Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization

學生對 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的評價和反饋

4.6
1,866 個評分
572 條評論

課程概述

Colossal pyramids, imposing temples, golden treasures, enigmatic hieroglyphs, powerful pharaohs, strange gods, and mysterious mummies are features of Ancient Egyptian culture that have fascinated people over the millennia. The Bible refers to its gods, rulers, and pyramids. Neighboring cultures in the ancient Near East and Mediterranean wrote about its god-like kings and its seemingly endless supply of gold. The Greeks and Romans describe aspects of Egypt's culture and history. As the 19th century began, the Napoleonic campaign in Egypt highlighted the wonders of this ancient land, and public interest soared. Not long after, Champollion deciphered Egypt's hieroglyphs and paved the way for other scholars to reveal that Egyptian texts dealt with medicine, dentistry, veterinary practices, mathematics, literature, and accounting, and many other topics. Then, early in the 20th century, Howard Carter discovered the tomb of Tutankhamun and its fabulous contents. Exhibitions of this treasure a few decades later resulted in the world's first blockbuster, and its revival in the 21st century has kept interest alive. Join Dr. David Silverman, Professor of Egyptology at Penn, Curator in Charge of the Egyptian Section of the Penn Museum, and curator of the Tutankhamun exhibitions on a guided tour of the mysteries and wonders of this ancient land. He has developed this online course and set it in the galleries of the world famous Penn Museum. He uses many original Egyptian artifacts to illustrate his lectures as he guides students as they make their own discovery of this fascinating culture....

熱門審閱

SD

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.\n\nDo join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

RR

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

篩選依據:

1 - Introduction to Ancient Egypt and Its Civilization 的 25 個評論(共 568 個)

創建者 Jerry P

May 17, 2019

Bought both course and optional book. Enjoyed the course with some reservations as noted herein and conclude that the book is better by far. I am glad to have it as a resource while I am dabbling in Egyptology these days. Finished the course in less than a week.

It should be noted that, for the most part, this is a series of short 2-6 minute lectures delivered in "talking head" style with what has been called "negative stage presence" doing "stand and deliver" lectures read from a prompter of some kind. There is a good attempt at production quality in the video lectures.

The least enjoyable part are the accompanying lecture notes presented as ".txt" files filled with grammar, syntax and typo errors. Printed them out and read them all. "Ray" is not the spelling of either Re or Ra but it's in there. These need a complete proofreading.

The quizzes are problematic at times. I will mention only the quiz at the end of "Mummies and Mummification:" where there is a question regarding how the heart was handled during the mummification process. From the lecture and the lecture notes: "It was either left in place or removed, mummified, and then replaced in the body." This means it is an either/or but only one of these will be marked correct. I would like my quiz corrected.

Overall, I got what I came for - a fairly comprehensive overview and introduction to ancient Egypt and Its Civilization. I learned new facts, gained new insights and picked up some heretofore unknown subtleties. I enjoyed it but had to work through some unnecessary pedagogy. Glad I did it. Took about 10 hours as advertised. Evidently there is a follow up course but I will not be going forward with it. I appreciated this introductory course for what it is.

創建者 Thom T

Apr 11, 2019

While the subject matter is very interesting I don't think it was told well or in an exciting way.

創建者 Sangeeta D

May 28, 2018

This is indeed a great course. It is very simply put and very easy to follow up.

Do join without any hesitancy if you have a genuine interest in learning about the history of ancient Egypt!

創建者 Sylvie B

Feb 08, 2020

The presentation is monotonic, heavy in non-essential facts, and extremely rapid. Visuals are not well supported with the use of pointer. Visuals are often repeated. The richness of the Penn museum is not taken advantage with an introductory tour. The course is not well organized. There are not enough quizzes to test your knowledge. The quizzes are very difficult, especially that they come so very late after 10 videos. There is only 1 guest. Everything else is presented by the main presenter.

創建者 Juan C S

Jun 25, 2018

I loved it! But why only 6 weeks? Please, make it at least 10! Dr. Silverman's lectures and book are great! I knew nothing about ancient Egypt when I started the class. Now I know the history, the symbols, their gods, the significance of mummification, the christian motifs that were "borrowed" from the egyptians and so much more. I am really thankful to Penn because two of three classes I have taken -Ancient Egypt and Roman and Greek Mythology- are from this institution. I love Penn and Coursera. Thank you.

