Chevron Left
返回到 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System

學生對 杜克大学 提供的 Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的評價和反饋

4.7
355 個評分
64 個審閱

課程概述

Ever wonder how Netflix decides what movies to recommend for you? Or how Amazon recommends books? We can get a feel for how it works by building a simplified recommender of our own! In this capstone, you will show off your problem solving and Java programming skills by creating recommender systems. You will work with data for movies, including ratings, but the principles involved can easily be adapted to books, restaurants, and more. You will write a program to answer questions about the data, including which items should be recommended to a user based on their ratings of several movies. Given input files on users ratings and movie titles, you will be able to: 1. Read in and parse data into lists and maps; 2. Calculate average ratings; 3. Calculate how similar a given rater is to another user based on ratings; and 4. Recommend movies to a given user based on ratings. 5. Display recommended movies for a given user on a webpage....

熱門審閱

GW

Feb 19, 2016

I really like this approach to a final project. I learned a lot outside of the course by using a different, full-featured IDE and writing unit tests for my code. Pretty challenging!

MA

Oct 17, 2019

THe courses really tested my overall knowledge of other courses that I have done in past 3 months. REally great learning. Thank you.

篩選依據:

51 - Java Programming: Build a Recommendation System 的 59 個評論(共 59 個)

創建者 罗杰彬

Feb 11, 2016

It's a great course. Students build a simple search engine step by step in the course.

創建者 Kerstin K

May 28, 2017

Course was good, great programming assignments.

But you can forget the discussion forums. No Mentors or Staff really present.

創建者 Alexandre C

Jun 16, 2017

Nice introduction to Java and programing principles in general

創建者 Guangchen X

Mar 01, 2019

Not enough submissions to review at the end. So not very friendly to self pace learning. Had to wait to review other people's submissions before complete the course, which may waste some time since it's paid by month.

創建者 Roberto R

Mar 09, 2017

it was another nice exercise

創建者 SHREYANSH J

Oct 21, 2019

Wonderful course learned a lot by making a recommendation system...but some assignments are bit hard to understand what they want from you but everything else is fine. Everyone must take this course

創建者 Michael B

Mar 06, 2016

Great conclusion to the courses in this Specialization. I would not recommend it for those already (very) familiar with Java but for those starting out with Java this Capstone is just difficult enough to be challenging yet not too easy.

創建者 Martin G

Jul 18, 2018

Didn't liked this course. Maybe I excepted more from the idea to build a recommendation system

創建者 Ahmed N A

Sep 05, 2019

Once again the lecturers decide to give you 30% of the project and tell you to complete it. The first two weeks tells you to build a flimsy base for your application and the other two tell you to pull your crap together and go back and fix it. I don't understand what the point of that was, why didn't you make me do it right from the start? It was more frustrating than helpful but it wasn't a bad project, just poorly handled. Hard to call it my own when