Chevron Left
返回到 Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers

學生對 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers 的評價和反饋

4.6
41 個評分

課程概述

During the COVID-19 pandemic, both the promise and perils of using infectious disease transmission models to make public health policy decisions became clearer than ever. Optimal use of modeled output requires that public health policy makers be informed consumers of models, that they understand the strengths and limitations of possible approaches, and they know the right questions to ask about the vulnerabilities of the model results. This course aims to provide anyone who makes decisions about public health policies and programs with a clear understanding of how infectious disease transmission models work, the various types and functions, and how they can be appropriately used to make decisions. There is no requirement that students have any prior background in infectious disease models and the course does not include any equations. Anyone with a basic background in public health and infectious diseases with an interest in learning more about infectious disease models will benefit from this course. In this course, participants will review the basics of infectious disease transmission models, including comparisons to other types of predictions used in daily life and an overview of the key components of a model and modeling structure. Next, participants will delve into the types of infectious disease models: forecasting, inferential, and theoretical models. Then, participants will learn about assessing whether a model is useful, reasonable and relevant, as well as the vulnerabilities of these models. These concepts will be applied to case studies of the Ebola outbreak in West Africa from 2014-2016 and the COVID-19 pandemic. The course will be rounded out with a review of how models inform policy decisions, including major sources of uncertainty for decision making. Learners who complete this course will have a broad view of infectious disease transmission models, how to assess the usefulness of a given model, and how these models inform policy decisions. Who should take this course? -Public health policy makers -Anyone interested in learning about how infectious disease transmission models can guide public health policy The development of this training was funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Center for Forecasting and Outbreak Analytics. We are grateful to Coursera for waiving enrollment fees through 2025....

熱門審閱

SK

2022年8月8日

As a risk communications practitoner, I highly recommend this refresher course to my colleagues. Thanks JHU and Coursera for making available to the public. My appreciation.

BS

2022年8月8日

I'm so estastic to see this course on my mail this morning and able to complete it today. The course is timely for me in my current facility.

篩選依據:

1 - Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers 的 23 個評論(共 23 個)

創建者 John H

2022年8月8日

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. It was well organized and the material was well presented. I'd recommend to additions to the course. 1. Provide a brief discussion of how the various model structures (mechanistic, statistical, etc) intersect with the types of models (forecasting, inferential, etc). I found the presentation of these two different taxonomies without any discussion of how they related to each other to be confusing. 2. In the final section there were two occasions where the graphics presented would have benefited from more discussion. First was in the ebola discussion. It would have been useful to get more detail on what caused the projected incidence of ebola to be so much higher than the actual incidence. Second, I needed more explanation of the set of graphs showing the best population to target for vaccine to reduce covid-19 infections. I would have liked pointers to the actual lines in the graphs being referenced in the discussion. But all in all, a great course.

創建者 Nathan F

2022年8月10日

Great overview of infectious disease modeling key concepts, pitfalls, and their appropriate use for public health intervention. The course is effective in conveying concepts clearly and efficiently and the examples are relatable examples and illustrate the concepts nicely.

創建者 Konstantina D

2022年8月13日

Thanks to Coursera & John Hopkins University for this Course-

An excellent Review of infectious disease transmission models, how to assess the usefulness of a given model, and how these models inform policy decisions.

創建者 Sonny K

2022年8月9日

A​s a risk communications practitoner, I highly recommend this refresher course to my colleagues. Thanks JHU and Coursera for making available to the public. My appreciation.

創建者 Hajime S

2022年8月14日

I was able to learn the fundamentals of epidemiology in a systematic way. I am surprised myself that I was able to pass the final exam on the second attempt.

創建者 Veronica W

2022年8月14日

I truly liked taking this course. I really learned a lot about Infectious Disease Transmission Models and so much more. This course was very interesting.

創建者 BANGURA M S

2022年8月9日

I'm so estastic to see this course on my mail this morning and able to complete it today. The course is timely for me in my current facility.

創建者 Amanda R

2022年8月13日

Very Informative and able to use to inform my work. Thank you!

創建者 Whsyeena F K

2022年8月6日

The courses have been great and very informative. Thank You.

創建者 A L

2022年8月13日

The course is very informative and interesting. Thanks.

創建者 khurram a

2022年8月8日

Excellent Course and failitators were also very good.

創建者 Anees L

2022年8月11日

Informational Content

創建者 Liza

2022年8月8日

EXCELLENT! Thank you!

創建者 Julia M

2022年8月5日

muy buen curso

創建者 JOSEPH A

2022年8月12日

Great course

創建者 Juan C G

2022年8月5日

muyMuy bueno

創建者 Takahide M

2022年8月14日

very hard.

創建者 Peerless A V E d P R

2022年8月10日

thank you

創建者 Jimmy J R L

2022年8月8日

cool

創建者 Dassaëve B

2022年8月6日

Thank You Johns Hopkins for this Great Opportunity to learn something new.

創建者 Robin L M

2022年8月5日

great examples to assist in understanding and retention

創建者 Roger N P

2022年8月10日

clear easy to follow good examples and good lecturers

創建者 Wrishmeen S

2022年8月10日

It is a good and relevant course to my work.