Chevron Left
返回到 中世纪的魔术

學生對 巴塞罗那大学 提供的 中世纪的魔术 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,386 個評分
450 條評論

課程概述

Magical thought has always attracted human imagination. In this course we will introduce you to the Middle Ages through a wide conception of magic. Students will have an approach to medieval culture, beliefs and practices from the perspective of History and History of Science. Popular magic, as well as learned magic (alchemy, geomancy and necromancy) will be addressed. Moreover, we will also deal with how eastern practices and texts influenced western culture. In July 2016, the course will contain a brand-new module devoted to astrology. Magic in the Middle Ages offers a captivating overview of medieval society and promotes reflection about certain stereotypes associated with this period. At the end of the course, the students: a) will have overcome the usual prejudices about the Middle Ages, b) will be able to analyze historical documentation from the Middle Ages and recognize the most common patterns of juridical documents regarding witchcraft, and c) will be capable of distinguishing between popular magic and the magic of the learned people; will have a notion of which spiritual practices were allowed in medieval Europe and which ones were related to the devil, and will be aware of the link between a cultural product and the society that produced it. This course is taught in English, although subtitles in English, Catalan and Spanish will also be provided. COURSE SYLLABUS Week 1. Introduction to medieval magic (Pau Castell). Week 2. Magic & Heresy (Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel). Week 3. From Magic to Witchcraft (Pau Castell). Week 4. Magic in Islam (Godefroid de Callataÿ and Sébastien Moureau). Week 5. Astrology & Geomancy (Theo Loinaz, Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel, Godefroid de Callataÿ and Blanca Villuendas). © Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany Magic in the Middle Ages by Gemma Pellissa Prades (coord.), Delfi I. Nieto-Isabel and Joana Palau Mumany is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License....

熱門審閱

BW
2018年3月23日

Helpful and insightful. I try to learn as much about witchcraft and all religions as I can. The first set of videos were well lit and well read. I recommend this for anyone who wants to learn more.

NM
2020年7月14日

This course was really thorough and interesting. I liked how it covered a range of religions and regions and I think it's great how there are interactive assignments which judge out writing.

篩選依據:

426 - 中世纪的魔术 的 446 個評論(共 446 個)

創建者 Michelle I

2017年11月17日

Interesting!

創建者 cereza c

2020年5月22日

Very Good

創建者 laura b b

2018年3月4日

r

創建者 Carlos J

2017年1月23日

I

創建者 Phil R

2020年6月27日

I greatly enjoyed this course. Yes, it's pretty basic and lacking in depth at times but hey it's a beginner's course, designed to introduce the topic and highlight the main areas which you can then go off and look into in more detail off-line. It's very wide-ranging, covers off the key issues/themes and does it with passion and intelligence. There is some housekeeping to do around the final assignment where a key link was broken and hadn't been repaired but otherwise, highly enjoyable. It filled the Covid 19 lockdown admirably; thank you!

創建者 CARLOS R A H

2021年3月10日

Good and interesting course. I think videos could be made more entertaining, lectures are very dense and I think they could be broken up a bit more, and the links for the final assignment are not working (You need to take a deep look into the forums to find working links and guides made by classmats) and I think the "optional" videos should not be optional and be evaluated as well. Other than that, the course is very fun, interesting and there's a lot to learn from it.

創建者 Sofi D

2021年2月11日

When I first read the title I thought it would be very different to what it really is. It's interesting from an historical point of view.

The inquisition and religions are the main topic, and how they treated magic back then, but it doesn't explain much of what was done.

I couldn't complete the last assignments because the links are broken, I suppose because the course is a little bit old.

創建者 Jesús A P N

2019年11月25日

All information is useful and interesting. Teachers are kind and you can tell they love their field. Unfortunately the videos are too simple; no extra images, important sentences (very few) it´s just the person talking. I had to just read the transcripts in order no to fall asleep.

創建者 Pablo S S

2016年9月25日

It is a very interesting course, but in the beginning it may seem a bit disorganised and slow. The best part, for me, was the week 4, about magic in Islam. The topic was fascinating and the teachers presented a perfect lecture, a great balance between deep but easy to follow.

創建者 Cat S

2020年9月28日

Mostly a very well thought out and interesting course - the week dedicated to magic and Islam was mostly a list of names and so quite dull. Some issues with the peer assignments - links not working etc.

創建者 Eric T M P G

2017年1月25日

Overall a good course, with a section on Islam and Magic that felt very well elaborated. All peer graded exercises however were poorly designed and had awful correction criteria.

創建者 Jorelle B

2020年3月7日

First class, very interesting. Lot of facts and somethings I already knew from history class. Good introduction to coursera and view of magic

創建者 Christina L

2020年5月3日

Very difficult to understand! Both the audio and the written text.

I had to do additional research to understand the flow of information.

創建者 Deleted A

2017年7月25日

The video quality needs improvement and some terms students are not familiar with might be better understood with more explanation.

創建者 ALISON H

2021年3月11日

Content was good, but could not complete the coursework due to dead links

創建者 Marlena S

2021年4月7日

First of all this course is far from schooling people how to create own opinions. Tests are mostly about opinions...opinions of the teachers that you have to support. I had much higher expectations seeing the high average reviews of the course.

Secondly, the program of the course skips quite many important aspects of the topic of magic in the middle ages. I believe much better choice than this course will be the book 'A history of Magic, witchcraft and the occult' written by British historians.

Oh, and also non-native English teachers try to use fancy words they have issues to pronounce.

創建者 Brianna C G

2021年1月18日

The way things were worded made little to no since, and were very confusing if not completely not understandable.

創建者 aouas D

2021年1月24日

It good, but unfortunately I could not finish the course due to last exam because have broken links

創建者 Deleted A

2020年5月5日

The actual course videos don't give you much concise information, but a lot of ideas and is aimed at a very historic way of studying, which probably won't fit the needs and expectations of someone who is learning about this topic for fun and entertainment, because this approach makes the course incredibly boring. The tests are hard because they target very precise and disposable details pulled out of the myriad of information that was put forward in the videos. The essay assignment was quite pointless and it was very hard to write about the details, pull out the necessary information and to reach the goals the teachers have set. I recommended this course to a friend at before I took it, I hope he didn't start this course because he would just be wasting his time.