Chevron Left
返回到 基因组技术基础

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 基因组技术基础 的評價和反饋

4.6
3,980 個評分

課程概述

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

熱門審閱

SS

2020年5月27日

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK

2017年11月20日

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

篩選依據:

26 - 基因组技术基础 的 50 個評論(共 626 個)

創建者 Andrew D

2022年5月18日

T​he information is good, but they really don't highlight what they think will be important to remember in general, or specifically for the quiz. In particular, there are a couple of videos that say something like "you don't have to memorize this", but then it shows up as a question on the quiz. If you didn't memorize it, you may have issues.

創建者 Wesley W

2016年6月22日

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!

創建者 Marek B

2019年1月23日

Pretty basic introduction. Not bad, not outstanding, just average: 3 stars.

創建者 Dave S

2020年4月12日

The stats section in week 4 sucked. The rest was spot on.

創建者 Deleted A

2019年3月1日

Basic course

創建者 KLEBER P D S

2017年7月4日

I didn't like much this course because teacher speaks so fast (I always had to stop and watch again) and classes are so long. I'm not a native english speaker and, beyond his high speech speed, I had difficulties to understand him sometimes because some of his sentences are truncated (he starts to say something in a sentence and he changes it by the way, turning it into a difficult sentence to foreign people understand).

創建者 Cameron P

2019年8月25日

Would've liked more technical information. more basic than I was expecting

創建者 Heikki M

2017年6月22日

-poor material, no usage of assistant technologies

-hasty teacher

-bad exams, exams very playing with the wording and not with the understanding

創建者 Ramin R

2018年5月10日

Complete waste of time

創建者 Sohail B

2017年10月24日

Brief Profile: Sohail Butt

I am a man of 58 years old and having an experience of almost 30 years of Business Management of Pharmaceutical & Nutraceutical Industries of Pakistan. Presently I am having my own Consulting Company " AIMMS CONSULTING" and extending my services as Management Consultant to different companies of said sectors.

I am of the conviction that learning is never ending and have a habit of learning new ideas about my favorite subject about Data Science. Although I have the limited usage of this subject in my working areas but I love to know about new areas of different specialties.

I really appreciate highly the efforts of Prof Steven Salzberg, PhD & Sssociate Prof Jeff Leek, PhD and enjoyed the course material and videos presentation of this course. Mind blowing approach was adopted especially in the conceptual background with extremely useful Bioinformatics, Computational and statistics in the course of Introduction to Genomic Technologies.

SUGGESTION:

MY PERSONAL HUMBLE REQUEST, Please make also the important components of course material as a part of this Certificate with % AGGREGATE so that it has a much more worth & impact for the courses participated.

A separate Transcript must be issued with having Aggregate % Score and important Components of participated course.

Hard Copy of this certificate mail to my home address in Pakistan. Please use my credit card,I am ready to pay all expenses in this connection.

Thanks & best wishes to all Coursera Team.

創建者 Marta K

2016年6月8日

I highly recommend this course for everybody who has literally no biological background and would like to learn something about Molecular Biology and Genomics.

I have tried to learn a little bit by myself a few times in my life but for every try I ended up with some endless clicking at next and next definition from wikipedia, not knowing what is crucial and what I can skip to get a general idea about the subject. Everything but not a successful way of learning. Here, they give you the essence in an understandable way, together with some of these "interesting funny facts" from the field that, added to a lecture, make you more willing to stay focused.

創建者 Jonna U

2021年9月23日

This course have helped me get ready for the next step in my career. It has helped me understand what is going on in the laboratory that I am working at. It is a good course for me because we are planning to put up a molecular biology laboratory in my Department. It has helped me conceptualize what are the things that we will need. The course made it easier to understand with the visual presentations even though I am not familiar with bioinformatics. Ideally we will be doing sequencing as well on our research and it is a good thing that the course introduced new technologies as well that are cheaper and more efficient options. ThankshnThankThank

創建者 Dr. B N

2021年3月6日

This course introduces you to modern genomic technologies, some statistics and the importance of computational biology. I think anyone taking the course could understand how understanding the basics of statistics, genetics, molecular biology and even some programming could help them if they are serious about Genomic Data Science. But that's it. You could become confused and overwhelmed if you have no real understanding of any of these subjects. The fact that this is just an introduction to the 8 part specialization would escape your mind if you feel overwhelmed.

