Chevron Left
返回到 Java 程序设计:使用软件解题

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Java 程序设计:使用软件解题 的評價和反饋

4.6
5,729 個評分
1,199 條評論

課程概述

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

熱門審閱

FA
2017年10月7日

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
2019年10月15日

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

篩選依據:

26 - Java 程序设计:使用软件解题 的 50 個評論(共 1,179 個)

創建者 Wesley N

2020年1月22日

The course content was excellent. I highly recommend taking this class for anyone who wants to get a quick start in java or refresh it after a long time off. The exercises are wonderful at introducing basic problem solving skills by way of highly relevant real world examples.

If you are familiar with another programming language, especially a less demanding one like Python, this course will help you get used to the more rigorous requirements of Java syntax.

Now, why the two stars? Week 4 is fraught with errors. If you code the final project EXACTLY as asked in the assignment, using the EXACT definitions of all methods, the highest score you can get on the quiz is a 42. In other words, you must code and provide incorrect answers to pass the test. These mistakes have been pointed out repeatedly to moderators in the user forums for several years and no changes have been made to address the errors in the curriculum. Because this is a paid service, I find that highly unacceptable.

創建者 Leo C

2017年8月30日

I already had some programming experience - a semester of C (I can use pointers!) and some web development and I found this course very, very challenging and time consuming but ultimately very rewarding. The problem areas covered are really interesting and it is obvious that a lot of thought and effort has gone into making this course.

I would not recommend this course or specialization to a complete beginner unless they have a lot of spare time and are prepared to go slow and deal with a lot of frustration. There seems to be some excellent courses for complete beginners out there that would be a better place to start one's coding adventure.

創建者 Kazi H R

2020年7月17日

Though the course name includes java,it's more of a problem solving course using some functionalities form the edu.duke library designed to supplement the course.This course may not give you knowledge of java that much but it will surely improve your problem solving capability by introducing some interesting problems such as finding all genes from a DNA strand or making conclusions from large amount of data read from CSV files or converting an image to a gray-scale or inverted image.Nonetheless, for anyone interested to solve creative programming problems this is an absolute goldmine

創建者 Frederico V A

2017年10月7日

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

創建者 Тюрина В

2019年8月9日

Понравился курс, все понятно и подробно объясняется. Очень понравились практические задания!

創建者 Ferdousi H

2020年5月17日

I really learn about clear concept of Java

創建者 Alexander S

2020年9月28日

Very good course, my only recommendation is that the 'necessary' time to pass different tasks (especially readings) ought to be fixed. 4-8 hours a week is extremely inaccurate in my perspective, bearing in mind that i have close to 3 years of programming experience with C++ and C#, it took me at least 12-15 hours a week.

創建者 Dedeepya V

2020年7月23日

The course is good, an excellent way to improve Java programming skills. But it is definitely not meant for beginners. I learnt Java years ago, and i took up this course with an intention of picking up Java again and to continue coding in it, that is why i found it slightly confusing at the starting, but after which i managed to follow through. Though this course is excellent to improve coding, It is not meant for those who have general programming experience, I would say it is more for those who have "Java" programming experience beforehand and a strong grip over the basic Java programming.

創建者 Deleted A

2017年12月23日

the way practice assignments are written is very confusing and misleading at times. please improve on the writing style. it takes time to understand what the written instructions mean. its very difficult to complete assignments otherwise!

創建者 Chadrick A E

2018年3月31日

The instruction for the first week was quite basic and taught the learner little about how to actually write code in Java. However the assignments, which scarcely reflect the instruction, dive into code you were not taught how to write, and at a level well beyond any reasonable estimation of a true beginner. The assignment instructions are somewhat confusing and the necessary resources are scattered here and there. The first quiz reflected the homework, and so was likewise beyond anything that was actually taught. As well, its resources have to be gathered from here and there. The discussion board is rife with complaints echoing what I just wrote, as well as complaints about the basic course design and organization problems. These complaints are an ongoing issue, and stretch for almost a year back. Unless you are a fair hand at programming in a related language already, I would not sign up for this course.

創建者 Kirk S

2017年6月27日

The instructors were not around for help or commentary and the videos and lessons were sub-par.

創建者 Nadav Z

2015年11月10日

Couldn't fiish the course. Not hard, but exhausting and not interesting.

創建者 Enric M

2015年11月24日

This is a good Java Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBWX97e1E9g&list=PLE7E8B7F4856C9B19

I followed two videos and I'm learning in my way.

I left the course because the ammount of time required was too high. For example, for one part of an exercise I spent a total of 12 hours distributed in 3 days. For the other part of the exercise I spent 1 hour. Also, in the part one, the last exercise was tremendouly difficult for begginers and for someone (my case) that know one language.

You are making people hate Java. This is not for begginers. I have to say that the part of codepen and HTML was great.

Fortunatelly, I didn't pay. But I think that paying for this course is a waste of money. I had a good experience in other Coursera programming course: "An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python" of Rice Unviersity. The examples were awesome and the tests were reasonable, quite the opposite to this course.

Also, Eclipse is so much better than BlueJ in many ways, also into learning...

And there's more things that must be improved, but no time and no money.

I'm very dissapointed to this course and Duke Univeristy.

