Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to C# Programming and Unity

學生對 科罗拉多大学系统 提供的 Introduction to C# Programming and Unity 的評價和反饋

4.7
1,337 個評分
404 條評論

課程概述

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C# programming language and the Unity game engine on Windows or Mac. Why use C# and Unity instead of some other language and game engine? Well, C# is a really good language for learning how to program and then programming professionally. Also, the Unity game engine is very popular with indie game developers; Unity games were downloaded 16,000,000,000 times in 2016! Finally, C# is one of the programming languages you can use in the Unity environment. This course doesn't assume you have any previous programming experience. Don't worry if you've never written code before; we'll start at the very beginning and work our way up to building small games by the end of the course. Throughout the course you'll learn core programming concepts that apply to lots of programming languages, including C#, and you'll also learn how to apply those concepts when you develop games. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Beginning (assuming no prior programming knowledge) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C# console application and Unity script and learn how we store data in our programs Module 2: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 3: Learn the basics of Unity 2D games and discover how we make decisions in our code Module 4: Get and use player input in your Unity games Module 5: Complete final peer review and take "Final Exam" “Unity” is a trademark or registered trademark of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S. and elsewhere. This course is an independent work and is not sponsored by, authorized by, or affiliated with Unity Technologies or its affiliates...

熱門審閱

MM

Jul 30, 2020

The instructor extremely enthusiastic and passion which is really rare to see but amazing. Thank you so much for teaching this course it really helped to kick start my interest in game development :)

JT

Jan 18, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

篩選依據:

1 - Introduction to C# Programming and Unity 的 25 個評論(共 403 個)

創建者 John f

Apr 03, 2019

None of the HTML links for documentation lead anywhere. This is a distinct problem because all of the assignments reference the help documentations. The zip files do not load properly. i found a go around for this, but it is useless without the help files. The teacher leapfrogs through material teaching you how to use a class but not how to construct them. this is supposed to be a beginner level course, which in a sense it is, that being said however i do not recommend it. The teacher leaves to much out, self promotes a book he wrote..(Which i bought.. big waste of money) and tries to rush through material teaching just enough of the subject mater to allow for limited functionality. if you want to take a beginners level course to truly learn C#, THIS IS NOT IT. Im just glad Coursera has the free week trial period so i did not waste any more money on this course. To qualify my statements i should say i just finished taking Two courses on Coursera learning Python from rice university. All of the necessary foundation work is either taught or provided for with a FUNCTIONAL LINK. I will be looking through coursera for another course/specialization to learn C# from a different provider. I recommend you do the same.

創建者 Anthony V

May 24, 2018

If you have never done any coding this is going to be a though be rewarding class. The lectures are given in an upbeat and quick tempo, which I enjoyed. I plan to take the next course.

創建者 Justin T

Jan 18, 2020

Very good instructor walks you through every step and then has assignments for you to do on your own to practice your coding skills. Emphasizes using documentation and practicing fundamentals.

創建者 Hyobin K

Feb 27, 2018

I had no coding experience before

But I really like games and want to make my own

This course was a perfect start

even though well there was just one thing I had not expected, I thought I would study basic coding with C#

like step by step, but this was not like that

It's like "we are eager to create something in Unity with C#, so we do this"

so I spent a lot of time for referring other materials to make myself understand things clear

,which was challenging enough to realize I really like to do coding

now, I can't wait to go further in this specialization

創建者 Tomas

Jul 03, 2018

Very well structured, very good balance between "fun" and "musts". Good way of easing into the harder parts. Short and higher number of lectures rather than long and just a few - this is essential.The semi-awkward teacher is awesome. He's just how he should be to grow an affection and a curiosity. He is also really really good at what he does. I really can't think of a way how he could be any better.Although I think it's a pretty steep course in terms of difficulty, which it should be if you actually wanna learn. This takes you straight into programming, forces you to learn things. I took, and finished, other courses that didn't really teach me much on programming as well. Big difference here.I'm already taking the next course from Dr T.On a whole I can't really give it a higher score. However if I were to add something specific for me it would be more exercises on each part, very simple repeat-challenges just to get the habit of the code and syntax you just learnt into the fingers and backbone. Atm I go to w3resource for that.Big thanks.BR, Tomas

創建者 Shivam G

Jul 05, 2020

An excellent course for beginners who want to get into unity game development. Dr T is an amazing teacher and learning from him is surprisingly fun. Will definitely recommend this course.

