Chevron Left
返回到 中世纪的魔术

學生對 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 中世纪的魔术 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,285 個評分
408 條評論

課程概述

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

熱門審閱

BW
2018年3月23日

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
2020年7月14日

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

篩選依據:

301 - 中世纪的魔术 的 325 個評論(共 404 個)

創建者 Pang J P

2017年9月27日

I think the course is really helpful in determining the timeline and historical findings of the root of magic and it's fundamentals. It provided me with the insights through time and different perspective and contexts. Though much deeper info was not shared, but much reading and implied context that was relevant is mentioned within. Course may not be perfect, and there's room for some fine-tuning. All in all, I enjoyed and benefited a lot from the course.

創建者 Angela L G

2019年2月21日

I found this course to be worthwhile overall. There were some technical glitches and some areas of the course that need to be addressed. However, this course was challenging, interesting, and encouraged me to explore the topic further. The instructors all clearly really enjoy this topic and I appreciate all their heard work in putting this course together. I learned new information I didn't know before and I'm glad I was able to take this class.

創建者 Florencia M

2016年8月7日

Me encant+ó, no espera este tipo de temáticas en cursos impartidos por universidades; fue una grata sorpresa porque me encantan estos temas cuando están dados con seriedad y contenido

Lo único que al ser en inglés se me complico mucho, no tanto las clases en video porque tienen subtítulos, sino las actividades que si o si están en inglés.

El resto impecable, muy interesante y ojalá hayas mas cursos sobre estos temas.

創建者 Alessandro D

2017年9月5日

Nice subject. I liked the videos of every unit beside UNIT 4: MAGIC IN ISLAM: those ones are the less "entertaining" because in more than a point they consist mostly in a list of book's and author's names one probably have never heard of (and probably will forget after 5 seconds).

I liked very much the part about astrology and i found very interesting the essay to be written in that unit.

創建者 Nick P

2016年9月4日

First and foremost thank you for providing us with all that material which is of high quality! The only improvement I can think of is a better sound quality and also having a person of your institution to review peers' assignment (or something of similar logic in order to improve the evaluation process of the assignments). Thank you for your time and may you continue your wonderful work!

創建者 Kate G

2017年2月20日

This class struggles from translation issues, and order issues, for instance having to watch bonus material before knowing the answers on some of the quizzes. However, it is an incredible class, informative, and provides a very, very interesting point of view on the Middle-Ages, which in all my learning has always been Anglo-English-centric. It's an excellent class despite everything.

創建者 Sean O

2020年2月23日

A very comprehensive and succinct course. Some problems that arose included the rubric the we had to judge the assignments was not given to us while writing the text. Also, the link you provided for the first part of the second assignment did not work. Here is the real link:

https://web.archive.org/web/20190406173330/http://www.billyandcharlie.com/planets/moon.html

創建者 Alvaro F O G

2020年9月11日

It was truly a pleasure to take this course. I am a historian, and this course give me new information and bibliographical resources to understand medieval cosmovision. The only problem that I see, it is that it had a really cathedratical structure, therefore it could be a little bit more didactic. Besides that, I enojoyed and learned a lot with this course.

創建者 Phillip

2016年8月12日

The only reason this course did not get top marks is because very often the audio and the video did not match. Even with captions turned on it was, at times, difficult to follow as the captions follow the audio and end when the video ends even if the audio is not quite finished.

Other than that I found this course enjoyable as well as educational.

創建者 Ashley M

2020年5月12日

The assignments could be updated (both of the links for the second assignment do not work, even though there was a lot of discussion about them in the forums!)

Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course. The professors were very thorough and seemed to really be experts and passionate about the field of study.

Great course and fun to learn about!

創建者 Helga W

2020年4月9日

It was my first course in this platform and was really amazing. This new experience, in addition to bringing me more knowledge, brought me a routine, a excellent way to invert my time. I choose Magic in the Middle Age because always it seemed to me a incredible part of the Universal History. And, I love the Magic.

Thank for this course.

創建者 Jaime J

2020年7月14日

A decent overview of a complex topic. I appreciate the care the creators have taken in creating the range of content. I wish the lectures included real imagery from the sources they cite: photographs of the original texts and so on. In Week 5, the final assignment needs an update to correct the broken web links.

創建者 Maitreyi S

2019年7月15日

I had so much fun in this course. It catered to my interests and peaked my curiosity at the same time. I'm grateful to all the teachers for providing us with such brilliant works and for their painstaking efforts, providing us with so much knowledge and wisdom. Thank you so much for this wonderful journey.

創建者 Jennifer D

2017年8月31日

It was awesome - apart from the video on Geomancy as that made absolutely no sense to me!!

I was much more interested in the History side of the course than the technical parts of the last two weeks - but I did find the stuff on Islam really interesting and really liked that this was included.

創建者 Jorge d R G

2017年3月19日

Un curso atractivo y divertido, pero centrado en los últimos momentos de la Edad Media. Se debería puntualizar en el título "Baja Edad Media". Por lo demás, mi más sincera enhorabuena por todo el trabajo que, desde la Universitat de Barcelona, habéis realizado para sacar adelante este curso.

創建者 Isabelle A A

2017年5月11日

Very interesting course - I enjoyed it immensely. I also liked the assignments, but I would recommend improving the peer-review rubrics (which others have recommended as well). Also, please double-check video transcripts for their accuracy. Thank you for offering Magic in the Middle Ages!

創建者 laura u m

2020年5月18日

Es muy interesante y la verdad que es bastante completo y se hace ameno. Me gustaría saber un poco más acerca de la caza de brujas, quizás algo de sitios míticos como Salem o algo así. Pero la verdad que me ha gustado mucho, interesante, entretenido y bien explicado. ¡Recomendado!

創建者 Jurgens P

2017年1月16日

The course gives a good historical view on magic and how it was perceived without being biased in terms of the practice of magic itself. Rather it looks at how the practices were perceived and the factors that influenced the development and dimise of magic and related practices.

創建者 Jillian M

2020年9月18日

Amazing course! The content is very interesting and presented very well by experts in the field. As just a course, I would highly recommend it. 4 stars because of the peer reviewed format and that the rubric often didn't match up with the questions in the assignment.

創建者 James J

2019年7月4日

This course was good. I learned some things beyond a highschool education. I wish that it went more into the actual spells cast in medieval times. However, this is a history class, and it mentioned the key characters and key events that changed how magic was viewed.

創建者 ivan d

2016年10月20日

it's a good course but i think it would be better if they have it also in spanish and apart from that as a suggestion, teachers should talk a little slow, sometimes it's hard to understand some words because of it. apart from that it's a very good course

創建者 P A P

2020年5月9日

I feel i got a basic idea of magic in middle ages , in different religions , connecting it to the social , economic and political conditions of that time. The videos were quite useful , will definitely delve into more thorough the provided bibliography

創建者 Rhiannon E

2020年2月16日

This was a a very enjoyable and beginner-friendly course which provided some interesting historical insights. My favourite part was learning about how knowledge was shared between the Arab and Latin world during the Middle Ages.

創建者 Pilar P d C

2018年4月12日

Fascinating insight into the reality of magic during the middle ages. Well thought out course generally speaking with interesting information. Maybe during the first two modules could have done with more pictorial aids. Thanks.

創建者 Megan

2019年10月27日

This is a great toe-dip into the vast world of Medieval magic and it's contemporary reception. I highly recommend this course to anyone who needs a head start on the subject, is looking for a refresher, or is simply curious.