Chevron Left
返回到 Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

學生對 莱斯大学 提供的 Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning 的評價和反饋

4.8
2,565 個評分
603 條評論

課程概述

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

熱門審閱

DY
2020年9月2日

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

SR
2017年8月20日

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

篩選依據:

26 - Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning 的 50 個評論(共 601 個)

創建者 Rodrigo B

2018年4月19日

Excellent course! I was able to improve my knowledge on Project Management. The experience of the professors is a valuable plus. Thank you!

創建者 Romain P

2017年11月26日

Great videos with good examples. The way of teaching is very good. Not too much information. Just the right level of information to well understand the principles. Getting the books is essential to well understand the project management teached by RICE.

創建者 Abdelrhman M M B

2017年9月21日

The course is excellent for those starting their way in project management but to gain maximum benefit you should take all 3 courses of this specialization. Thanks alot to the instructors for their effort and for this well organized course.

創建者 Stefano P

2020年7月12日

Very good course, the instructors have a great structure for the lectures even though some topics are not addressed as much as needed. This isn't a problem since they reference books available to increase your knowledge in the topic at hand.

The only problem I had with this course was the peer-reviewed assignments. I had a really bad experience grading some since I had to report them for plagiarism because they uploaded the exact same document as the example or I didn't have anything to grade because they uploaded a blank document. On top of this, when my work was being graded, I did not get any feedback regarding how I could improve it.

創建者 MBo

2019年7月25日

Interesting course for project management newbies, but it could be improved with some real life examples to accompany the theory. I liked the format of the video and the presentation style, although the visuals are more distracting and not adding to the experience. Presenters are well articulated and easy to follow. Big thumbs up for the transcripts and subtitles!

On the downside, I'm not particularly impressed by the peer review system. Who are my peers? People like me, who don't really know much about this topic in the first place? How relevant is their grading/feedback? Also, the grading system is fundamentally flawed, in my opinion, as it's focused on the format, and not the content. More than once I found errors in the content, but because it was filled out per the rubrik, I had to give it points.

創建者 Jocelyne F V

2019年7月15日

This course nicely explains the concepts applied in project management. It however gives few concrete examples and remains 'theoretical'. It is helpful for someone with some practical experience who wants to learn the formal tools and concepts. Most learnings come from the peer-reviewed assignment and reflection on own experience. It will however probably not be adequate for beginners without professional experience, e.g university students.

創建者 Joanna T C

2020年4月27日

This course can help any beginner learn the basics of Engineering project management right from scratch. I recommend this course to anyone whose interests are inclined towards management and is an engineer.

創建者 Fazla Z A

2020年8月28日

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

創建者 Diego S Y

2020年9月3日

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.

Muy buen nivel del profesorado.

創建者 Erick O

2020年5月4日

Thanks to the Rice University.

The course was so interesting, i managed to learn a lot on the project management.

I can now prepare charter, stakeholders record,,,,,,,

創建者 Srinivasa S N

2020年3月23日

The course is extremely helpful in learning some new concepts and also to recapitulate the learning. I strongly recommend this for my colleagues and friends.

創建者 Siddhant S

2020年4月30日

This is a very well structured course with a lot of tests and assignments. I would definitely help this to all budding project managers like myself.

創建者 Lucas B d M

2020年4月10日

This course is really good. If you have the opportunity, please try to create the same documents deliverable, using your current project as a base.

創建者 Subham S

2020年4月12日

Course was quite practical with a lot of assignments and projects and theoretical content was of high quality provided by Rice University.

創建者 Osama S

2020年10月5日

Unprecedented course both teachers are very passionate about their subject.

創建者 Ajit K

2020年5月14日

This course was very helpful.Both the professor were great.

創建者 Dr. S J

2020年4月18日

The course has been designed exclusively and I was quite impressed. The course was also easy to follow with step by step practice quizzes that keep you moving. However, one drawback that I faced that in peer review assignments, there are a lot of people who are not yet on the particular level of assignment and once you submit an assignment, the software submits to random peer reviews. This results (mostly) in splitting your grade into two extremes (and that happened to me thrice). This certainly spoils someone's grade. Peer may ruin your work. this need to be tackled on software level. Atleast the assignment should go who has completed the module. Lastly, I thank Mr. Tom Phalen and Mr. Kazimir Kowowski for their utmost dedication to teach this course. I hope the other courses will be much better.

