Chevron Left
返回到 Java for Android

學生對 范德堡大学 提供的 Java for Android 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,452 個評分
376 條評論

課程概述

This MOOC teaches you how to program core features and classes from the Java programming language that are used in Android, which is the dominant platform for developing and deploying mobile device apps. In particular, this MOOC covers key Java programming language features that control the flow of execution through an app (such as Java’s various looping constructs and conditional statements), enable access to structured data (such as Java's built-in arrays and common classes in the Java Collections Framework, such as ArrayList and HashMap), group related operations and data into classes and interfaces (such as Java's primitive and user-defined types, fields, methods, generic parameters, and exceptions), customize the behavior of existing classes via inheritance and polymorphism (such as subclassing and overriding virtual methods). Learners will apply these Java features in the context of core Android components (such as Activities and basic UI elements) by applying common tools (such as Android Studio) needed to develop Java programs and useful Android apps. Learners will work on several hands-on projects throughout the MOOC, i.e., each week will require learners to write solutions to programming assignments that reinforce the material covered in the lecture videos. There will be roughly 4-6 hours of student engagement time per week, including video lectures, quizzes, and programming assignments....

熱門審閱

SV

Jun 28, 2018

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

SP

Nov 17, 2019

Excellent !! As a beginner I found this course a major kick-start to building a strong base for my Android app skills. A lot of practice needed though, but these videos would keep me going well

篩選依據:

326 - Java for Android 的 350 個評論(共 372 個)

創建者 Ivan K

May 18, 2016

The course is nice, lectures is fine.

But assignments is a bullshit. The instructions are uncertain, with typos. There is random number used, and you have to do magic with your algorithm in order to match expected output. I strongly dislike it.

創建者 Debaditya S

Jul 04, 2019

The peer review assignment system is the worst....it demands 5 reviews and am still not able to fetch a single one......had to plead to so many unknown people in the discussion forums yet no response..............i hate this.

創建者 Scott W

Aug 10, 2016

Its a solid java class that has almost 0 android learning. If you are expecting any kind of Android related learning. you will get none this is 100% a java class that just runs in the android environment.

創建者 Prabhjot S

May 24, 2019

In my opinion, this mooc has pretty hard assignments to do, for basic things like 'for loop', they had created such tough assignments which require high thinking & logic.

創建者 João P A M

May 17, 2016

I liked the course contents, but in my opinion the slides should be more modern, and the main idea in each lesson should get more highlight, and the ideas to retain too.

創建者 Rishabh N

Apr 05, 2020

The course is well structured but a bit boring at times. Overall the instructor's knowledge of the subject is good. The course could be more interactive.

創建者 Ashish N

Nov 25, 2019

Teaching methods used in java, are not so good. So, please improve it upload new videos in this course.

This step would be really helpful

創建者 Ali A

Mar 31, 2017

if you're a somewhat experienced programmer looking to start and hand on learn how to build apps this course is not for you.

創建者 kavita s

Jul 14, 2019

upload zip file details are not properly given in last two assignments and projects are given on oldest methods.

創建者 Andrey Z

Jun 25, 2018

Good course in general but there are many errors and missing information in the assignments specifications.

創建者 Lydia R

May 28, 2018

very nice course, but i would give less focus on algoritmia and i would focus more on android

創建者 Akshay R

Aug 27, 2016

Very brief for java for android should add more details.

創建者 Dmytro N

Jan 01, 2018

Course is very-very basic. No response from the stuff.

創建者 Bhargav R G

Aug 05, 2019

Good course. It could be made more interesting.

創建者 theokanellopoulos24@gmail.com

Jul 01, 2016

Too little detail but nice course as an idea.

創建者 Sathya N R

Nov 07, 2017

Programs should have been taught more.

創建者 Miguel Á R G

Aug 15, 2016

Its learning curve is almost vertical.

創建者 Mustafa

Aug 12, 2016

excellent course - Mustafa & Ed

創建者 Akash C

Oct 17, 2016

Good course. Bad arrangement!

創建者 Lokesh k

Jul 26, 2019

Female teacher not goood

創建者 Eiknath T

Mar 06, 2019

nice

創建者 Syed R M

May 16, 2016

I am relatively experienced programmer trying to just understand the Android app development framework and solve some interesting challenges along the way. I feel the course, was very painstaking in terms of code reviewing other people's work.

If I were to break up the time I spent doing the course work, it would be as follows:

30 % useful work

70 % taking care of course logistics (code review, writing comments on every line of code just so that people being asked to review my work are happy). Why do we have to do so many code reviews? Not every assignment requires people's coding style to be evaluated. It places an unnecessary time burden on people who are taking this course not as full time student. Its also reducing the total amount of knowledge that is being disseminated. We should be learning about Android for 4 more hours rather than reviewing code for other people for 4 more hours.

The thing I found most frustrating is that the assignments are trying to force a particular coding style on everyone. Since I am an experienced programmer, I understand the importance of coding style, creating functions and all that. However, how I structure my code and how many comments I write are entirely my choice.

Now, while I understand that the course material itself does not ask you to structure code one way or another; the review guidelines that are being given to some very inexperienced programmers, makes them believe that this is the only way things should be done. Its a subtle form of style enforcement which I did not appreciate.

創建者 Chuck M

Aug 05, 2016

This course wasn't well suited to me, being a person with a programming background. It was too introductory. But that doesn't say anything against the course. The reason I don't rate the course highly is that it just wasn't that coherent. I would have preferred to have a single, consistently good instructor.

創建者 Mac K

Nov 05, 2016

Should just be called 'Introduction of Java for absolute beginners'. I don't recall anything '...for Android' about the coding.

Some of the lecturers are so bad at speaking that it's painful to listen to. I really expected better.

創建者 Alejandro B

Jul 05, 2018

Some of the concepts are outdated such as conventions for private fields and thoughts around comments and documentation. Also the class seems more about object oriented programming than java for android.