Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to English Common Law

學生對 伦敦大学 提供的 Introduction to English Common Law 的評價和反饋

4.8
1,475 個評分

課程概述

The common law of England and Wales is one of the major global legal traditions. This MOOC will give you an introduction to this influential legal system including its history, constitutional background, sources and institutions. You’ll learn about the different ways in which laws are made and interpreted, the English court system and the increasing importance of European Union and human rights law. Now is an especially exciting time to be learning about English common law, given the potential changes that lie ahead in today’s political, economic and social environment – all these pose challenges to and opportunities for the law. Each week we’ll focus on one aspect of English common law, using video lectures, readings, discussion questions and activities to enable you to learn about and evaluate key issues. Whether undertaken as a standalone course, or as preparation for the University of London’s world-class LLB degree, you will find this course interesting and stimulating. Please note that participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

熱門審閱

FA

2020年5月21日

A comprehensive introduction to English Law. The lecturers outline things in a very clear manner and the readings cover the topic well. The quizzes are quite demanding. It is a very enjoyable course.

HJ

2019年6月3日

This course is a well designed one. It provides us a good comprehensive guide on the legal practice in England. I'm grateful to the designers of the course and 2 lecturers for presenting us this.

篩選依據:

26 - Introduction to English Common Law 的 50 個評論(共 438 個)

創建者 SAI P

2019年8月29日

Short and Crispy with point to point explanation

創建者 Jamar B

2021年3月3日

This course is an absolute necessity for anyone who is interested in British Law, International Law & Humanitarian Law. This course has provided me so much insight and information that i feel encouraged as a beginner to now proceed towards a career further into law than i was. I am now pushing towards my qualifications to study Criminal Psychology & Forensic Psychology degrees as well as a LLB Bachelor Of Law.

-

I must say though part of the reason this course is so important and essential is because of the quality of the prof's. I cannot stress this enough. These two prof's have taken so much time, consideration and care into the development of this course and It's presentation. It is easy to follow along, understand and they keep it short, factual and precise. The way they explain things and progress to specific topics is done in such an order that mentally you're building up foundations of knowledge which lead towards the more advance finale. I would also like to point out that this course Literally teaches you as much as an entire 2-3 semesters worth of university education in law degree programs within a span of just weeks. I completed this in under 1 week and passed with an 83%.

創建者 Armando P K W

2020年9月1日

A very well structured course with lots of interesting reading materials and activities for the course members throughout the Course. This was my first online course and I find that there are numerous additional skills that I have learnt which was not expected when I first enrolled in the course. IT skills , patience , commitment and independent learning are a few of the skills that I have learnt. I have also learnt to appreciate and benefit from the contributions made by other course members throughout the course. This is extremely essential when you are studying alone in an online environment. I wish them well in their future studies. Last and most importantly, I wish to take this opportunity to convey my deepest appreciation to the two Course Coordinators. Excellent instructional design and a job well done.

創建者 趙祐瑄

2020年8月8日

The course helps me a lot to understand the system of English common law. The classes each week are separated into several modules and tasks, which make it easier to consist in compared to a long video clip for hours. I am really glad that Coursera offers courses with such amazing quality. The lessons from the University of London are inspiring. I highly recommend anyone who is interested in the judicial system take the course. Last but not least, I will keep studying on Coursera and I truly hope that a platform that shares knowledge with the general public should be well maintained!

創建者 Emily L

2020年7月12日

Without any prior experience of law, this was a great introductory course. It covered a lot of key principles within law that were easy to understand and is great if you’d like a broad overview of English Common Law. The course provides debates around modern legal issues and the final assignment encouraged you to be creative, so I found it quite fun. Although some weeks were more content-heavy than others, this was overall an enjoyable course and I would recommend it to anyone thinking about studying English Common Law or who would like to gain a better insight into it.

創建者 merdan a

2020年8月16日

The course is well-structured and composed. I was able to gain valuable foundation of the English common law, since my legal background is in civil law jurisdiction. Material is more designed to self-study and delivered clearly and simple. At the beginning was reluctant and thought wasting of time on the tasks like sharing thoughts or discussing some issues, however later I realized it is the most influential part of the task that helps you to develop you critical thinking. I truly appreciate the dedication and hard work of the course creators!!

創建者 Bernard F B

2021年1月7日

This has been my first Coursera course. It has also been a superlative course. The instructors did a great job of presenting the material, they provided the student with an abundance of material for their course, and they provided a great number of links which will assist me in a self-tuition of the subject of British Common Law. I hope therefore to apply to the University of London External Programme, for the purpose of obtaining an LLB in law. I would like to thank the instructors for making this excellent course available.

創建者 Morgan W

2020年8月20日

Having no knowledge of anything law related before starting this course, it has now confirmed to me that Law is the career I want to pursue- the range of activities per topic ensures that you understand every aspect, and anything you are unsure about can be discussed in the forum with professionals and also the other students completing the course at the same time as you.

I would recommend to anyone at any level of Law- a very interesting and fulfilling course- 10/10!!!