創建者 kausalya

2020年10月20日

The course is very good and the fundamentals are laid out clearly making it easier for all levels of learners. I particularly liked the reflections part where we get to learn about and reflect upon the real time project management challenges. The only improvement I would suggest is to make the peer grade assignments more objective. Right now they are very subjective and we have all kinds of learners and we are peer grading documents with little knowledge/experience about the specific project. it's very difficult to get any constructive feedback many times. I believe that giving an answer document along with rubric will help in the peer grading.

創建者 Taylan A

2021年1月28日

This is a poorly veiled attempt at selling the PMBOK book. To be clear, the core lessons and definitions that the course provides are perfectly fine. But it's a better use of your time and money to just buy the PMBOK thing and read it and take notes. It will be cheaper and you'll not miss anything. (1/4 of the 'course material' is telling you to read various chapters of that book anyway. And even though they say it's optional, some exam questions are over things not covered in the videos.)

The exams are based on memorization of definitions, not a real understanding of the concepts (always an indicator that the course is not meant to teach things, but to fail as few people as possible). The assignment grading system is calibrated to a point where you can only fail if you submit a completely empty document, or a Gary Larson comic strip or something. For each section of an assignment, you can mark it with 1, 7, 8, 9, or 10 points. And the definitions are such that, if the section *exists* in the delivered assignment, you can't mark it 1. So, the *minimum* you can get from each section is 7 points unless you are a complete idiot.

And make no mistake, there are a LOT of idiots taking this course. Easily 1/3 of the assignments I graded were either completely irrelevant documents. I actually saw, (and I'm not kidding) "a schematic of a control building from the Republic of Iraq Ministry of Electricity" submitted as a deliverable. The sad part is, that is the only one I could easily mark with 1 point in every section. Half of the other assignments I reviewed honestly didn't deserve to pass, but the rubric is so poorly (or actually, *intelligently* calibrated) that I ended up giving them a passing grade. Because god forbid, this course fails *anyone* who is paying €40/mo on this mediocre waste of time.

Just buy the book, and send the "teachers" a message telling them you bought it. I'm certain they will feel happier and more content knowing they managed to peddle that book to one more person.

創建者 ABIR E

2020年6月6日

Thank you for this initiative to allow us to apply the PMP on a case study in detail :taht's really great!

I am looking forward to continue the two courses to apply PMP on the others domain of Project management professional (Risk, resources, scope, time, cost...),

This is the best opportunity to apply my knowledge in PMP as part of a complete case study.

I recommend this course and this specialization to everyone who want to go forward in PMP with

concrete cases!

創建者 Jaykumar N C

2020年9月21日

Very good course! Dynamic and very well structured. I totally recommend it provides you with notions of all aspects involving the first two-stage of the project. I look forward to doing the other parts.

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for what's next in their career. Looking forward to attending the other modules as well.

創建者 Nouman A

2020年6月30日

This course, I learned a lot about how the project managers play his role in management regarding the organization, material handling, resources available, time, and communication with stakeholders. I think I will apply this knowledge to enhance my management and leadership skills. Thank you so much professors and Coursera for providing me with such a great platform of learning.

創建者 Santiago M P

2020年5月11日

Very complete course as an introduction for Project Management Body of knowledge, and rises the foundations to take the other two courses with confidence. As a firts experience in the project management field, was a "easy to follow" course that allows to me gain the basis to start to develop a correctly project management plan in the future. Thanks and great job!

創建者 Jad A

2020年12月23日

Personally, as an architect who had zero knowledge in project management, this online course taught me so much although this is completely different than my type of work since I'm a designer. I loved the instructors and more importantly, the graphs and visual notes that made it easier and faster to understand the materials of this course.

創建者 Hardik B P

2020年5月11日

Superb course and those who are planning to build career in project management should take this course. This Course is so well prepared by instructor. Teaching style and final discussion at end of each week is helped me to learn more. I have got worth knowledge from this experts.

Thanks RICE university and instructor of this course!