Chevron Left
返回到 中世纪的魔术

學生對 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 中世纪的魔术 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,150 個評分
360 條評論

課程概述

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

熱門審閱

BW

Mar 24, 2018

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM

Jul 15, 2020

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

篩選依據:

251 - 中世纪的魔术 的 275 個評論(共 359 個)

創建者 Antony E M G

May 05, 2018

¡THANKS!

創建者 Erick C

Oct 24, 2016

Good !

創建者 JEEVARATHINAM S

Aug 14, 2020

good

創建者 Joseph V

Jan 10, 2017

Not being an historian on the Middle Ages, Magic in the Middle Ages seems like an accurate and well planned course. Week-4 and week-5 were the most interesting, with week-5 delving into the knitted relationship of magic in Islam, with roots and lineages directly connected to contemporary practices of "magic" (which is something I did not know and was very curious about regarding the context of political and religious tensions evolving throughout the middle east). I would have liked more activity-based and practical instructional units on how magic and rituals were conducted, especially information on healing, medicines, and alchemy. Geomancy was the only practical component with explicit details on how to cast figures, and it needed to incorporate how it was used with astrology in a practical way. A unit on Astrology and the Astrolabe was needed as well since the videos and literature often referred to astrology, and without a basic working and understanding of how an astrolabe was used to calculate a chart, the student is left hanging on having to figure way too much on their own (which becomes rife with problems and miscommunication). The quizzes and assignments are fun but often awkwardly worded which became confusing, and can easily be cheated on. Grading of assignments was a bit nebulous and put into question others abilities to accurately and fairly grade. People paying money for course content should be separated from students not paying because engaging, stimulating, and critical analysis as discourse cannot be maintained in fidelity. Of course, the credibility of ALL courses on Coursera are at stake because little to no universities and businesses accept the certificates as valid credentials for jobs or career ladder mobility. Ultimately, one is paying for a piece of paper that is not really valued or even usable at the very same institutes that put together the coursework; and that is a very lame proposition! The final kicker is that I needed to submit highly sensitive, personal identification just to get a PDF of the certificate--absolutely ridiculous, especially considering that the topic of interest for this course neither necessitates nor warrants such high-end secure methods.

創建者 Janet T

Jun 18, 2019

I enjoyed this course greatly and significantly expanded my knowledge of medieval times and associated magic. I particularly liked that the course included the relationships of magic in Christian, Islamic and Jewish religions.

The lectures were clear and focused and always accompanied by appropriate literature ensuring that they were at the appropriate academic level.

To help with the continuous improvement of the course which you obviously undertake regularly I make the following comments.

It would be useful to include specific clarification of the relationships between

· Miracles and magic.

· The Science of Letters and magic

· Geomancy and magic

I always like to have a rubric presented before I attempt an assessment. This helps you to ensure that the assessment is on target.

I have certainly expanded my knowledge of this discipline and my experience with this course encourages my to do other courses on history.

創建者 Harel R

Apr 07, 2020

Great course, very interesting information. A few problems I found though in the course:

1 Some of the lecturers spoke very fast. That's solvable with the 0.75 speed, but still.

2 The Islamic videos were hard to follow because it felt like information that should have been spread over 2-3 modules was crammed into one module - too much information all at once.

3 I found some of the info about Jews and magic/demons to be imprecise. It was unclear on which Judaic sources these certain claims were based on.

4 The final peer-reviewed assignment included taking notes on an image from a medieval blockbook. This particular image featured a naked figure representing the moon, which i sadly glanced at unknowingly. I think that to make the course more appropriate for all people, it would be good to choose a different blockbook image.

Other than all of these points, thank you very much for the fascinating course!

