Chevron Left
返回到 法律系学生的工具

學生對 耶鲁大学 提供的 法律系学生的工具 的評價和反饋

4.7
634 個評分
191 個審閱

課程概述

Whether you are an advanced law student looking to review the basics, or an aspiring law student looking for head start, this course will help you build the foundation you will need to succeed in law school and beyond. This course will introduce you to terminology, concepts, and tools lawyers and legal academics use to make their arguments. It will help you follow these arguments—and make arguments of your own. This course consists of a series of short lectures and assignments. A reading list complements each lesson, providing you with a roadmap to help you explore the subject matter more deeply on your own. Although the lessons may cross-reference each other, they are modular in nature: you should feel free to approach them in whatever order fits your schedule, interests, and needs....

熱門審閱

HK

Mar 29, 2016

I enjoyed this course but you really need to have some legal background to get the most out of it. The assignments were worth the time they took and I learned a lot trying to grade my fellow students.

KE

Nov 28, 2017

Really interesting course, quite intense, especially in week 1. Good instructor who engages students (quite a feat for an online course) and encourages one to think about law in different ways.

篩選依據:

151 - 法律系学生的工具 的 175 個評論(共 185 個)

創建者 ADAMYA O

Nov 09, 2019

amazing

創建者 Tommy V

Jan 29, 2019

The course does a pretty good job on giving a primer in legal concepts that may be useful if you consider following a law degree, or just if you are interest in law. The chunks are so that they tackle one or a coherent set of concepts in 10 to 15 minutes, which is ideal to study it in between other activities you may have.

創建者 Nuria L G

Sep 19, 2016

The course presents interesting topics about law in a concise way and invites reflection. My background in law was quite limited and even though I struggled to understand everything the first week, I now comprehend the principles of common law and have the right tools to approach legal decisions. Doing this course has been a very enriching experience for me because not only have I learned more about key concepts in law, but I have also improved my way of writing and summarizing information.

創建者 Sander S

Jun 20, 2016

Simple and well explained, but perhaps more information should be put on slides behind the lecturer.

創建者 Sulaiman B

Feb 08, 2016

This was a very good intro course.

Some additions that could be applied may include: describing different types of motions (interrogatives, cross motions); types of judgments (proscriptions, summary judgments, enjoinment), types of memoranda, or even a FOIA request.

Maybe a look into work product privilege, protected documentation, principles of discovery. And finally, a little intro into the art of using case law as an event or test, for example; in "Miranda", "Keller", "Brown", or the "McDonnell Douglas test".

I understand this is just an intro, but if these things could be fit in somehow that would be cool.

創建者 Julius G

Jul 18, 2017

This course is far more difficult to complete for credit than it seems based on the syllabus and marketing materials, and that is a good thing for serious learner. The readings are long and complex and must be completed in order to get anything of value from the course. Just watching the lectures only gives you a small percentage of the concepts being transmitted in this course which is really for pre-law students or serious learners.

One serious drawback is the peer grading system which you have to go through in order to complete assignments and get a certificate. Too many of the students do not complete the assigned readings and then try to answer the professor's question based only on the 5-10 minute lecture or their pure opinion. Often written in poor English (because the student is not a native English speaker), these same students are the ones who will grade my serious assignment. The results are not good - too much pettiness and downright revengeful grading. I got through it but it is a serious flaw because it's unfair. These are not peers.

Other flaws are the the course length (it should be spread over about four to six weeks instead of three), and there is no participation by teaching assistants (none, zero, zilch).

In the end I got a lot out this course but I was persistent and I have already have two degrees from major universities.

創建者 Tamara M

Feb 15, 2016

Excellent and fun class to understand Common-Law concepts and be prepared to with US Law cases.

創建者 Mohsen L G

Oct 18, 2016

good

創建者 Juan G C R

Jun 13, 2016

Very good course.

創建者 eeo6@cdc.gov

Apr 27, 2017

Enjoyed Prof. Ayres' lectures and the readings. Definite

創建者 孙哲君

Oct 26, 2016

GREAT COURSE

創建者 alex s

Jan 25, 2016

Okay class. Could deal more with terminology, how to break down a case to read it and obtain information. How to's of it all. From getting the case on my desk, breaking into segments, how to make a claim and finding laws to support it. What is a theory versus what is a developed idea.

Thanks!

創建者 Do H K

Apr 10, 2016

Since this course handles difficult context, it may be little bit hard to one who studies law first time.

創建者 Philip P

Sep 14, 2016

Fascinating. A lot of depth, with so much supplementary reading you get out what you put in, but it felt rushed and with so many unassessed topics some seemed inconsequential. I would have preferred it to have been spread out over another week with a couple extra assessments overall.

創建者 William X

Jun 07, 2017

Very challenging but there are many lessons to be learned. Law is a challenging and complex field, and prof. Ayres comes at it with good analogies and helpful advice

創建者 Julienne T

Dec 26, 2015

I found the range of topics extremely helpful and relevant. There were some minor technical problems with regards to grading, but overall, I really enjoyed the learning experience from this particular course.

創建者 Jan Z

Apr 28, 2017

Good overview for law beginners, interesting lectures and useful tips.

The downsides are the peer-review system of grading (sometimes you get a bad grade and there is no explanation why) and the fact that the links to recommended and mandatory literature are not working.

創建者 Franke

Feb 15, 2016

It seems very interesting.

創建者 Jan P

Dec 24, 2015

The course was beneficial to me and I learned a lot of new things. I took one star because of the assessment of students who are too poorly evaluated.

創建者 Hesham O K

Nov 13, 2015

it is great for citizens students, However, the speaker uses such a little hard vocabulary to understand for international students as me. I really enjoy in this course. Thanks.

創建者 Amaya.Wang

May 27, 2016

有很多有用的知识,只是全英文授课对于法学初学生且中文授课学生还是有点困难的

創建者 Augusta

Feb 11, 2016

i really did enjoy this course but it was very stressful terms of timing.

創建者 Micah K

Jul 07, 2017

Great course. Very useful skills and helpful lessons. Definitely a lot of work and the lectures aren't incredibly intuitive, but useful if you are preparing for your first year of law school.

創建者 Konstantinos A

Oct 02, 2019

Very interesting and well structured course. Its content undoubtedly cannot be found in every Law school. However, every person willing to enroll in this course must keep in mind that this particular course focuses primarily on American law and thus many a thing may be inapplicable to their homeland's special law.

創建者 gaurav j

Nov 09, 2019

great course.