Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Imagemaking

學生對 加州艺术学院 提供的 Introduction to Imagemaking 的評價和反饋

4.5
2,591 個評分

課程概述

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

熱門審閱

LC

2017年10月8日

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

2018年8月18日

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

篩選依據:

476 - Introduction to Imagemaking 的 500 個評論(共 569 個)

創建者 Aditi A

2020年11月4日

amazing courses, learnt a lot about imagemaking!

創建者 Karen

2016年9月30日

如果有真实的workshop,相信效果会更好,这样的教育形式将在中国有很大的发展。

創建者 Naomi M H

2019年10月12日

Great methods for development.

創建者 Khan Z A

2020年8月4日

Had a great time learning

創建者 Joy S

2019年1月13日

Good, practical course

創建者 Maria T G

2016年11月9日

Challenging and great!

創建者 Chathrapathi N K

2020年11月23日

really a great course

創建者 Charity

2020年12月14日

nice experience

創建者 Eder A R C

2018年8月26日

Muy interesante

創建者 Alexandra K M

2019年3月6日

I't was good

創建者 Passant M T

2018年10月19日

good course

創建者 Алина Н

2021年2月17日

Not bad:)

創建者 Glaide W

2020年10月2日

great

創建者 DINESH K K

2020年6月14日

good

創建者 Charudatta J

2020年6月9日

good

創建者 Sister E B

2016年6月1日

This course gave a great opportunity to explore one's creativity, with assignments that didn't require us to have skills in particular types of graphic expression. However, I also found that it didn't give me the richness of principles and techniques that I've found in other courses in this sequence. I expect that, for an in-person course, this instructor gives individualized feedback that provides that content. In a peer review situation, the feedback is quite general and so doesn't take up the slack from the lectures. I suggest that Coursera work with the instructor to retain the current content, but produce much richer lectures that have concepts and principles which students can put into practice even after the course ends.

創建者 Laura H

2020年5月24日

I would say this is pretty good, not great. This is my 3rd course from CalArts. The first was fantastic, the second was mediocre and this one is little more than mediocre. Things that make it less than great for me include audio quality, an instructor who sounds completely unenthusiastic, and a learning path that seems strangely paced and maybe some of the material isn't in the most logical order. The first course was good, primarily, I think because the instructor was enthusiastic, and his course plan was logical and well ordered. I'm currently taking a series from MSU, and it is superior in every way. Enthusiasm, great learning path, great sound quality, good video, instructive directions.

創建者 Laura M

2022年2月17日

This course was full of information and was a lovely follow-up on Fundamentals of Graphic Design. However, while the assignemets were robust in their examples and expectation, many of the assignments for peer review seemed incomplete, poorly attempted, or completely missing the mark for the rubric. Perhaps students were not completely understanding. By the final assignment I was quite frustrated as the feedback proved there were a wide range of interpretations both in execution and level of feedback. This was the first course in this specialization that I felt would have benefitted more from Professor-reviewed assignments rather than peer review.

創建者 Katie S

2020年8月11日

This class is really basic--almost too basic considering the other courses you take before it. It's almost like you need a fifth week of refining images for the final booklet in order to feel like you have created something worthwhile. I think by this point there should be some sort of quality and cohesion lesson somewhere. Book forms and graphic design need cohesion and quality and that wasn't provided. I appreciate the flow and openness and the instructors constant comments of 'this doesn't need to be good', but at some point you need the instructor to say, "ok, now create something you think is cohesive and good."

創建者 Hongjoo Y

2016年10月12日

I like the content and enjoyed the process but as this is online course, it should be better designed. The criteria for reviews and assignment direction is probably not too explicit that cause a lot of confusion, and people are submitting very different assignments from one another. It is not easy to grade and hard to understand what is expected. Also it is recommended that you know Adobe Illustrator or InDesign. I actually had to take additional course alongside of this course because although it was not mandatory, it was better to know how to use these software.

創建者 Alex

2020年12月9日

Unlike the previous two courses, I feel like in this one I didn't learn anything new. Although I found the assignments quite fun and enjoyable, this course could be summed up to only the assignments which nonetheless can help you practice the skills that you already have. But in terms of direct knowledge, this course provided way less than the first course - Fundamentals of Graphic Design. This whole course could have just been additional optional assignments in the first course.

創建者 Sharon K

2021年6月9日

I think the course is ok. This course includes a number of assignments which give me as a learner to experiment and create images. However, some of the assignments are very confusing. The assignment guidelines are very hard to understand and I saw a lot of peers shared the same frustration. Fortunately there is the discussion forum where one of the peers post a few examples in explaining the guideline which helps me to understand and work on my assignment.

創建者 Zina D

2020年12月27日

The class is great at challenging your creative intuition on the subject matter you choose. However, there is some plagiarism going around in this course and in some cases the peer-review doesn't feel like an actual critique to help improve yourself. It would help if the class were a bit longer and the overarching project had more to offer (i.e. changing your subject for the big project so there would be variety in the work) to keep interest in the course.

創建者 Camila A

2020年6月20日

There is a big contrast between this course and the others from the Graphic Design specialization. Although the course successfully makes the student create a lot, a lot of images, the content was very shallow sometimes, and the instructor is not very eloquent. So many um's and uhh's and kind of's in her speech, and so much usage of vague words like "stuff" and "things". This is very clear in the section where we analyze visual books.

創建者 Ben R

2020年5月31日

With the exception of week 4, there is very few added information about imagemaking in this course compared to Fundamentals of Graphic Design. Many of the material is written rather than videos, the videos mainly feature recurring images and snippets. The assignments are a bit vague and it's unclear how to assess your own success. Week 4 final assignment and recorded examples were the one significant piece in this course.