創建者 Belinda S

May 31, 2020

A very interesting quick dip into shifting perceptions of magic in Christian Europe and how other cultures such as Islam enriched the practices of divination, calculation and astrology. For me, the two most interesting aspects were how the authority of the church through the inquisitors worked to divorce earlier belief systems, such as the tradition of nocturnal beings familiar to the illiterate classes, from the practices and beliefs of the Christian Church. Thus, consolidating the purity and integrity of the Christian doctrine, as distinct from previous beliefs and practices and laying the foundations of Christian orthodoxy. A good overview of a number of different aspects of magic. Thank you to the University of Barcelona, the Magic in the Middle Ages team and Coursera

創建者 Frans Z

Jun 19, 2020

When signing up for the course I didn't realize the course wasn't about magic, but about the history of magic in the Middle Ages. Once I had overcome my disappointment, I actually liked the course content quite a lot. My only quibble is that the videos contain very little visual material .I would recommend, for the next iteration of the course the embedding of illustrations in the videos, or making available supplementary illustrated material in pdf form and/or hyperlinks.

The part I liked most was the chapter on Magic and Islam, which was very well thought out and presented. The supplementary video with the cut-out figures of Arab scholars was (unintentionally?) quite funny.

創建者 Manuel M B

Jan 28, 2018

Los profesores han demostrado una imparcialidad difícil de ver hoy en día en temas históricos y se han proporcionado muchas fuentes para ampliar información. La única crítica que hago es respecto de las tareas calificadas por compañeros. Las considero muy dirigidas en tanto que se espera una forma de responder muy concreta y, en mi opinión, va contra el sentido crítico independiente, además de que ser calificado por otras personas que son, al igual que uno mismo, alumnos, no me parece adecuado ("ciegos, guías de ciegos") incluso dirigiendo la respuesta por parte del profesorado hacia puntos clave. Salvo eso, el resto perfecto y en balance general, muy recomendable.

創建者 Jemima B

Mar 10, 2020

This was a really enjoyable and interesting course on a subject I had not studied in much detail prior. It contained a lot of detail without being overwhelming, and the lecturers were personable and informative in their delivery. It was also a good length and workload to commit to. My only small criticism would be that I would perhaps have preferred more of the essay and analysis based assessments, as the quizzes only required reiteration of the videos and I think that it would be more helpful to future historians to practice forming opinions and arguments. Apart from that, I have thoroughly enjoyed this MOOC and would definitely recommend.

創建者 Claudia I H

Apr 27, 2019

It has some very interesting lectures specialy those related to islam, astrology and astronomy.

I found language clear, even when they had a large number of foreign names and words and the idea of using maps and other materials to make easier to understand the concepts is a great idea.

I found too extremely and using fancy or stilted language, so I had to play several times some videos even when using the subtitlles to get a clear idea, bacause the questions are very specific.

I highly recommend to give audio in spanish or truly slow down the speed and kind of language used.

A bit less theorical would be great.

Thank you for sharing this course!

創建者 Eva H

Oct 02, 2016

I really enjoyed learning about magic in the middle ages and am grateful for the opportunity offered by the University of Barcelona. The lectures were clearly spoken and the content was good.

However, I would have liked to go more into detail about the practices of magic, I missed that a little bit. For example, the specifics of several charms/ingredients/etc are only treated on a few occasions.

I have now also enrolled in different courses on Coursera and I can say that this course could have been organised better, with better assignments, quizzes, etc. So there is still room for improvement.

創建者 Paraskevi G

Nov 12, 2017

This course is very interesting and provides objective information and "myth-busters" that prove the difference between what we think of Magic in the Middle Ages and what was most probably the reality. The lectors are all very enthusiastic and it is refreshing to have many different people with different specializations than just one lector. What I didn't enjoy about this course was having to peer review my classmate's assignments; as I often tend to complete a whole course in a short time , this process slowed down my progress and I wasn't enjoying the course as much as I wished to.

創建者 Angelica M A

Aug 14, 2020

It is an excellent course, I think it would be very good if they expanded a little more on Kabbalah. Check the link of the last work, it is actually http://www.billyandcharlie.com/planets/luna.html

Using graphic resources like the map in the section on magic in Islam was a great idea. Graphic resources help to better understand concepts and are great allies of memory.

I think it would be very good to add links to articles related to the subject and that the bibliography can be downloadable or written, rather than at the end of the video.