創建者 Michael D

Oct 17, 2019

This course has lots of practice exercises which is absolutely essential to learning to code. If you do all the exercises without looking at the answers you will succeed in this course.

創建者 Pavel K

Mar 23, 2018

I've enjoyed this course. For anyone with previous development experience this course will be very easy. Also Dr. T is very positive person. Lot's of fun in video quizzes :) Thank you!

創建者 Mikhailova A

Mar 28, 2019

The teacher is nice and all in all the course is useful. Nevertheless I wanted to warn those students, that just starting this course. Actually you do need some additional knowledge on Math. The first two weeks were quite easy to understand and if not after watching videos for several times you finally got the idea. But after, it become difficult. It would be easier if the teacher explained everything like at the beginning so you understand what every line of code means. But instead you just get a brief explanation as if you already know the topic. That makes things too complicated. I did the last assignment without any clue of what am I doing and why. Just wanted to finish the course.

It would be better, to my mind, if all the explanation was slow so that you understand what are you doing in your code (not just following instructions like "put this line of code here and see the result" I want to understand why I am doing this). This course is not worth 49$. It is easier to buy book on C# and try to learn it like this. That is what I am doing now.

創建者 Omid

Jan 20, 2020

Very professional way of teaching Unity, C# and I say programming in general. Yes you need some basic understanding to begin coding but that shouldn't limit your journey to a cursory glance of topics. You need to push yourself and the course structure does this for you. This course is titled an "Introduction" course but that doesn't mean simple or superficial. You should be prepared for some useful and at some points relatively difficult assignments. But that's the best way to learn anything, immersing yourself in projects that stretch you to the limits of your abilities.

創建者 Avi

Apr 15, 2019

It was a very useful course. The professor taught in a way that even beginners to programming can understand. This is the 1st of 5 courses in this specialisation and I already know how to create characters and move them around using code.

I encountered a problem though, Students use the discussion forums to get their peer graded assignments graded and share those links on the forum. The forum is meant for discussions about the course and not to get your assignments graded or use it for personal purposes as such. Due to this, some of our assignments aren't being graded at all (Assignment 4 - ShipBuilding 101 for me). I would really appreciate if coursera took out the option of accessing the sharable link to our solutions or penalised those who use the Discussion Forums for this purpose.

Thank You.

創建者 cody r

Aug 19, 2019

The course would be way better if there was less time with the instructor on screen and more time looking at the components of the code within the program/script while discussing those elements.

Respectfully,

Cody

創建者 Taylor E

Jun 24, 2019

Beginning the course, C# was quite difficult for me to wrap my head around, and the YouTube tutorials weren't cutting it. By the final programming assignment, I was able to actually analyze a problem and formulate a solution for things completely outside of the instructions, simply because of how well the fundamentals of C# in Unity had been laid out for me. I found myself coding new additions to the game, long after implementing the required functionality, just because it was fun to explore the possibilities.

Dr. T's goofy lectures kept things fun and gave me a few good laughs, while still presenting the appropriate material professionally and clearly. All in all, an excellent entry point for any aspiring game-designer.

創建者 Nicolás C E

Aug 10, 2020

It may be too difficult for beginner programmers.

創建者 Rebecca W

Aug 23, 2020

I feel like I didn't understand exactly what the math , methods, and fields were doing, and the Unity script reference was very confusing. Also, the in video quizzes were pointless.

