Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,866 個評分
572 條評論

課程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

熱門審閱

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

篩選依據:

451 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 475 個評論(共 568 個)

創建者 Elizabeth S

May 25, 2020

Very good course! Easy to follow with the videos and the examples used were great! Recommend paying attention to the forum questions even if you are not paying for the certificate fully; it helps to recap the information at the end of each week. Could easily take this course while doing multiple others.

創建者 Alisse S

Aug 16, 2017

Wonderful bounty of information, but organization of course in short, segmented videos, all titled the same name, were hard to follow. If there were bullet points or video topic names covered, it would have been much easier to organize note taking. Overall, though, incredible class with in-depth detail.

創建者 Annewsa G

Jun 30, 2017

The knowledge I acquired was very insightful and all inclusive. It clears your fundamental concept of the politics, cults, myth, and ritual of ancient Egypt. The lectures cover diverse topics and attention to the lectures are enough to understand the course to the point of repeating them to others.

創建者 Daniel S

Feb 17, 2019

I love the course, the content, and Dr. Silverman's book. I only have one minor "complaint." The good teacher is very hard to follow in his script reading. His lecture isn't fluid, and he seems to show little passion for the subject. This makes a huge difference in presentation, in my opinion.

創建者 Angela G

Jun 25, 2020

I love the setting for the lectures, but I wish I could have seen more the Penn collection. I love that the information is clear, concise and for the most part chronologically organized. Thank you for an informative and entertaining way to learn about ancient Egyptian cultures.

創建者 Judy B

Aug 26, 2019

Pretty interesting topics and content. Delivery was a little hard to get through - sometimes the volume was hard to hear (with all volume turned up). Speaker is very, very, very monotone and dry, which sometimes makes it hard to concentrate. Overall, a great overview.

創建者 Jeannine C

Jun 11, 2017

The videos were short and the content was informative, very to the point. The consistent tone of the instructor helped make listening to the information more easy to assimilate in my opinion. I would like to see a more advanced class on this topic with this professor.

創建者 Peter

Apr 19, 2020

Interesting material, it would have been 5 stars but the delivery is a bit dull and you can tell it is being read as you can hear the flipchart being turned. The collections you are introduced to are fascinating and there is much information and lots to see.

創建者 Ingeborg B

Jan 06, 2017

It was not quite easy to listen to professor Silverman in the lectures and remember the details later. But I very much appretiated the suggestions for further reading. All in all the course helped me to get further in my studies on Ancient Egypt.

創建者 Amber B

Aug 20, 2017

I had fun with this course and definitely learned a lot from it. It seemed easier than it should have been for being labeled an intermediate course, I felt it should have been more in depth for that ranking. Overall good course if a bit basic.

創建者 Rosario R N

Aug 03, 2020

I really enjoyed the course and I´ll be more than happy to take other courses with the University of Pennsylvania. During this course I have clarified many concepts of Ancient Egypt civilization that before were not clear for me. Thank you

創建者 Heather L

Dec 09, 2016

A very good basic introduction to Ancient Egypt. But, if you have already taken a similar course or read several books on the topic, you won't find anything new. The instructor knows his stuff but doesn't seem very passionate or engaging.

創建者 Sanjeet A

Feb 11, 2017

A good introduction to the history and culture of the ancient Egyptian people. If you are truly interested in the subject, further independent research is absolutely required to gain more than a perfunctory understanding of the topic.

創建者 Victoria E

Jun 11, 2020

This was a great course and introduction to Ancient Egypt. The chosen topics were interesting and helped to put the information we were provided into context. Looking forward to starting the second course in the series.

創建者 Brett B

Jul 04, 2019

Very informative. Video commentary is a little dry but the further reading section offers a lot. I find it is necessary to purchase the recommended book in order to really get a good understanding of the course.

創建者 Amira M

Aug 18, 2020

It was an amazing experience to learn through videos and English subtitles accompanied with on-site pictures for monuments. It was simple, interesting and focused on details.

Thanks Dr. David and the team

創建者 Bassem M K

Feb 09, 2019

If you are into the Ancient civilisation of Egypt, this is a good start to hook you up, but if you are looking for more answers, this is not enough. You need more, and i need more.

創建者 Pardis A

Feb 03, 2019

it was awesome. just the professor had this really monotone voice without any impression on his voice or face, that made the courses a tiny bit boring. but it was a great course

創建者 Tejas M

Dec 23, 2019

Really good introduction to anyone who wants to get a clear picture of the chronology of Egypt's ancient civilization, as well the major elements of it's DNA. Great course.

創建者 Yente B

Aug 13, 2017

I did enjoy this course, but the instructor seemed very stiff and was clearly reading from a prompter. This made it hard to focus on what he was saying sometimes

創建者 Ramon o c

Apr 16, 2020

Es interesante como introduccion . Seguro que motivará a los estudiantes a buscar más informacion sobre el fascinante mundo de la civilización antigua en Egipto

創建者 Michal A

May 25, 2017

Very pleasant narrative, although a bit arbitrary choice of topics. At some points it got too detailed in relation to the general overall nature of the course.

創建者 Emily A

Nov 15, 2016

Definitely recommend if you need a crash-course on Ancient Egypt! In-depth, concise, and well explained; suitable for all those interested in ancient history

創建者 Aahan R

May 01, 2020

An essay type question paper would also be quite useful since that will enable the person to go through the material and write proper essay type answers.

創建者 Alpana R

May 24, 2019

Week 2 ----History and Chronology Quiz is very tough. But the later onces are good enough. I have learnt a lot with this course. It fulfills my dream.