創建者 E P

Jul 02, 2018

I really enjoyed the material of this course and the professors' careful attention to avoiding passing any judging past eras using today's standards. I was also glad that they did not only include European magic (Middle Eastern magic was also covered). The only issue I had with this course was that peer-reviewed assignments (i.e. the written ones) were difficult, in that it was not always clear what was expected of the answers (namely that fairly specific things were required of the answers, whereas the questions seemed more open-ended).

創建者 Sian W

Jun 09, 2020

I'd give this a 4.5 if I could, overall I really enjoyed this course! Weeks 1-3 were strong, week 4 didn't hold my attention as much but it came back strong in week 5. I'd knock some points off for the written assignments, the phrasing was sometimes confusing so I had to do some digging in the discussion forums to figure out what I was supposed to write. There are also links to pictures in the week 5 assignment that are broken, would be nice if those could be edited for future students.

創建者 Yumin X

Feb 12, 2017

This course gives general information on the magic of middle ages. However, I wish the course could be arranged in a more logical and coherent way, such as geographical or chronological, which will help to understand and memorize. Material in Week 4 is very confusing. It is hard to get the key points from those materials and what the instructors want to tell me. On the other hand, materials in Week 2 is easy to be understood and reflected in the first written assignment.

創建者 Pang J P

Sep 27, 2017

I think the course is really helpful in determining the timeline and historical findings of the root of magic and it's fundamentals. It provided me with the insights through time and different perspective and contexts. Though much deeper info was not shared, but much reading and implied context that was relevant is mentioned within. Course may not be perfect, and there's room for some fine-tuning. All in all, I enjoyed and benefited a lot from the course.

創建者 Angela L G

Feb 21, 2019

I found this course to be worthwhile overall. There were some technical glitches and some areas of the course that need to be addressed. However, this course was challenging, interesting, and encouraged me to explore the topic further. The instructors all clearly really enjoy this topic and I appreciate all their heard work in putting this course together. I learned new information I didn't know before and I'm glad I was able to take this class.

創建者 Florencia M

Aug 07, 2016

Me encant+ó, no espera este tipo de temáticas en cursos impartidos por universidades; fue una grata sorpresa porque me encantan estos temas cuando están dados con seriedad y contenido

Lo único que al ser en inglés se me complico mucho, no tanto las clases en video porque tienen subtítulos, sino las actividades que si o si están en inglés.

El resto impecable, muy interesante y ojalá hayas mas cursos sobre estos temas.

創建者 Alessandro D

Sep 05, 2017

Nice subject. I liked the videos of every unit beside UNIT 4: MAGIC IN ISLAM: those ones are the less "entertaining" because in more than a point they consist mostly in a list of book's and author's names one probably have never heard of (and probably will forget after 5 seconds).

I liked very much the part about astrology and i found very interesting the essay to be written in that unit.

創建者 Nick P

Sep 04, 2016

First and foremost thank you for providing us with all that material which is of high quality! The only improvement I can think of is a better sound quality and also having a person of your institution to review peers' assignment (or something of similar logic in order to improve the evaluation process of the assignments). Thank you for your time and may you continue your wonderful work!

創建者 Kate G

Feb 20, 2017

This class struggles from translation issues, and order issues, for instance having to watch bonus material before knowing the answers on some of the quizzes. However, it is an incredible class, informative, and provides a very, very interesting point of view on the Middle-Ages, which in all my learning has always been Anglo-English-centric. It's an excellent class despite everything.

創建者 Sean O

Feb 23, 2020

A very comprehensive and succinct course. Some problems that arose included the rubric the we had to judge the assignments was not given to us while writing the text. Also, the link you provided for the first part of the second assignment did not work. Here is the real link:

https://web.archive.org/web/20190406173330/http://www.billyandcharlie.com/planets/moon.html

創建者 Phillip

Aug 12, 2016

The only reason this course did not get top marks is because very often the audio and the video did not match. Even with captions turned on it was, at times, difficult to follow as the captions follow the audio and end when the video ends even if the audio is not quite finished.

Other than that I found this course enjoyable as well as educational.