Chevron Left
返回到 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的評價和反饋

4.7
549 個評分
102 條評論

課程概述

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

熱門審閱

GW
2016年2月18日

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

JP
2020年6月2日

It’s a great project requiring good application of java. Some steps were hard to follow but understood them after some time. A good project to end a specialisation course. Cheers.

篩選依據:

76 - Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的 98 個評論(共 98 個)

創建者 Phạm N T

2019年11月3日

good

創建者 于泽众

2017年9月13日

nice

創建者 Γεώργιος Κ

2020年5月24日

This is definitely a good and useful capstone but a 5-star rating is maybe too much. The main disadvantage of the course is that it has not enough support from students or mentors in the discussion rooms. The second disadvantage is that building continuously on the top of other classes adds complexity to the final project. For one who has finished all 4 previous courses, I definitely recommend that course as a must.

The course should be supported by the creators and further improved because this is one of the best specializations. The concept of it is to guide you from a non-programmer to a junior java developer by focusing on fundamental structures of programming.

創建者 Peter G W

2019年1月14日

This whole series really challenged me but I've learned more from this course than any of my other previous attempts to learn programming. I feel a lot more confident now taking on more challenges in software development. There were some homework problems near the end that could have been explained a little better (sometimes I was overthinking it). I also felt that perhaps instead of BlueJ, I would've liked to use something like Eclipse in order to better understand the main() function. All in all, I would definitely recommend this course for those interested in programming or wanting to learn Java.

創建者 Muhammad F B J

2020年5月21日

It was a good summary of everything that was taught. However due to the long gap from the initial exposure to CSV parsing and html table to now, it was not easy accomplishing the tasks as a lot of external reference was required to solve the problems given. Some of the exercises were phrased sort of ambiguously which made it hard to comprehend

創建者 Md. A

2020年7月14日

The capstone was helpful for learning core software development practices. One can learn interface, abstraction, recommender system implementation and many more from the course. But, some instructions were pretty unclear and specially the peer reviewed assignment submission instruction was vague.

創建者 Shaun R

2019年3月28日

Most everything was good in this course. There were a few things that they didn't explain how to do ever throughout this 5 course program which was frustrating, but other students helped to fill the gaps on that part. Otherwise it was a great course that helped me put all of my knowledge to use.

創建者 Michael B

2016年3月6日

Great conclusion to the courses in this Specialization. I would not recommend it for those already (very) familiar with Java but for those starting out with Java this Capstone is just difficult enough to be challenging yet not too easy.

創建者 Guangchen X

2019年3月1日

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

創建者 SHREYANSH J

2019年10月21日

Wonderful course learned a lot by making a recommendation system...but some assignments are bit hard to understand what they want from you but everything else is fine. Everyone must take this course

創建者 Deepika J

2020年11月29日

We can view this project only using Duke's Platform. It would have been much better had this capstone guided us in deploying our project in the form of a web-app.

創建者 Kerstin K

2017年5月28日

Course was good, great programming assignments.

But you can forget the discussion forums. No Mentors or Staff really present.

創建者 罗杰彬

2016年2月11日

It's a great course. Students build a simple search engine step by step in the course.

創建者 FANGRONG P

2016年2月19日

The project is a little bit easy yet tedious, a good practice of using Java though.

創建者 Alexandre C

2017年6月16日

Nice introduction to Java and programing principles in general

創建者 Roberto R

2017年3月9日

it was another nice exercise

創建者 Lei H

2018年6月10日

Very interesting project!

創建者 William G

2020年11月15日

This is the only course I didn't like in any way. Enforced bad naming conventions to make a programme already built run with a website is more like three steps back than any steps ahead. For those who don't care about completing a specialization I would advise to spend your time somewhere else. You won't learn anything from this course. But it does get you that nice certificate - worth it? You decide.

Course 2-4 of the specialization are amazing though.

創建者 Ahmed N A

2019年9月5日

Once again the lecturers decide to give you 30% of the project and tell you to complete it. The first two weeks tells you to build a flimsy base for your application and the other two tell you to pull your crap together and go back and fix it. I don't understand what the point of that was, why didn't you make me do it right from the start? It was more frustrating than helpful but it wasn't a bad project, just poorly handled. Hard to call it my own when

創建者 Martin G

2018年7月18日

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system

創建者 Dionte J

2020年3月17日

I submitted a question to the forum back in Oct. 2019 for assistance with the last course in this specialization. It's now March 2020, I have gotten no feedback from moderators or course instructors, and this was the last course I needed to complete to earn my certificate. However, I refuse to continue paying a subscription fee for a course that isn't monitored or maintained.

創建者 Carlo T

2021年10月15日

Tutors are not around and found it difficult to complete the capstone project

創建者 Артем Р А

2021年1月8日

useless and unprofessional