創建者 Adam L

2018年12月24日

A thoroughly enjoyable course with a range of interesting and engaging activities including videos and texts. The discussion forums that occurred throughout were also stimulating and allowed myself and others to express opinions and ideas as well as see from the perspective of others. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in law and wanting to gain a fundamental understanding of the English Legal System and its key principles.

創建者 Fong K L A

2021年11月15日

T​his course is really meaningful to me, I am able to enrich my knowledge to the English Common Law in terms of the structure and institution of the legal system, and I also understand how law has protected the rights of people. The practice quizzes help a lot, since I can see whether I have learnt anything from the course. I like how the course has divided different topics by week, this really helps me to understand everything step by step!

創建者 Kat

2020年9月10日

What I appreciated the most about the course was the frequent check ins/ polls and end of lecture mini tasks that cemented your learning got you thinking independently and formulating arguments about the information. It makes you actually engage with the content and I believe was the reason for my completion/good grade. It was my first foray into a law based course and since then have been accepted onto a college criminal law specialisation.

創建者 Eren G I

2020年7月27日

This course gives a fantastic introduction to English Common Law. As a newbie myself who is yet to graduate the IB, this course has nicely set me up to follow a passion related to law in the UK. Looking into modern real-life cases, historical examples, and the overall development of English Common Law since the ratification of the Magna Carta in the 13th century has only given me the urge to look into English Common Law more.

創建者 Catherine W D

2021年8月17日

A very good introductory course. In places the system is a little "cluncky" eg a scroll bar along side the middle section where the videos and transcript appear would be useful. Also the marking in the peer group analysis should be more flexible not just 0 or 5 for some sections. However, videos well articulated and information easy to digest and not over burdensome. A good course.

創建者 jpeaceng

2022年7月8日

The content was presented clearly, and was well structured; from simple to more complicated, and with options to delve deeper into the subjects. The videos were easy to follow as the professors were clear and organized in their instructions and teaching. Thank you Professors! It was also interesting and highly informative to read fellow classmates' comments and inputs.

創建者 Carlos A

2021年10月13日

This introductory course "Introduction to English Common Law" was simply excellent! It enlightened me on the foundation of English Law and provided a clear and smooth flow from the 1215 Magna Carta to the 1689 Bill of Rights, and to current laws, including insights into the EU Law, Human Rights Law.

This foundation gave me a drive to learn more!

創建者 Dharshana A

2021年2月11日

It's a really good course and I have learned more about the English Legal System. My knowledge on UK law has widen and I can't wait to learn more from University of London. The lecturers are really calm and the way the explain was really good and understandable. I really had fun learning this course and thank you for giving me this opportunity.

創建者 arijit s

2019年11月4日

Indeed a unique experience. I thank the concerned team of Coursera to have allowed my financial aid application which enabled me to get an insight into the English legal system. As I aspire to become a solicitor at some point of my life, this course has helped me to identify some of those areas where I should lay more emphasis.

Thanks

創建者 Syedul m

2019年7月10日

This course is very interesting for all of us. So, I am a Rohingya student. This Coursera program is very helpful for all of them, who have lost right, also I have lost our right from Myanmar. So there are not allowing to discriminition with anyone. I am proud to be Coursera see.

Thanks

Syedul Mostafa

From

Rohingya Communities.

創建者 N C

2020年5月5日

A very comprehensive review of English Common Law. The basics, such as common law concepts themselves, were covered in sufficient detail. More complicated topics such as the legal system in the UK were also covered in detail and surprisingly, made easy to understand.

This is a very well-made course and deserves all 5 stars!

創建者 Dylan T

2021年1月21日

The course is very complete, in the sense that it teaches what is due (sources of law, judicial organization, etc). If you read all the recommended material and study the videos very well, it is sure to be a solid base for those who are just starting out. He emphasized clarity. Maybe last week I would divide it in two.

創建者 Paul

2021年7月3日

T​his is a nice introduction to English Common Law. Well presented with excellent instructors who made the topic interesting and enjoyable. I am interested to pursue further law training based on completing this course presented by the knowedgeable lecturers who have made the course topic engaging and interesting.

創建者 Tom C

2020年11月25日

This is a really interesting and well structured course that is easy to manage in bitesize parts. The organisers present the course content very clearly and concisely, and there is plenty of variety of media and external content (videos, TEDx etc.) to keep it interesting and engaging. Thanks UoL!

創建者 Samved I

2020年5月9日

"Introduction to English Common Law" was the first ever course undertaken by me on this platform. I am pleased to say that the course has been vastly enriching and has imparted skills such as analysis and knowledge application. Very grateful to the course designers for having designed this course.

創建者 Dr. J S

2020年6月2日

Content is well up to date. Most of the Information is presented in lucid manner. A capsule course on English Legal System, which is extremely benefiting.

My most sincere thanks to Ms. Charlotte Crilly and Dr. Eloise Ellis from the University of London and Coursera team for their initiative.

創建者 Alex R F

2018年12月19日

Very good, qualified, teachers and excellent content for an introduction to English Common Law. Tests and proposed activities are helpful tools for our correct understanding of the subjects. I would recommend the course to any person interested in this important area of the legal profession.