Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,156 個評分
326 個審閱

課程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

熱門審閱

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

GP

Mar 21, 2018

Learned more then I could have wished for, this is the best course I have had on Ancient Egypt. Thank you Professor David P. Silverman, you made this class very interesting.

篩選依據:

226 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 250 個評論(共 322 個)

創建者 Bassem M K

Feb 09, 2019

If you are into the Ancient civilisation of Egypt, this is a good start to hook you up, but if you are looking for more answers, this is not enough. You need more, and i need more.

創建者 Johan N P E

Mar 09, 2019

I liked this course..thanksfull with you coursera and the university from penssilvanya

創建者 Menna t M

Mar 12, 2019

slightly boring way of explaining the history behind every statue by the tutor with a monotonous voice tone

創建者 Daniel S

Feb 17, 2019

I love the course, the content, and Dr. Silverman's book. I only have one minor "complaint." The good teacher is very hard to follow in his script reading. His lecture isn't fluid, and he seems to show little passion for the subject. This makes a huge difference in presentation, in my opinion.

創建者 Ygor K B

Feb 19, 2019

good

創建者 Robert B C

Jan 14, 2019

Very intensive course!

創建者 Domen H

Apr 08, 2018

This was a very good introduction to the history of Ancient Egypt.

創建者 laura b b

Mar 04, 2018

Good, clear and well balanced. less t

創建者 Jessica I S G

Jun 11, 2017

Muy básico para mi gusto pero es una buena introducción para aquellos que desconocen la cultura egipcia.

創建者 Annewsa G

Jun 30, 2017

The knowledge I acquired was very insightful and all inclusive. It clears your fundamental concept of the politics, cults, myth, and ritual of ancient Egypt. The lectures cover diverse topics and attention to the lectures are enough to understand the course to the point of repeating them to others.

創建者 Elisabetta F

Oct 09, 2017

It's interesting .

創建者 Tom L

Nov 14, 2017

Informative for the beginner but Dr Silverman really does have to work on his deadpan delivery as the excitement of the teacher spreads to the student. The only time he cracked a smile was when he was talking in the lab. There was little personal insight into the life of the ancient Egyptians and many points were raised with an "I will come back to that" which never seemed to materialize.

創建者 Cecilia C

Jun 27, 2017

So interesting! I really learned a lot!

創建者 Emily A

Nov 15, 2016

Definitely recommend if you need a crash-course on Ancient Egypt! In-depth, concise, and well explained; suitable for all those interested in ancient history

創建者 Jeannine C

Jun 11, 2017

The videos were short and the content was informative, very to the point. The consistent tone of the instructor helped make listening to the information more easy to assimilate in my opinion. I would like to see a more advanced class on this topic with this professor.

創建者 Ira P

Jan 08, 2018

This was a really good course. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is genuinely interested in learning more about Egyptian myths and history.

創建者 Alisse S

Aug 16, 2017

Wonderful bounty of information, but organization of course in short, segmented videos, all titled the same name, were hard to follow. If there were bullet points or video topic names covered, it would have been much easier to organize note taking. Overall, though, incredible class with in-depth detail.

創建者 Jp C

May 29, 2017

Interesting

創建者 Kate G

Jan 06, 2017

The course is a good general knowledge introduction to Egypt, there is lots of information stuffed into each week. The lecturer's style is super dry, but the lectures are ultimately very useful. This course style is sometimes a bit disconnected, in that the information you are given is often handled purely as information, and not quite as often contextualized. This tends to make the quizzes, and discussion prompts feel disjointed, and challenging in the way that it's difficult to use your newfound knowledge in application. That being said, I really enjoyed the class as a very direct knowledge-gathering experience.

創建者 Mack G

May 03, 2017

Lots of detail, particularly about the Penn museum.

Descriptive

創建者 Harry F

Nov 07, 2016

The course was interesting and contained a lot of information. However, the quiz questions are not all answered in the lectures. Several times I had to go to outside sources to answer some questions. Please go through your quiz materials and make sure that the answers are presented clearly in the lectures. Or more easily, rewrite the quizzes to contain only lecture material.

創建者 Tamar W

Feb 21, 2018

Frequently even with my sound turned full up I have difficulties hearing the Coursera classes.

創建者 Heather L

Dec 09, 2016

A very good basic introduction to Ancient Egypt. But, if you have already taken a similar course or read several books on the topic, you won't find anything new. The instructor knows his stuff but doesn't seem very passionate or engaging.

創建者 Rachel A

Dec 12, 2016

Fantastic content, I really learnt some new things

創建者 Christopher D

Oct 11, 2017

Very interesting and informative