創建者 Rubaisha A

2020年5月9日

This is from an AS Level student with relatively low knowledge about Genome and the technology regarding it, this course was perfect for beginners who wish to just learn. The basics were explained and at times acknowledged. But, after this course, I'm definitely determined to proceed in this specialization.

The instructors are proficient, well-spoken, and did an amazing job at explaining and the quizzes were definitely well-constructed. I loved learning about Genetics not just in terms of biology but through a computational and statistical perspective.

創建者 Yonatan M

2020年9月14日

It was a very good introduction to the genomics field!

Great professors and efficient assignments. Generally i enjoyed the course, but had two difficult points:

1) the 4th week was harsh because very broad subjects were given only for a few minutes and werent deeply explained (there werent enough examples or calculation exercises)

2) the final project was hard and merely connected to the course's material in my opinion. there were a lot of terms that were not mentioned in class.

創建者 Steve Y

2017年10月16日

A good, very brief, overview of genomic data science covering basic molecular biology, techniques, CS and statistics. The quizzes are not difficult and the end project is quite interesting. Would appreciate explanations of the correct answers after getting our scores. You do need to have a bit of a background in high school / introductory college classes on these topics, especially for the biology part as the lectures go pretty fast. Overall a good overview.

創建者 Diana M

2019年12月23日

I've learned many new things. Coming from the CS / Data Science background, this was a great introduction to biology side of genomics.

I'd also recommend to all students in this class an excellent book on the history of genetics and genomic research that was recommended in my Data Science course at Indiana University: "The Gene" by Sidhartha Muherjee. The book is non-technical, but gives a great background knowledge and motivation for further study.

創建者 Logan B

2018年2月22日

This is a great course that covers a lot of ground very quickly, including an overview of the central dogma of biology, mitosis and meiosis, and basic concepts in computer science and statistics. The lessons are clear, understandable, move at a good pace, and are full of practical examples applying concepts to actual problems in genomic data science. This class was a great starting point for the specialization and I highly recommend it.

創建者 Mehwish

2018年8月19日

this was good course. Its really appreciating that you are teaching students sitting at home and learning online. this course was also good but i feel difficulty in learning 4th week course. Especially calculating p value and plotting data . I think that should be more precisely and should be describe with more examples. Thank you so much for this course and for increasing my knowledge.

創建者 Rida Z

2018年5月27日

This is my first online course I ever took. I did not know much about importance of online courses before this course but while taking this course I was only wishing that if only I had known these things before while I was doing my masters research, it would have been a great help. Still, I am glad that I am able to know these things now. Thanks to the creators of this course.

創建者 Кирил З

2021年3月28日

I enjoyed this course a lot! I t was well structured and had a brilliant introductory pace. The instructors were very precise and eloquent. They really motivated me to gain deeper knowledge in this science topic. I would recommend this course to any computer scientist that wants to explore the possibility of gaining valuable insights into the wonderful field of genetics.

創建者 José A R N

2016年12月31日

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Science and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

創建者 sweta

2017年1月22日

I think this course was a good introduction to various aspects of genomic data science. The quizzes were great for testing the understanding of the material and the paper for the final exam was an interesting read. I liked the section on statistics, where a real life example was used to motivate the importance of statistics in genomic data science.

創建者 Fadime O

2016年12月21日

The content of the course is concordent with the course title. Videos and readings are spread into weeks classified within topics. Quizzes are qualified, some of them were challenging :) Special thanks to Dr. Salzberg and Dr. Leek. Happy to take to course and stepping into "Genomic Data Specialization". I am planning to take following courses.

創建者 Jorgen E

2021年5月8日

I enjoyed doing this course. The pace was just about right for me as I have a bit of experience. I particularly like how lectures contextualised some very complex techniques and ideas in computer science, genomics and statistics providing a good background and basis for further work. I wish I had this earlier in my career. Good job 👍🏾