創建者 Natalie R

2017年11月8日

This course is a huge disappointment. It is impossible to start the first assignment due to lack of information or examples of any kind. Many of the students have posted the same issue on the discussion forum and we are receiving no answers from mentors. This specific class is extremely frustrating and a huge waste of time. I am not the only one who thinks this!!!!! Someone should fix this class before they loose a lot of subscriptions because students are frustrated!!!!!

創建者 Dr J R C

2016年9月30日

Use of Duke own specialised librarie ~ not the best way of learning progamming for the real world.

創建者 罗俊平

2020年4月6日

Impossible to download anything from the resources website

創建者 vikas v

2020年2月1日

This is all teached in Bluej which is tough to understand

創建者 Sean E

2020年1月27日

Had to buy a SECOND JAVA book to get through this

創建者 Sowat H R

2020年4月26日

Too hard for beginners.

創建者 Nancy W

2018年9月10日

I had been out of programming for many years, and decided to try this Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software course by Duke University on Coursera.org. I really liked the course! It is a great review for me of Java programming basics, without the technical jargon that goes along with object oriented programming. The really nice part is that I can see object oriented principles in action! I enjoyed the way Duke University uses the 7 step process for solving problems consistently through the course. They break problems down into small, manageable pieces, that build up to solving a larger problem. Some concepts include: Basic Java syntax, definitions of class, instance variables and methods (functions); variables, For each loops, While loops, Strings, Java types and Java mathematical operators. The assignments were interesting, and include calculating the perimeter of a shape, finding genes in a strand of DNA, working with CSV formatted files to analyze weather data and to find exports from different countries, and finishing with a MiniProject to find interesting trends in American Baby Names from a CSV formatted data files. The Honors assignment was also fun: processing multiple images to convert them to gray scale, or invert the images, and save them with a new filename. Another really nice aspect of this course is that you use a Duke University (on Coursera) version of BlueJ, an interactive design environment for creating Java programs - where everything is a class! The instructors at Duke have created their own java library, with classes to help new learners easily open and close files in the BlueJ environment, and work with Pixels in an image. Duke also has good documentation for each class, which to me, is better than the documentation on the java oracle website. While the Java documentation on the oracle website is still very difficult to read, I have gotten used to looking some documented class, like Strings, and clicking on the "methods" tab to look at what you can do with them. However, you really do not need to refer to the Java Oracle documentation to complete the assignments - all you need is the documentation from Duke University! I really liked this class!

創建者 Mahboob E

2017年3月2日

First two courses are awesome and really built the sense how to tackle real world problems like software engineer.I have learnt a lot from these two courses and eager to learn something new in upcoming course. I only knew very little about C++ and afraid from coding because i forgot syntax and couldn't built and fit logic correctly but after completing these two courses very good percentage in this specialization i feel comfortable towards any language. This specialization is gateway for other languages for me. It helps me to throw my hesitation in coding.

All teachers are good in delivering concept.Also the assignments and mini projects are really challenging , hence they polish concepts that teacher delivers in lectures.

Further more i really likes the shirts of Dr.Robert. I appreciate coursera and Duke MOOCS teams for organizing this very novice friendly to expert course on Java.

I hope and waiting for next serialization which leads from where this one left.

創建者 Swarnesh R J

2018年6月19日

This is a very well put together course, efficient lecture videos and some brilliant quiz exercises. But the expected times are way off. Some of the assignments which say that expected time is 10 mins might take hours even for an experienced coder, let alone a novice in this field. Moreover, I posted 4-5 threads on discussion forum and I never received even a single reply. If i have paid for this course I would expect to get my doubts cleared but the mentors and even the peers don't respond to discussion forum. One of the codes in a lecture video is actually incorrect and will not produce the desired output in one special case. I pointed that out in discussion forum but no one responded. So I did learn many things from this course but I never got my doubts cleared, so I would not recommend this course to a beginner.

創建者 Jade F

2018年12月2日

This is a great first course to take at Coursera - you'll find the the content is high quality, the assignments progressively challenge you, and sets the tone that you're going to get a lot out of the courses but it's something you'll have to work for.

I thoroughly enjoyed the process of moving through the course and would recommend it to others, with the caveat that you're not going to just breeze through without putting in some time to focus on the assignments.

I definitely feel that I came away having advanced my skills and having accomplished something! That's the highest accolade you could give to any training.

Thanks!

創建者 ZUsas

2018年10月6日

Beutifully done! Well organized. The assignments were challenging, but were well documented, so it was easy to follow along and complete them.

The two projects at the end of the course were terrific as well. I really enjoyed working on them and then showing them to friends and family.

The videos were clear, coherent and concise. I could watch them on the go and sometimes all at once. I loved that flexibility. The topics were also well chosen. Basic programming. But still quite challenging.

Excellent course! I highly recommend it. I look forward to completing the rest of the specialization as well.

創建者 Elohim F F D C

2020年4月8日

I'm very disappointed about the Baby Names quizes answers, It kept me 2 days finding the errors you set as correct answers, I had to modify my code in order to respond an incorrect answer. I can deal with Lecture erros like the one you stated that .getCSVParser(false) returns no header (False). The .getCSVParser(false) returns a header so the answer to getRank() returns an extra number wrong number that never gives you the rank 1. You should have fixed this error on the quiz so you don't frustrate the students with wrong answers. If you change the answers I'll change my one stars review to 5 stars.