創建者 Ayesha M

Nov 03, 2019

I knew nothing about unity and it sounded so intimidating to me but this course gradually made me a confident beginner in game development in unity . I was also afraid of the process of debugging in unity but the professor explained the process very well i like how the tutorials are not completely scripted like the professor does make some errors and then he corrects it makes the overall learning session more natural. At leats no i know the very basic of game development like keyboard mouse game controller input spawning , applying force , screen clamping the thing that most of the advance courses doesn't cover. for a complete beginner especially who is not a very good programmer i would highly recommend this course

創建者 Shan S A

Sep 15, 2020

I loved every second. There were times it was hard for sure, but if this is something you truly want to do, you will figure out the way to make the code work. You will find the error. Even if it takes multiple hours, you will fix it. Why? I have never in my life experienced such great teaching. Dr. Chamillard knows his stuff, keeps you engaged, entertained, psyched, and actually want to code. I actually find myself laughing during the lecture because of how funny, and witty he is. I am going to complete all 5 of the courses. Not just because I have a burning desire to, but because of Dr. Chamillard.

創建者 Ria C

Jul 30, 2019

Extremely informative intro course with a primary focus on programming! I'm completely new to unity and have only taken an intro to programming c++ course. Personally I found the course hard to follow along sometimes and I highly recommend doing Beginner Scripting on Unity Learn first.

edit: I've finished the course in 1-2 weeks and am pretty proud of all the programming I've learned! For that I'd probably bump up my rating to a 5 star haha. It's a little sad that the end product as the final project isn't "flashy" per say, but it's still very much worth taking the course!!!

創建者 Aman K

Aug 10, 2018

This was an awesome experience. I had been trying to learn Unity since an year. What this course provided me was a systematic approach of what I was trying to achieve. The content of the course was very precise. The course instructor was very informative and responsive in the threads though out the course. I really learnt a lot in this course of time. Rating my peers was also a joy. The assignments were needed skills but that was made clear through the lectures. Over all I would like to suggest this course to my friends and pursue to the next course. Thanks. Thumbs up.

創建者 Hodder C

Sep 13, 2020

A very good introduction to C# and Unity for people who have never done Video Game Programming. Thoroughly enjoyable course and easily understandable. Provides clear instructions and in a suitable sequence. The Lecturer shows a clear passion for the subject and ensures Knowledge is transferred to the Student at a reasonable pace. With excellent use of materials and relevant humour throughout I have really enjoyed this first course of many and I look forward to continuing my journey with C# and Unity through continuation with the courses and the further future beyond.

創建者 Marilou

Aug 29, 2018

It has the right amount of a "challenging" course where instead of learning from the materials that the instructor given you will be pushed to look for other sources in order to complete the requirements and to look for reliable sources and to really and literally practice your skills. I hope to finish the course though but I don't have the luxury to constantly renew my payment whenever I miss a class and I was expecting for the course to not have an expiration date with regards to the subscription.

創建者 Roy M

Oct 01, 2020

Wow! I have taken MOOCs before, but this course was so much better than any I have taken before. It was closer to a true online college course. I enjoyed how the weekly assignments were structured so that (even though they weren't graded) you had to complete them to have any hope of advancing in the class. This kept me on track as many times I wanted to mark "complete" even if I hadn't finished the assignment. Instead, I forced myself to get it done and learned a lot in the process.

創建者 Muhammad H

May 04, 2020

This course at COURSERA is the best most appropriate course you should get if you are looking forward to become a great GAME DEVELOPER. I'm just a BIG fan of DR. T the course instructor he is my Favourite instructor so long the way he has taught this course with examples and a lot of in course assignments is just OUTSTANDING.

Tip: YOU Should take the whole specialization. you will learn everything needed to become a game Dev. from beginner to advance!

創建者 Howard J C

Mar 23, 2019

Great course for absolute beginners. The Unity code does quickly become overwhelming when Dr. T starts going over some codes that was implemented off camera. I'd suggest just reviewing those codes afterwards since he does provide you the source. There are few things where you wish Dr. T could have gone over in more detail but I think those are in his book. I haven't bought the book but so far, I was able to find the answers via other sources.

創建者 Anna B

Mar 12, 2020

That was really cool! Though I used to program quite much before, I'm not into object-oriented programming, I'm too old fashioned for that... Well, I WAS not, because Dr T changed my mind about it! The course is well-structured, contains a lot of info, and now I finally enjoy Unity! If you want to learn Unity coding - highly recommended! And I do love Dr T's sense of humour. So now I definitely want to complete all 5.