創建者 Simone L

May 13, 2019

A good course, marred only by occasional poor quiz questions. Problem questions were either ambiguous or, more often than not, referred to material from previous weeks or not in the course at all. Independent research was then necessary to be confident of a correct answer at first attempt. Most problems seem likely due to course editing and subsequent loss of internal referential integrity.

創建者 Isabella

Nov 06, 2016

The subject is interesting, but the presentation is dry, boring, in monotonous tone. Feels like somebody is reading a text book. No pause between thoughts, no animation of any kind. I am sure, the professor is a great scholar and authority on the subject, but as a lecturer he is not that great. It is unfortunate, because I was eagerly waiting for the course.

創建者 parmarisha

Sep 01, 2020

I loved the course very much and I always wanted to learn about the Egyptians and this course contains everything. one thing that disappointed me was that I didn't get to read sir David Silverman's book Ancient Egypt because it was not available I certainly wanted the PDF of the book but it was not available I request that the book's PDF was provided to us.

創建者 Rebecca R

Mar 25, 2020

First online course and I loved every moment of it! It felt really refreshing to hear some old names that I used to study as a child. Well done and thanks again for the amazing opportunity!

創建者 Ania B

Apr 26, 2020

The pacing is well done! I would like to see some more up-to-date research, like Wilfred/a the mummy resolution, f.e. This course could easily be longer and I would love to take that!

創建者 Martin R R

Apr 08, 2020

I am glad I took this course! I learned so much about Ancient Egypt and its society, culture, art, and mythology. Kudos to Dr. Silverman and to the University of Pennsylvania for this.

創建者 Brent H

Jun 02, 2018

Excellent course! This gave me more confidence in teaching middle school students about Ancient Egypt! Very well done and very informative. I really enjoyed this course!

創建者 Daniela P N

Jan 08, 2019

Thank you very much for this introduction! I really needed to have a starting point. It was very clear and interesting. I'll continue searching and studying, of course!

創建者 Evelyn C

May 27, 2020

The course is well-organized with a lot of artifacts, maps, photos and other relevant materials. For the quizzes, they are quite easy to be completed with great scores. I suggest that the quiz content should be covered more details, and the answer should not always be exact words as in the lecture. It can be puzzle, more picture quiz in order to create longer memories of the students. Also, the minimum scores to get pass can be 70-80% instead of 50%. It requires the students to pay more effort in their studying. Additionally, for the suggested readings, I think it will be better if Coursera can create an optional quiz related to the readings to let the student self-test their knowledge beyond the provided lecture. Thank you very much for creating such a very useful tool for people who love Ancient Egyptian history like me!!!

創建者 Ghadeer N

May 01, 2020

The course was nice, but very shallow.. I was expecting a deeper, richer material on such a rich topic. The illustrations and monuments were great. I hope they can make a complementary course that gives us a better insight on the ancient Egyptian culture

創建者 David N

May 01, 2020

Good overview of major customs and architecture, but I would have liked more details on how ordinary Egyptians lived their lives.

創建者 Mildred D B

Jan 11, 2017

The subject matter is of great interest to me but unfortunately Dr. Silverman standing paralyzed before a projected backdrop and lecturing in a monotone doesn't do it. Too much "talking head" (actually motionless body) and too few visuals of course material. I'm sure he's a brilliant man, but an adequate lecturer he is not. If he's so shy he might just do voice-overs. I have dropped the course and will just read the book. I would not, incidentally, rate the course at an intermediate level. Beginning would be more accurate.

Onscreen videos are bad enough, being at one remove from the classroom, but onscreen videos of an immobile monotone lecturers will kill any subject.

創建者 David J

Jul 23, 2020

I should have looked more carefully at the syllabus before taking this course. It gives a lot of detail about kings, gods and mummification, but nothing about the structure of ancient Egyptian civilization such as the organization of society below the kings. Nothing about how the peasants were organized, nothing about relations with neighboring civilization through the centuries It's not similar in content than, for example, the Assyria course "Organizing an Empire, the Assyrian Way," To a great extent it can be seen as a tour of the Eqypt Museum at U of Penn. It's fine if that's what you are looking for.

