Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,828 個評分
555 條評論

課程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

熱門審閱

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

篩選依據:

426 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 450 個評論(共 552 個)

創建者 Jay G

Nov 13, 2017

Great course. I wish it demonstrated more of the Nubian culture of Egypt as well. One of the last videos, was disappointing to see a clearly black Mummy whose name was Pontious (sp) which means Black or Nubian, and the narrator made a disclaimer on it. Also, the narrator appeared as if he was frightened and reading from a script the entire time. Sort of took away from the lecture. Other than that it was a good class.

創建者 Tom L

Nov 14, 2017

Informative for the beginner but Dr Silverman really does have to work on his deadpan delivery as the excitement of the teacher spreads to the student. The only time he cracked a smile was when he was talking in the lab. There was little personal insight into the life of the ancient Egyptians and many points were raised with an "I will come back to that" which never seemed to materialize.

創建者 Cynthia M K

Feb 03, 2020

Adorei fazer esse curso e aprendi muito. No entanto, tenho algumas críticas a fazer. O curso é um pouco cansativo porque o narrador fala, masas imagens não são muito explicativas. As provas pedem detalhes que muitas vezes são totalmente desimportantes. O texto em português precisa urgentemente de uma revisão, tanto da grafia como do conteúdo. Tem horas que o texto em português atrapalha.

創建者 Harry F

Nov 07, 2016

The course was interesting and contained a lot of information. However, the quiz questions are not all answered in the lectures. Several times I had to go to outside sources to answer some questions. Please go through your quiz materials and make sure that the answers are presented clearly in the lectures. Or more easily, rewrite the quizzes to contain only lecture material.

創建者 Julie H

Sep 10, 2018

This was a very interesting course and I learnt a great deal from it. I did feel that it could have been presented in a more dynamic and engaging way, although I recognise that the presenter is obviously an expert in this field and has a wealth of knowledge. I'm sure that if I visited the sites of Ancient Egypt again I would see them differently and in a much more informed way.

創建者 Christian C

Apr 24, 2018

Overall great intro slash brief overview of Ancient Egypt. Felt that week 2 was a little overwhelming in that it basically just lists dynasties and dates non-stop. Also felt that the videos themselves could have been longer rather than having 10 2-5 minute videos each with an intro and credits scene. Overall well done and will be taking the second course.

創建者 Sharon P

Dec 11, 2016

The course was very enjoyable. I would like to see a video lesson the geography of Egypt as there is much mention of locations in the early lessons. There is nothing about temples or rituals or the Valley of the Kings. Perhaps this could be a 2-part course with more themes. Many of the url links I tried to look at do not work. That needs to be addressed.

創建者 Dimple P K

Jun 22, 2017

Loved being able to take a course on a subject that I'm passionate about. I was fortunate to visit Egypt before taking this course so when I went through this course, it was a refresher to what I had learned during my trip. The professor was extremely informative but he seemed to jump around quite a bit and came off dry.

創建者 Rebecca C

Dec 26, 2019

A very informative course with a lot of amazing detail included. Highly recommend to others with an interest in Ancient Egypt. Associated reading texts were great and the videos were filled with additional interesting information, however some of the links on the additional reading pages are no longer active.

創建者 Elizabeth S

May 25, 2020

Very good course! Easy to follow with the videos and the examples used were great! Recommend paying attention to the forum questions even if you are not paying for the certificate fully; it helps to recap the information at the end of each week. Could easily take this course while doing multiple others.

創建者 Alisse S

Aug 16, 2017

Wonderful bounty of information, but organization of course in short, segmented videos, all titled the same name, were hard to follow. If there were bullet points or video topic names covered, it would have been much easier to organize note taking. Overall, though, incredible class with in-depth detail.

創建者 Annewsa G

Jun 30, 2017

The knowledge I acquired was very insightful and all inclusive. It clears your fundamental concept of the politics, cults, myth, and ritual of ancient Egypt. The lectures cover diverse topics and attention to the lectures are enough to understand the course to the point of repeating them to others.

創建者 Daniel S

Feb 17, 2019

I love the course, the content, and Dr. Silverman's book. I only have one minor "complaint." The good teacher is very hard to follow in his script reading. His lecture isn't fluid, and he seems to show little passion for the subject. This makes a huge difference in presentation, in my opinion.

創建者 Angela G

Jun 25, 2020

I love the setting for the lectures, but I wish I could have seen more the Penn collection. I love that the information is clear, concise and for the most part chronologically organized. Thank you for an informative and entertaining way to learn about ancient Egyptian cultures.

創建者 Judy B

Aug 26, 2019

Pretty interesting topics and content. Delivery was a little hard to get through - sometimes the volume was hard to hear (with all volume turned up). Speaker is very, very, very monotone and dry, which sometimes makes it hard to concentrate. Overall, a great overview.

創建者 Jeannine C

Jun 11, 2017

The videos were short and the content was informative, very to the point. The consistent tone of the instructor helped make listening to the information more easy to assimilate in my opinion. I would like to see a more advanced class on this topic with this professor.

創建者 Peter

Apr 19, 2020

Interesting material, it would have been 5 stars but the delivery is a bit dull and you can tell it is being read as you can hear the flipchart being turned. The collections you are introduced to are fascinating and there is much information and lots to see.

創建者 Ingeborg B

Jan 06, 2017

It was not quite easy to listen to professor Silverman in the lectures and remember the details later. But I very much appretiated the suggestions for further reading. All in all the course helped me to get further in my studies on Ancient Egypt.

創建者 Amber B

Aug 20, 2017

I had fun with this course and definitely learned a lot from it. It seemed easier than it should have been for being labeled an intermediate course, I felt it should have been more in depth for that ranking. Overall good course if a bit basic.

創建者 Rosario R N

Aug 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I´ll be more than happy to take other courses with the University of Pennsylvania. During this course I have clarified many concepts of Ancient Egypt civilization that before were not clear for me. Thank you

創建者 Heather L

Dec 09, 2016

A very good basic introduction to Ancient Egypt. But, if you have already taken a similar course or read several books on the topic, you won't find anything new. The instructor knows his stuff but doesn't seem very passionate or engaging.

創建者 Sanjeet A

Feb 11, 2017

A good introduction to the history and culture of the ancient Egyptian people. If you are truly interested in the subject, further independent research is absolutely required to gain more than a perfunctory understanding of the topic.

創建者 Victoria E

Jun 11, 2020

This was a great course and introduction to Ancient Egypt. The chosen topics were interesting and helped to put the information we were provided into context. Looking forward to starting the second course in the series.

創建者 Brett B

Jul 04, 2019

Very informative. Video commentary is a little dry but the further reading section offers a lot. I find it is necessary to purchase the recommended book in order to really get a good understanding of the course.

創建者 Amira M

Aug 18, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn through videos and English subtitles accompanied with on-site pictures for monuments. It was simple, interesting and focused on details.

Thanks Dr. David and the team