Chevron Left
返回到 Information Visualization: Foundations

學生對 New York University 提供的 Information Visualization: Foundations 的評價和反饋

4.5
185 個評分
52 條評論

課程概述

The main goal of this specialization is to provide the knowledge and practical skills necessary to develop a strong foundation on information visualization and to design and develop advanced applications for visual data analysis. This course aims at introducing fundamental knowledge for information visualization. The main goal is to provide the students with the necessary “vocabulary” to describe visualizations in a way that helps them reason about what designs are appropriate for a given problem. This module also gives a broad overview of the field of visualization, introducing its goals, methods and applications. A learner with some or no previous knowledge in Information Visualization will get a sense of what visualization is, what it is for and in how many different situations it can be applied; will practice to describe data in a way that is useful for visualization design; will familiarize with fundamental charts to talk about the concept of visual encoding and decoding....

熱門審閱

EM
2019年6月23日

Great intro to basics about information visualization. Would be a bit better if after doing the assessments the correct answers were provided as a guide to the peer review.

RH
2018年10月28日

Great course! Not too complicated and covers fundamental topics about visual encoding and decoding.\n\nThe explanation is clear and concise.\n\nThank you Professor Enrico!

篩選依據:

26 - Information Visualization: Foundations 的 50 個評論(共 53 個)

創建者 Andrea T

2019年8月23日

Great course, thorough, easy to follow and full of resources to deepen the knowledge.

創建者 Khalid M K

2020年5月23日

Good way of teaching, easy and interesting concepts to work with hard things.

創建者 Emilio A

2019年12月7日

A very good introductory course on the information visualization foundations.

創建者 Vikram G

2020年4月19日

Excellent Course by NYU , Professor enrico's classes are really good.

創建者 Mathieu L

2019年4月2日

A very complete and instructive introduction about data visualisation

創建者 Panagiotis M

2020年4月26日

Very well structured course, with clear and understandable teaching.

創建者 Jeanne M L

2019年6月24日

Good introduction to learning Tableau in addition to concepts.

創建者 Trud F A

2018年10月29日

Very good course - it gives a good overview over the basics!

創建者 Charles F

2021年3月18日

Great basic course to breakdown graphs and charts

創建者 Fabian R

2018年10月2日

Some minor bugs but overall a really great course

創建者 Chad R D

2019年7月9日

Very concise and informative course.

創建者 Gilsiley D

2021年2月22日

Migration to Coursera Plua

創建者 Erikton K (

2021年3月7日

Excellent introductory course in data visualization! I thoroughly enjoyed the course, the videos, the organization and even the last assignment which I had to submit twice, as first submission was not good enough -- all part of the learning process. I noticed minor issues in the in-video quizes which I reported when I could, but I saw similar comments in the forums also. Other than that, I would highly recommend this, even just from a pure reader's perspective, to be more critical of reading and analyzing data charts and other representations. Great course!

創建者 Zilu Z

2020年4月21日

I like the lecture of this course. But the peer review assignment gave me terrible experience primarily because the rubrics fail to provide any answers or even possible examples. Students read the questions differently and some graded in a very judgy manner.

Another minor complaint is that the assignment requires the use of Tableau. I have no experience with that but I am familiar with plotting in multiple statistical software. Allowing the use of other programs could have significantly saved my time, and I am not going to use Tableau in my work anyways.

創建者 Halian V

2019年12月30日

Great lectures, Enrico is a fantastic teacher and the depth of information covered is very well measured! Some of the in-video exercises are, however, very obvious. We could use better crafted questions that summarize the content instead of some simple "word" games in which you must remember exact terms. Peer review quizes are nice, but the "distribution" dynamics could be better, I felt that my exercises would never be reviewed haven't I asked for it in the course forums. Despite that, very nice course!

創建者 Andie G

2021年9月25日

The lecture videos were very clear and the projects were adequately challenging and on-topic. The only thing I would suggest to improve is giving more instructions for the final project as it was a bit unclear the extent to which we were being asked to research the graph on our own.

創建者 Dolf v d H

2021年11月15日

Informative, yet highly academic in the first two modules. More practical in the second half. Overall an enjoyable course with an enthusiastic trainer. Note that there are some issues with the pop-up quizzes appearing at seemingly random times in the videos.

創建者 Keith T

2021年8月5日

There were a few problems with the assignments, such as questions referencing data elements that didn't exist. Overall, the issues were minor annoyances in a very informative course. Looking forward to the remainder of the courses in the specialization.

創建者 Vishnu S

2019年6月24日

The course is well taught at a good pace. The assignments are fun and tough in a sense, it makes you work. The only bad thing is the PEER REVIEW system. You'll have to spend some time waiting for peer reviews to happen.

創建者 Swaminathan J

2020年1月22日

Some of the quizzes had wrong answers/ different answers to what was taught in the course. They have been mentioned multiple times by many in Course discussions but still seems to have been not fixed.

創建者 Luisa B L

2020年5月23日

This is a course that presents the basic concepts needed to start working with information visualization.

I found it excellent, orderly, clear and concise.

創建者 Stavros s

2020年8月17日

i think it describes in a comprehensive way the foundations of data vis

創建者 Carl C

2019年4月17日

Very good foundation into data visualization.

創建者 Ben B

2021年4月9日

Overall, the course is good. But the quizzes and exercises are very frustrating. Correct answers are marked incorrect (the first complaints about that in the discussion forum date back two years). The data set for the exercises (external source) seem to change and depending on your location will provide you with different data (missing data!). In order to complete the first peer-reviewed assignment, I had to use a data set provided by a fellow student in the forum - since the data set I could download from the "official" link was missing essential variables. Then I had to do a massive amount of data wrangling because that data set had some other issues (doing data analysis always involves data wrangling, but I should not spend three hours getting a working data set for an assignment in a course the instructor points out specifically that it is not about data wrangling but only about data visualization).

創建者 Josh H (

2021年2月23日

Course content is good and important for the real business world. My primary issue and why I won't give 5 stars is that the week 3 assignment grading was very subjective and had low margin for error. With a different classmate grader each time I just had to mass produce graphs for each question to make sure the different opinions and tastes were covered. It took about 4 attempts of tweaking the original submission.