Chevron Left
返回到 中世纪的魔术

學生對 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 中世纪的魔术 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,415 個評分
462 條評論

課程概述

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

熱門審閱

BW
2018年3月23日

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
2020年7月14日

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

篩選依據:

351 - 中世纪的魔术 的 375 個評論(共 459 個)

創建者 Jaime J

2020年7月14日

A decent overview of a complex topic. I appreciate the care the creators have taken in creating the range of content. I wish the lectures included real imagery from the sources they cite: photographs of the original texts and so on. In Week 5, the final assignment needs an update to correct the broken web links.

創建者 al l

2021年1月31日

Interesting material, well organized and presented. Things really fell apart in the final assignment, where the 2 main links remain broken. I managed to find links in the forums, but judging by the comments these have been broken for a while. PLEASE fix this, it leaves an unfortunate bad final impression.

創建者 Maitreyi S

2019年7月15日

I had so much fun in this course. It catered to my interests and peaked my curiosity at the same time. I'm grateful to all the teachers for providing us with such brilliant works and for their painstaking efforts, providing us with so much knowledge and wisdom. Thank you so much for this wonderful journey.

創建者 Jennifer D

2017年8月31日

It was awesome - apart from the video on Geomancy as that made absolutely no sense to me!!

I was much more interested in the History side of the course than the technical parts of the last two weeks - but I did find the stuff on Islam really interesting and really liked that this was included.

創建者 Jorge d R G

2017年3月19日

Un curso atractivo y divertido, pero centrado en los últimos momentos de la Edad Media. Se debería puntualizar en el título "Baja Edad Media". Por lo demás, mi más sincera enhorabuena por todo el trabajo que, desde la Universitat de Barcelona, habéis realizado para sacar adelante este curso.

創建者 Isabelle A A

2017年5月11日

Very interesting course - I enjoyed it immensely. I also liked the assignments, but I would recommend improving the peer-review rubrics (which others have recommended as well). Also, please double-check video transcripts for their accuracy. Thank you for offering Magic in the Middle Ages!

創建者 laura u m

2020年5月18日

Es muy interesante y la verdad que es bastante completo y se hace ameno. Me gustaría saber un poco más acerca de la caza de brujas, quizás algo de sitios míticos como Salem o algo así. Pero la verdad que me ha gustado mucho, interesante, entretenido y bien explicado. ¡Recomendado!

創建者 Jurgens P

2017年1月16日

The course gives a good historical view on magic and how it was perceived without being biased in terms of the practice of magic itself. Rather it looks at how the practices were perceived and the factors that influenced the development and dimise of magic and related practices.

創建者 Cassandra S

2021年9月6日

A​ssignment objectives could be a little clearer in the initial instructions, perhaps providing the grading rubric upfront so students have a clear understanding on what direction they should be heading with their assignment and understand how their grade will be formed.

創建者 Jillian M

2020年9月18日

Amazing course! The content is very interesting and presented very well by experts in the field. As just a course, I would highly recommend it. 4 stars because of the peer reviewed format and that the rubric often didn't match up with the questions in the assignment.

創建者 James J

2019年7月4日

This course was good. I learned some things beyond a highschool education. I wish that it went more into the actual spells cast in medieval times. However, this is a history class, and it mentioned the key characters and key events that changed how magic was viewed.

創建者 ivan d

2016年10月21日

it's a good course but i think it would be better if they have it also in spanish and apart from that as a suggestion, teachers should talk a little slow, sometimes it's hard to understand some words because of it. apart from that it's a very good course

創建者 P A P

2020年5月9日

I feel i got a basic idea of magic in middle ages , in different religions , connecting it to the social , economic and political conditions of that time. The videos were quite useful , will definitely delve into more thorough the provided bibliography

創建者 Rhiannon E

2020年2月16日

This was a a very enjoyable and beginner-friendly course which provided some interesting historical insights. My favourite part was learning about how knowledge was shared between the Arab and Latin world during the Middle Ages.

創建者 Amanda O

2021年7月3日

The professors are fun and they seem to really care about the subject matter. This is the first course I chose to audit on Coursera. It is more of an overview and can go quickly at times but is still a good supplemental course.

創建者 Pilar P d C

2018年4月12日

Fascinating insight into the reality of magic during the middle ages. Well thought out course generally speaking with interesting information. Maybe during the first two modules could have done with more pictorial aids. Thanks.

創建者 Megan

2019年10月27日

This is a great toe-dip into the vast world of Medieval magic and it's contemporary reception. I highly recommend this course to anyone who needs a head start on the subject, is looking for a refresher, or is simply curious.

創建者 Renee N

2018年4月20日

Loved it! Found some of the lessons hard to understand but the content was constantly very intriguing and engaging. Great for anyone interested in the topic/concept of magic, and how it existed among people centuries ago.

創建者 angela

2018年2月24日

interesting topic, would be great to have demonstrated more resources during the video and readings for self-study. Great team of scholars! It looks like they had fun doing this. I certainly had fun taking this course.

創建者 Jude S W

2018年5月11日

I like this course, but I wish it was longer and more in depth. I also feel that the grading was a bit elementary. Harder task, required reading or longer tests would make me feel more learned and more accomplished.

創建者 summer w

2020年6月22日

I enjoyed this class a lot, there were a few times that I had problems. Mainly peer review assignments, the original explanation of it and the rubric asked for different things. Other than that it was great.

創建者 James M

2017年12月20日

Good course, I wish there were more academic readings attached to the lessons, especially primary sources. Definitely a worthwhile introduction to the subject, or a support to a study of the Middle Ages.

創建者 kouassi n c

2017年9月7日

it was instructive and I appreciated very much this course I knew nothing about the period of the Inquisition and if there is another more in depth course on the subject I will register

創建者 Hasib u R I

2020年7月21日

Excellent course. Although I knew a lot about this topic from different Tv series, novels, games etc., yet it digs deeper into those common conceptions which made it more interesting

創建者 Linda t B

2016年9月14日

Interesting facts about the thoughts and ideas about magic in the medieval period and how it influenced the society in that time and even still influenced people of the 21st century.