Chevron Left
返回到 马上开始教英语!第二语言习得的理论

學生對 亚利桑那州立大学 提供的 马上开始教英语!第二语言习得的理论 的評價和反饋

4.9
5,323 個評分
1,617 條評論

課程概述

In this course learners are introduced to second or foreign language theories and practices for teaching and assessing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Learners will also be introduced to basic studies in second language acquisition and their pedagogical implications. Teachers will be invited to recognize the importance of grounding their own teaching philosophy through an examination of purpose, content, and technique....
突出顯示
Applicable teachings
(121 條評論)
Creatively designed course
(270 條評論)

熱門審閱

AA
2021年6月21日

Interesting courses! I am learning a lot. Thank you very much Coursera. I have just completed course 2 and been delivered a certificate but I just can't access my new course. What should I do, please?

ZY
2018年10月10日

Teachers are great. The course is fun and informative. I love this specialization. I look forward to completing all the courses as soon as possible. I highly recommend this course and specialization.

篩選依據:

26 - 马上开始教英语!第二语言习得的理论 的 50 個評論(共 1,584 個)

創建者 Aedrian A

2021年7月3日

This well-made offering is such an important course not only for getting TESOL/TEFL certification but for teaching in general. I deeply appreciate the intention of the Arizona State University TESOL Professional Certification creators in allotting a full course focusing on various teaching approaches developed throughout history. Each with their unique set of advantages and disadvantages, the emphasis is on aspiring TESOL Professional Certificate holders to craft their own learning philosophy/strategy based on their critical understanding of the approaches discussed. The centrality of contemplating on purpose, content and technique as a teacher, rather than blindly following a rigid pre-made approach for teaching, is successfully relayed.

創建者 Nathan H

2018年1月18日

As someone relatively new to language teaching, I found Theories of Second Language Acquisition in Teach English Now! extremely useful and relevant. The quality of the teaching on this course has exceeded my expectations. This is a brilliant concept. I can tell that a lot of time and effort has gone into developing this particular course. I thoroughly enjoyed the way the material in this course was delivered and the concepts were taught. On top this, I also learned a lot of interesting, practical ideas and strategies that I can potentially use in my lessons. Thank you so much for all your hard work. This is the best introduction to second language acquisition theories I have ever had.

創建者 RiCha r S

2016年12月19日

I liked the way this course added more to our plates. We learned more useful information that caused a need for taking notes and seeking further information. This course also provided great background with the interactive videos that were entertaining but also sequenced in such a way that a student would understand clarification would follow in the later videos if not garnered by the first video clip with the questions. I enjoyed the pacing, detail, research based knowledge, and assessment at the end - even if I did continuously read a few questions incorrectly. The approaches I now know and understand. Thank you for these courses.

創建者 Lucie W

2016年9月13日

It is a great class. At the beginning, I thought it was kind of stupid to act out the characters in a funny or even silly way, however, I realized that thanks to the dramatization, I can easily remember all different approaches because the characters are visually sticky in my head! The facial expressions, the gestures, the clothes, the wig, the accent, the instruments are all helping me remember. As a teacher, I not only get to know and compare different theories of language teaching, I also learned that we should not be shy to act. Teachers are actors, let us make our classroom more fun and engaging!

創建者 Lorain B

2017年12月17日

This is really an amazing program. The module contents are clear and well presented. Participants are given enough, flexible and reasonable time to complete the tasks. The ideas are profound but presented in easily, comprehensible way so that participants can absorb them in a short time. The videos presentations are excellent, vivid, and although they were not meant to entertain,t hey were all inspiring and fun. Truly well structured and well presented program for aspiring language teachers as well as for those who are already in the profession. Excellent!

創建者 Cristina S

2020年9月11日

I am thoroughly enjoying this course, It is very well organized and the presentations are all interesting. I am an ESL teacher but I haven't studied theory and practice in a while so this course is really helpful. It is helping me review theories and techniques. It is also helping me reflect on my own teaching and allowing me to think about what works and what should be emphasized in a language learning setting. I am very grateful for the humor and liveliness of each module. Professor Dixon is a very good actor and truly gets his message across!

創建者 Yolanda M

2021年6月27日

The course has great instructional design. Shane Dixon and Jessica Cinco are great professors, too. I have learned a lot and reflected on the ways in which I have acquired the English language - and why I have not acquired others that I tried to learn - and these learnings are already having an impact on the way I teach. The written assignments give us the opportunity to integrate what we learn each week, and reviewing our peers´writings lets us see what they assimilate and think. I look forward to keep learning with this program. Thank you very much.

創建者 Francis Y

2019年11月17日

This is another quality course in the TESOL certification series. Even though I have years of teaching experience, I have only had on-the-job training until now, so having approaches and theories presented to me was very helpful in consolidating why I have been taught to teach with certain techniques. The course also made me think about what kind of teacher I have been and can be. With the interesting ways that things were presented, I believe anyone, even those with no teaching experience, can easily understand the concepts in this course.

創建者 Sofia B

2016年2月7日

Amazing teachers, valuable information and top-quality materials! Thanks so much for making this course - I gained a lot from it, especially from giving and receiving feedback from fellow students. The only thing I didn't enjoy much are some questions in the tests because sometimes they seem a bit irrelevant. I would recommend making the tests a bit more to the point and reducing the amount of questions (especially the one in the final tests like "who inspired the angel and devil debate ":) Thanks for your work!!!

創建者 ELENA S

2020年5月19日

It was absolutely great time for me! It was extrememly interesting to observe how teaching approaches were pendulum swinging from one to another depending on the historical changes. So, it not only brings unvalued proffinecy enhancing but broadens your mind. I got to know a lot of fascinating stories about Ford Company and Navajo Code. I highly recommend this course in order to improve your teaching skills, to become more confident in teaching and to simply enjoy listening and reading such a pithy content.

