Chevron Left
返回到 近代中国散居的犹太人

學生對 南京大学 提供的 近代中国散居的犹太人 的評價和反饋

4.3
104 個評分
36 條評論

課程概述

Jewish Diaspora in China is a unique experience for world Jewry, as China is the only country in Far East that has had Jews living in its society for over 1,000 years. Documentary evidence shows that Jews started to live in China no later than the Tang Dynasty (618–907). The famous Kaifeng Jewish community, which was established in Kaifeng, the Chinese capital of the Song Dynasty (960-1279), is but a best-known example. However, the largest Jewish Diaspora in China appeared in modern times. In over 100 years, from the mid-19th century to the mid-20th century, about 40,000 Jews came to China and lived in newly-established major port cities such as Hong Kong, Shanghai, Tianjin, and Harbin. Jewish communities composed of these Jews became an essential part of the economic and social life of those modern Chinese cities. What brought such a large number of Jews to China? Where did these people come from? How did they arrive? Were they all in China at the same time, and were there any differences among them? What happened to them after they arrived? Where are they now? The story of Jews in modern China is certainly a fascinating and up-lifting one. This course will examine these questions and more....

熱門審閱

RS
2015年10月28日

The subject matter of this course was new for me and was very interesting. I appreciate Professor Xin Xu and Nanjing University for providing this learning opportunity.\n\nThank you

LL
2016年6月18日

The professor and the archival materials such as photographs are very engaging. The historical periods studied are fascinating, and well-suited to a short course.

篩選依據:

1 - 近代中国散居的犹太人 的 25 個評論(共 36 個)

創建者 Pamela F

2015年8月29日

One of the best courses I have taken on Cousera. Very good instructor. It was more work than some of the courses I have taken because of the number of peer assessments, but I have really enjoyed it. I would be interested in taking other courses from Nanjing University and/or this instructor.

創建者 Lisa W

2017年3月22日

I am thoroughly enjoying this course and I've learned so much! I had no idea that there were Jews in China and that so many fled there as a result of persecution in other countries. This has opened my eyes to a subject I knew nothing about and I love learning!!

創建者 Randy P O

2017年5月27日

This was a wonderful course and so informative. It helps me advocate for the Kaifeng Jews with American elected officials and informed my advocacy. I have so enjoyed the course and have bought a book by the Professor.

創建者 Alice Z

2015年11月18日

Fascinating thoughtful look into Chinese interactions.

Excellent peer assessments if you pay attention to what is told you about the focus.

Only drawback, for me, was no downloadable txt [when took course].

創建者 Judi T

2015年8月29日

THE COURSE IS EXTREMELY INTERESTING AND VERY CLEARLY PRESENTED.

IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THE PROFESSOR IS PASSIONATE ABOUT THE SUBJECT.

I AM LEARNING A LOT AND GRATEFUL FOR THE INFORMATION

JUDI TURNER

創建者 Rebecca S

2015年10月29日

The subject matter of this course was new for me and was very interesting. I appreciate Professor Xin Xu and Nanjing University for providing this learning opportunity.

Thank you

創建者 L.G.

2016年6月18日

The professor and the archival materials such as photographs are very engaging. The historical periods studied are fascinating, and well-suited to a short course.

創建者 Marsha P

2016年11月14日

This was a great course. I was a History major in college, but the information that I learned in this course was a complete surprise to me.

創建者 Randall D

2015年10月16日

Excellent class with good use of photographs and video. The professor was clear and interesting. Content was fascinating.

創建者 Jorge E M A

2015年10月16日

A story of perseverance, courage and respect among nations, a thank the Chinese people for sharing an unknown history.

創建者 Jesslyn T

2015年10月17日

Very interesting subject! Although I would also like to learn about this subject in relation to

創建者 Linda W

2015年8月21日

Very interesting subject. I have learned a lot of interesting history of the Jewish people.

創建者 Harriett G

2016年6月27日

Learned much. Instructor was well organized. Subtitles were extremely beneficial.

創建者 Matthew J

2015年9月4日

A really lovely course; good pacing, fantastic presentation. Lovingly crafted.

創建者 Emily T

2016年2月1日

Very informative, taught with great pictures and at a good pace.

創建者 Laura D G

2015年8月27日

I learn so many things I didn't even imagine. Thank you so much!

創建者 Jose R

2015年11月18日

EXcelente curso, muy bien documentado, muy buen profesor. :-)

創建者 tahnna

2015年12月1日

Excellent course. Complete and very interresting. Objective.

創建者 李瑞

2016年2月12日

通过学习这一课程,我对散居中国的犹太人有了更深刻的认识,满足了我对犹太人研究的兴趣。非常感谢徐老师的精彩讲解!

創建者 Nazerul K B

2015年11月14日

Its been an eye opening experience.

創建者 Asya T

2017年5月27日

Thanks!waiting for my Certificate!

創建者 Pamela J R

2016年4月25日

This course was unique in several ways. It covers a subject from WWII and Jewish history that is largely overlooked. The lectures were interspersed with video that added a unique flavor. The students seem to come from a variety of countries. As a student, some of the lecture material was difficult to understand, though presented in English; subtitles helped. If there is a complaint of deficiency, it is the lack of support, feedback, or availability of staff on comment boards. I encountered a problem due to a mis-counting of the peer reviews completed, and a delay in my grade, so finally gave up and kept doing peer reviews until it showed as complete. The peer reviews on my own assignments were delayed. I think 4 peer reviews is too much, whether from low enrollment, language barrier or other issue. But I learned much, and this added to my current study of the role of China in WWII.

創建者 Manuela E

2015年9月23日

I thought this was a very interesting course on a topic I knew nothing about. Apart from the history of the Jews in China I learnt a great deal about China in the 19th and 20th century.

My only criticism of the course was the very confusing rubric for peer marking the assignments. The criteria were very specific and , in my view, didn't necessarily reflect the subject of the essay.

創建者 Matthew P

2016年1月4日

I learned a lot in this course and highly recommend it. I lived in Tianjin for over four years and often passed the old Synagogue and wondered about its history. The videos in this series are well done and the information is just enough to be eye opening and engaging without being burdensome. I also learned quite a bit from the other participants in the course.

創建者 Steven M J M

2015年8月16日

Filled in many gaps in my knowledge. I had a high school friend in San Francisco whose family was part of the Shanghai Jewish community during WW 2 -- and I feel that I get his family better after taking this course. Thank you.