Chevron Left
返回到 Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation

學生對 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation 的評價和反饋

4.8
486 個評分
108 個審閱

課程概述

In this course, we will discuss fundamental principles of trading off risk and return, portfolio optimization, and security pricing. We will study and use risk-return models such as the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and multi-factor models to evaluate the performance of various securities and portfolios. Specifically, we will learn how to interpret and estimate regressions that provide us with both a benchmark to use for a security given its risk (determined by its beta), as well as a risk-adjusted measure of the security’s performance (measured by its alpha). Building upon this framework, market efficiency and its implications for patterns in stock returns and the asset-management industry will be discussed. Finally, the course will conclude by connecting investment finance with corporate finance by examining firm valuation techniques such as the use of market multiples and discounted cash flow analysis. The course emphasizes real-world examples and applications in Excel throughout. This course is the first of two on Investments that I am offering online (“Investments II: Lessons and Applications for Investors” is the second course). The over-arching goals of this course are to build an understanding of the fundamentals of investment finance and provide an ability to implement key asset-pricing models and firm-valuation techniques in real-world situations. Specifically, upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Explain the tradeoffs between risk and return • Form a portfolio of securities and calculate the expected return and standard deviation of that portfolio • Understand the real-world implications of the Separation Theorem of investments • Use the Capital Asset Pricing Model (CAPM) and 3-Factor Model to evaluate the performance of an asset (like stocks) through regression analysis • Estimate and interpret the ALPHA (α) and BETA (β) of a security, two statistics commonly reported on financial websites • Describe what is meant by market efficiency and what it implies for patterns in stock returns and for the asset-management industry • Understand market multiples and income approaches to valuing a firm and its stock, as well as the sensitivity of each approach to assumptions made • Conduct specific examples of a market multiples valuation and a discounted cash flow valuation This course was previously entitled “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” and was part of a previous specialization entitled "Improving Business and Finances Operations", which is now closed to new learner enrollment. “Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Investments” received an average rating of 4.8 out of 5 based on 199 reviews over the period August 2015 through August 2016. You can view a detailed summary of the ratings and reviews for this course in the Course Overview section. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

熱門審閱

DH

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

KL

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

篩選依據:

1 - Investments I: Fundamentals of Performance Evaluation 的 25 個評論(共 104 個)

創建者 Ben N

Mar 28, 2018

I've taken several investments classes on Coursera and this is the best presentation of CAPM I've seen. Really systematic and entertaining presentation. I will recommend it to friends.

創建者 Sachin P X

Nov 10, 2018

One of the best courses across platforms- classroom or online that I have taken. Huge real life value addition. Professor Scott has worked incredibly hard in putting this valuable content.

創建者 Ponciano R

Jan 31, 2019

Fantastic course full of detailed and well explained examples!

創建者 Keith K D

Dec 14, 2018

Great course, I learned a lot of new things

創建者 Stella A

Jan 02, 2019

Very useful course! Many thanks to Scott.

創建者 Aashish S

Feb 10, 2019

Amazing course. Gained a lot of insights regarding investments.

創建者 Kedves H

Dec 19, 2018

Profound, a lot of information, nice presentation, helpful Professor, lighthearted style.

I can only recommend it.

It takes time, but it definitely

worth it!

創建者 Kenny S

Dec 19, 2018

Amazing! Shed light on so many questions that I didn't even know to ask and corrected a lot of assumptions I had wrong. Loved this class. A must take class.

創建者 Stephen K

Apr 10, 2019

This course takes hard work, but if you put in the time, it is well worth it. The professor is top-rate.

創建者 Karen F L

Dec 07, 2017

Professor Weisbenner is fabulous! He is able to make anyone understand complex investment topics through his delivery and curriculum design. You are missing out not taking Investments from him!

創建者 Gustavo J Q R

Feb 22, 2017

Excellent

創建者 Aditya B

Mar 21, 2018

Well-rounded course content. A perfect blend of theory and practice.

創建者 Noman M A

Dec 11, 2017

An excellent course and insights on Mutual Funds

創建者 Mauri M

Nov 28, 2016

Professor Weisbenner provides practical, data driven analyses to investment management in a fun and engaging manner.

創建者 Mohammed S A

Dec 16, 2016

Lectures are nicely delivered!!! BUT videos of lectures should be confined within 15 minutes and be cited data sources and how to we can see and obtain data aswell

創建者 Gerardo H J B

Oct 06, 2017

Great course and material! Great teacher engagement!

創建者 Eric K

Dec 13, 2016

Very dedicated professor whose efforts are very apparent.

創建者 Rajendra P

Nov 07, 2016

Great Course. I now have way much better knowledge and understanding of Investments!

創建者 Raj B

Dec 07, 2017

This course changed my thinking of investment analysis many different ways . Key take away is faculty interviews with strong research oriented talks gave me an eye opening for building new investment strategies.

創建者 Trungnhan P

Mar 22, 2017

Thank you, Professor Scott Weisbenner, for an excellence course that you put your heart and passion into.

創建者 Pierre L

Dec 09, 2016

Absolutely excellent course. Excellent introduction to investment even without a background in Finance.

創建者 Vivek V

Mar 05, 2018

All the examples were helpful in providing a lot of real world perspectives and was beneficial to someone who had already done a similar course.

創建者 Wei D

Dec 08, 2016

Fantastic course. Leaned a lot!

創建者 Dan H

Nov 12, 2016

This was a fantastic course, with a realistically attainable amount of material, and a humble, knowledgable professor whose teaching style makes a normally difficult topic very easy to understand.

創建者 Mike M

Dec 08, 2016

Fantastic class. Very informative!