創建者 Jennifer M

2021年1月18日

I enjoyed how Dr. Shane changed his characters in every language approach discussed! It was really challenging learning via online or self-paced but I felt whenever I watched the videos, Miss Jessica and Dr. Shane were really alive especially when they were playing as Jack and Jill, giving their commentaries. Though, I already learned those way back in college, it's just sink in my mind just now.

I might say, they walk their talk. They really practice what they preached in every lesson.

Kudos!

創建者 Hina M

2020年8月20日

A heartfelt thanks to everyone who is part of putting this course together. Learning about eight approaches to language teaching can be simply overwhelming and tedious, but hats off to the most interesting way it has been done. No one is ever going to forget the tutor, Dr. Shane. What an extraordinary teacher and actor. Thanks to Justin Shewell who designed this course. Jessica Cinco's cheerful personality also keeps you glued to the videos. Fantastic Course!! A superlative effort by all!!

創建者 利平 L 卢 L

2017年7月5日

Thanks a lot for such great courses, i learned a lot, not because of the info or knowledge but also beacause of such course that my past experience and knowledge became quite clear and organized, which really helped me in my current job as an english learning coach. I am willing to take the next course to finish all TESOL classes suggested, then something to string all those scattered thoughts try my best to be a good english teacher. Thank you!

創建者 Valentina G

2019年9月26日

This course is just amazing. I found out how important to understand the purpose of learning the language of your students. And choose the most appropriate approach to the teaching process according to that. Also, I was introduced to 8 different approaches to teaching. Understanding of those methods helps to create content that is accurate for the individual needs of my students and use the most suitable techniques for each specific case.

創建者 Carrie H C

2016年1月8日

In my university, I had to spend the whole semester only to study the theories of second language acquisition; my old-fashioned professors made me write down what they say and memorize all of them. And after 5 years of graduation, I don't remember a thing. BUT this course brought my old memories back and get them classified in a very simple and clear way; plus it didn't take so much time! I really enjoyed the course. Thank you Dr Shane!

創建者 Geraldine H

2020年3月31日

Good day to a dynamic Team,

Goodness me; talk about a Rollercoaster, this is my second course and I’m still trying to apply brakes. I found the course fun and professionally put together. I had to extend myself beyond my own imagination. I found the structure user friendly and the content enlightening, forcing one to think out of the box, and you can only grow! I am excited to start the next course! Thank you all for your dedication.

創建者 Marinko B

2017年8月27日

This course definitely elucidates that teaching is not just a one-way approach. There is much one can gather from this course, from why languages were taught a certain why, what purposes they served, who the students were, and what we can learn from those different approaches. Most importantly, every teacher can come out of this course with an appreciation of different strengths and weaknesses that any particular method may have.

創建者 Dr. G S R

2016年8月15日

Really wonderful course in many different ways..... how it was laid out, the instructors unique way of coverage, content provided, nature of assignment and of course Coursera platform adds that ease of use and trust-quotient....

I wonder if they can find some course on "speech analysis" or "acoustic phonetics" or "Praat programme". For language teachers this situate them quite nicely into framework of various language theories....

創建者 Inna Z

2018年8月16日

That was my second course of the Teach English Now! programme. This course had given me a deeper insight on my current way of teaching. And I'm very grateful to the whole team of the course that managed to present such a complicated subject in an inspiring and really spectacular way. After having finished each of the modules, I was looking forward to continuing my studies and my interest towards this course is still insatiable.

創建者 Trung H H

2020年12月27日

Full of information, yet still manageable. The lecturers are amazingly good and can be real models. I really appreciate the way they use metaphors, videos, and stories to convey the messages. The course is well organized so that all the knowledge is delivered effectively and students can have a deeper understanding of the subjects through assignments, review sessions, and retrieval parts at the beginning of each new lesson.

創建者 James J

2019年11月1日

I am a practical person. I think theories often have little to do with application. However, this course presents both teaching theory and the relevant applications in a fun way. I also like the style of this course. This course presents information in bite sized pieces. It asks for you to critically think about the information provided.

I think 5-star reviews should be rarely given. However, this course deserves all 5.

創建者 Srinidhi

2018年7月10日

It takes us along in the time travel back to 1880 to 1980 to brief different teaching methods. The caricature videos of teachers from different periods explaining their methodologies are a visual treat and concisely give us the crux of each method. The discussions about the pros and cons of each strategy give us valuable take home message and a great insight to figure out our own teaching principles and goals.

創建者 Kathy A

2016年12月13日

This course was so helpful. I could see the why of how classes were set up with VIPKID and which theories were in place. I also gained valuable insight in how to implement strategies for different learning styles. The course was easy to follow, and the assessment at the end of each lesson helped in organizing the information I learned for future recall. Thank you Coursera for offering this opportunity.

創建者 SULIMAN A S A

2015年12月27日

Honestly, It's one of the best course in the world. I've enjoyed and learned a lot from this amazing course. In addition, I was a bit confusing about teaching approach, but after finishing the course, I can work with different approaches in teaching, moreover, I can choose which approach is suitable for my students and which not capable for them. However, I would love to thank you all teachers, classmates.

創建者 Nataliya K

2016年3月11日

Great course! I highly recommend it to everyone who is interested in ESL teaching and learning. Dr. Shawn Dixon is not an instructor - he is a real actor. He turns on his lectures into shows. It was my 15th course on Coursera, all of them were interesting and useful, but it was the funniest one! I have never seen a complex and boring theory outlining so exciting. Believe me, you will enjoy this course!