創建者 Deleted A

Oct 11, 2020

This is a perfect example of the absolute worst type of old-style top-down history. If the course had been called Egypt: Pharaohs and Gods I would have been happy, but calling it an introduction to Egyptian Civilization is disingenuous. You will learn absolutely nothing about Egyptian civilization beyond its rulers. There was no information at all about the common people; how they lived day to day, what their subsistence economy was like, how children were raised, how people attended the temples. Absolutely nothing. Civilization is more than a long listing of kings and dynasties but you wouldn't know that from this course.

創建者 Genevieve S

May 26, 2017

This is a wonderful way to familiarize yourself with Ancient Egypt. It covers the basics on the Pre- Dynastic Period, the Old, Middle, and New Kingdoms, and the Late Period. Professor Silverman is clearly someone who truly enjoys teaching others about this subject, and his lectures are very interesting. The Forums are really useful, too, as they provide a wealth of extra information which can be learned from discussions with other students. If you have any interest in archeology, Ancient Egypt, or the birth of civilization, you should definitely take this course, and I sincerely hope Professor Silverman come out with more courses to expand on this fascinating subject! The only thing that could make this better would be some peer-reviewed assignments, as I find that assigned essays, etc., help me assimilate the information more fully, and having them reviewed by others ensures that I have understood what I learned correctly.

創建者 Janice C

Oct 02, 2020

This is my first online course. I really enjoyed the mini-lecture method along with the notes. I was able to study at my own time and pace, and take my own notes from the lecture and the n. I learned from the notes, the ability to listen more than once to the lectures, the included photos, the textbook, my own photos and books. I was able to take my own notes from the lectures and the provided notes. The whole program provided optimal learning for me. I took this course for my own pleasure and distraction from our world, national, and covid-19 events. It was a great experience for me; I hope to take more courses. I did refer several friends to coursera.org. THANK YOU for this opportunity.

創建者 Beka K

Aug 09, 2017

It would have been better if the quizzes were more adapted to the content of the text. However, it is quite informative and spectacular course with many pictures of the different Egyptian items, pyramids, pharaohs, etc. And what is the most important to me, after finalizing the course, a desire appeared in my mind to watch some fiction films about ancient Egypt. I advise you, guys to watch the following fiction films after the course end: 1) The Mummy (1999); 2) The Mummy Returns (2001); and 3) The Scorpion King (2002). There you will find out and discover many things, items and bulletins, that are mentioned in the given course. They are partly horror genre, but it is worth to watch.

創建者 Noorali H

Jan 10, 2018

I hope to pursue religious studies. I had some idea that I would have to review Egyptian religions to see how later antiquity developed, such as Hellenistic and Islamic cosmologies. But I had no idea how highly evolved the Egyptians were so early on. Their architecture is technologically mind boggling and hard to explain in detail. But their cosmologies are highly understandable from later cosmologies such as found in Mahabharata and Ramayana of India. This series of lectures did do justice to spiritual concepts. It would take a PhD level of effort to develop some of these themes. No words to thank Professor Silverman and U Penn. I wish I was a graduate student there.

創建者 Cheri F

May 27, 2020

Very interesting. I have been to the Cairo Museum and have seen the mummies and the King Tutankhamun exhibit. Unfortunately the photos do not give the items justice. The mummies are in a separate area and require a separate fee, so make sure you really want to look at them.

The Tut exhibit in Cairo has many items but does not have the mummy. The mask is here and jewelry, beds, chairs, and chariot among other things. It is amazing. Again there are no truly accurate words to describe them; they are a must see thing to understand about no words to explain them.

This course has taught me a lot of things and is worth taking at any cost.

創建者 Syed H A

May 27, 2018

I think its the best online course I have taken anywhere about history of ancient Egypt. I was also inspired by the way Dr David P. Silverman narrated the story of ancient Egypt. The course was also well designed to give a brief intro to everyone about various important aspects of ancient Egyptian life. The lessons mentioned in the "further reading" section of every week were carefully picked so as to give the reader a whole recap as well as further insight to what was learned during that week.

I will surely take any other course on Egyptology if offered/ organized by Dr Silverman on this subject.