Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Imagemaking

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Imagemaking 的評價和反饋

4.5
2,592 個評分

課程概述

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

熱門審閱

LC

2017年10月8日

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

2018年8月18日

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

篩選依據:

51 - Introduction to Imagemaking 的 75 個評論(共 569 個)

創建者 Laura P

2020年5月27日

Amazing course

創建者 LU F

2019年4月1日

Very creative

創建者 Wuidad B

2016年11月30日

Thank you !

創建者 Amirah G

2020年1月31日

🎉😃💪🎉🎉

創建者 Sadeq S A

2020年7月5日

Thank you

創建者 Padcha

2019年12月12日

Excellent

創建者 Petra L M

2017年10月30日

thank you

創建者 Vinoy V

2020年6月22日

Amazing.

創建者 Erica S

2016年5月19日

loved it

創建者 Arlen M

2020年11月6日

Overall the course was good, but if you are taking the entire specialization it can feel redundant at times. The heart of imagemaking in a classroom setting is critique, and through crit art students learn learn a great deal from one another. I have gone through formal art school and provided thoughtful comments in my peer reviews, but others did not always do the same. This class would be more successful if learners in the same cohort were broken up into smaller groups to critique one another's progress throughout the entire course. Those of us truly dedicated to the process would really benefit from meaningful access to our peers.

創建者 Kara K

2016年5月11日

If you enjoyed the first course in this specialization, you'll enjoy this course, as it's much of the same. The class is more of an independent studio session rather than an instructional course. If you're looking to work with a single visual subject for a few weeks (but lack the discipline or knowledge to do so on your own), this course will benefit you. If you're looking to save money, perhaps stick to just the first class in the specialization (or take this one if you're only interested in image-making).

創建者 Anton R

2018年6月4日

Nice course, would have liked to be able to work with different subject matter for various exercises to mix it up a little. i.e. Not just using the same idea.

創建者 Amy B K

2019年8月25日

Overall the course was wonderful. I wish I personally would have had more access to art supplies or experience with computer programs ahead of time-doing so would have made this course more rewarding and engaging for me.

創建者 Kenzie B

2016年11月29日

If you've completed the first course in this specialization, then this is a repeat of a lot of the same information. I didn't find the teaching style very effective either, though it may work better for others.

創建者 Amin R

2016年6月29日

Good course if you are driven and can teach yourself. I like the instructor's approach. I'm giving 3 stars only because I was looking for something more about techniques..

創建者 Lisiane P P

2019年8月7日

I didn't like the rythm, the way that the tasks were passed. Many times it was a bit confusing.

創建者 Broderick S

2016年8月15日

A weaker version of "Fundamentals of Graphic Design" with way too much overlap. It should not be included in the Specialization.

創建者 John A

2020年7月22日

Excellent course for jump=starting creative expression regardless of skill or experience. The exercises really get you creating images someplace other than inside your head. Steep learning curve if you are not already familiar with the basics of Adobe creative software, but none of the exercises are too complex or required more advanced tools in the system. The primary focus is on creating a compelling layout that is visually interesting using the principles of Design. For more experienced image makers there is still tremendous value, especially helpful for removing any creative blocks. I used the course to noodle ideas that had not yet been translated to image. Came away with new skills as well as a multitude of ideas where to go next with painting on canvas, using InDesign like a sketchbook.

創建者 Christin S

2022年6月8日

T​his is a hands-on course and therefore more time intensive than perhaps others in this specialization. But I had a lot of fun making images by hand, out of various materials and also on the computer. The course was well structured and provided a well guided journey for me to create the final assignmnet. The final assignment was to create a short book, a need challenge. I reviewed more peers' books than needed because I came accross so many incredibly diverse, inspiring works of art, full of surprises and exciting ideas that I reviewed as many as possible. I learned so much by reviewing others. I very much enjoyed this course.

創建者 Edi O

2016年9月21日

The course is delivered in a simple manner, easy to follow and with clear instructions. I'm not sure how much a peer review is a valuable contribution once most of the students don't really know how to criticize properly the peer's assignment, either always giving the full mark or evaluating according to its personal ideas and not necessary what the exercises called for. Anyway, it's still a very valuable alternative to formal education, specially if the student is committed enough.

創建者 MV N

2017年12月17日

Very useful for image-makers, to clarify many aspects of creation and composition, with very useful practice activities, that set the knowledge and make your way of making images be wider. After the course you end with a big set of different images you never thought you would be able to do, plus a little book. I've enjoyed it a lot. You also learn to comment and make a good critique of images, as well as to improve your way of composing without he comments of your peers.

創建者 devyani d

2021年7月17日

This course is absolutely brilliant for anyone who is honestly passionate about Imagemaking. It has been structured beautifully by Gail Swanlund, who is evidently very passionate and honest about her craft. The lectures and suggested course material are inspiring, encouraging and unconventionally poetic. I recommend this course to anyone who's serious about making, this is NOT the course for uninspired "naysayers" who have the tendency to look for an easy way out. :-p

創建者 Angela M F

2016年5月17日

Very practical, great exercise, easy to understand and follow through, the student doesn’t need major computer programs or high quality technology in order to complete each assignment. The design of each assignment is made to use your imaginations, hands on tools and materials. Love the videos, clear, to the point beautiful made. Lots of room to work and do something quite good and unique if the student want! I am really having fun!

Thank you!

創建者 Jordan L P

2020年6月28日

It is one of the most insightful courses I have ever taken. It gave me a brand new way on how to see art, convey it in ways I couldn't imagine doing before. The instructions were self-paced, crystal clear, and the instructions are clearly defined to help you (and me) follow through it with the given assessments or assignments each week. Truly, it is a wonderful (maybe even life-changing) experience for me.

創建者 Coral C

2020年12月5日

This was by far the most stimulating interesting and satisfying course I have done on this platform. The teacher’s simple minimal style belied a profundity of thought and quite frankly I would follow her to the ends of the earth to study with her. Alas she has only this course. If you do only one thing this year do this course!