and may you continue your wonderful work!

創建者 Hans V E

Feb 05, 2018

interesting but a bit superficial

創建者 Phillip

Aug 12, 2016

The only reason this course did not get top marks is because very often the audio and the video did not match. Even with captions turned on it was, at times, difficult to follow as the captions follow the audio and end when the video ends even if the audio is not quite finished.

Other than that I found this course enjoyable as well as educational.

創建者 Jp C

May 29, 2017

Interesting as the class presents a good, multi-faceted view and description of magic, covering Jewish and Muslim magic too, which was a very good part

創建者 Clara

Jan 18, 2018

Really interesting and highly recommended course.

創建者 Yumin X

Feb 12, 2017

This course gives general information on the magic of middle ages. However, I wish the course could be arranged in a more logical and coherent way, such as geographical or chronological, which will help to understand and memorize. Material in Week 4 is very confusing. It is hard to get the key points from those materials and what the instructors want to tell me. On the other hand, materials in Week 2 is easy to be understood and reflected in the first written assignment.

創建者 María S

Nov 07, 2016

Clear, fast and a perfect introduction for those who are interested in the subject.

創建者 ivan d

Oct 21, 2016

it's a good course but i think it would be better if they have it also in spanish and apart from that as a suggestion, teachers should talk a little slow, sometimes it's hard to understand some words because of it. apart from that it's a very good course

創建者 Jurgens P

Jan 16, 2017

The course gives a good historical view on magic and how it was perceived without being biased in terms of the practice of magic itself. Rather it looks at how the practices were perceived and the factors that influenced the development and dimise of magic and related practices.

創建者 Juan M R

Nov 26, 2017

Great course, i would like to have reading material uploaded so students can download it.

創建者 Hector M

Jun 01, 2017

Great survey of a fascinating topic! Wish there were more details/depth as it seems we only skimmed the surface...

創建者 angela

Feb 24, 2018

interesting topic, would be great to have demonstrated more resources during the video and readings for self-study. Great team of scholars! It looks like they had fun doing this. I certainly had fun taking this course.

創建者 Joy S

Jun 04, 2017

kind of fascinating, especially the week on witchcraft. Only give it 4 stars because it's in Spanish and I hate subtitles.

創建者 Amina S

Oct 12, 2016

Good course but more room for improvement

創建者 Natalia M A

Aug 22, 2016

Un curso magnífico. Sólo señalaría la complejidad del tema del Islam...

創建者 Manuel M B

Jan 28, 2018

Los profesores han demostrado una imparcialidad difícil de ver hoy en día en temas históricos y se han proporcionado muchas fuentes para ampliar información. La única crítica que hago es respecto de las tareas calificadas por compañeros. Las considero muy dirigidas en tanto que se espera una forma de responder muy concreta y, en mi opinión, va contra el sentido crítico independiente, además de que ser calificado por otras personas que son, al igual que uno mismo, alumnos, no me parece adecuado ("ciegos, guías de ciegos") incluso dirigiendo la respuesta por parte del profesorado hacia puntos clave. Salvo eso, el resto perfecto y en balance general, muy recomendable.