Chevron Left
返回到 The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

學生對 多伦多大学 提供的 The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs 的評價和反饋

4.5
1,291 個評分
383 條評論

課程概述

This course provides an introduction to: 1. Basic concepts of The Strategies and Skills Learning and Development System (SSLD), their relevance for every day relationships and provide advanced concepts for participants who work in fields of social work and health care . 2. Basic practice principles and methods of SSLD, illustrated by relationship management case studies. 3. The SSLD framework for relationship management assessment; N3C (needs, circumstances, characteristics, capacity) and problem translation. 4. Core competencies in the relationship management application of the SSLD system: Observation learning, simulation, real life implementation, review and monitoring....

熱門審閱

M
2020年4月23日

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

JK
2020年5月7日

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

篩選依據:

1 - The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs 的 25 個評論(共 384 個)

創建者 Marc G

2018年8月26日

I have found this course a bit repetitive and somewhat common sense. The lectures are choppy, with way too many short video segments. I believe that sort of organization breaks the flow among videos that all refer to the same topic and makes it harder for the students to concentrate. Open-ended questions are also excessively frequent and students are asked to input text constantly even after learning very small amounts of material. This becomes tedious after a while. The contents covered are also very straightforward and I felt like the concept of 'needs' was incessantly repeated unnecessarily. The core of the course is good, but I think it could be shortened to perhaps 3 weeks instead of the current 6.

On a more positive note, one valuable piece of insight that I am taking with me after this course is the notion of N3Cs and a framework to conceptualize relationships in terms of the needs of the participants and whether they are being met or not. That is actually very valuable to me personally, as it helps explain many of the tensions and difficulties that I have experienced in my own relationships, and it helps me better understand the actions and thoughts of my current and previous partners, as well as friends and family. This is a very powerful idea, along with the knowledge that people’s needs and responses will vary depending on their capacities, characteristics and circumstances. It is crucial, I believe, to bear in mind the intersection between environmental pressures (circumstances) and personal attributes (characteristics and capacities) when interacting with others, in order to build stronger relationships rooted in honest understanding that will allow all participants to grow and flourish.

While I cannot say that I have learnt any concrete information from this course beyond this, I do believe that I have acquired a new mindset and the capacity to view relationships in a different light, and for that I am grateful to the instructors for the work they put into developing this course. Thank you!

創建者 Jenifer M

2018年1月14日

I wanted to like this course. The topic is so interesting, but it is incredibly poorly presented. It seems everything is very surface and there is no way to properly understand the material because the short videos don't give enough information. lt seems like they are trying to drag information from the professor who doesn't want to give it. The video quality is very poor as well.

創建者 Cloud J

2020年4月3日

The instructor just reading his book. He should go take the "Communicate strategy in virtual age" class also offered by UofT to make a better presentation.

創建者 Tammy J A

2020年6月2日

A truly wonderful class! Professor Tsang and his associates do such a great job of presenting information in such an easy to understand way using plenty of relatable examples that you can come away thinking, well yeah, that's just common sense and womdering if you've really learned anything - until you look back at just how much you have learned! Picking up and understanding the concepts is almost effortless because of the great way everything is presented. I see some of the other reviewers have complained about the short length of numerous videos but I actually find it easier to digest the information when it is presented in this way. And the short essay questions often asked are intended to make you think and apply what you've learned - that's the whole point of the class, to learn techniques to put into practice in your own life, it's not just an academic exercise. Anyone can benefit from the strategies and concepts presented in the course - they can be applied to many life situations. I would highly recommend this short but truly beneficial and enjoyable class to just about anyone and I actually already have!

創建者 Sebass

2017年12月16日

This is really one of the best courses that I have ever took.

This course really opened my brain up on why some of my relationships weren't working. Understanding that everyone has needs in every relationship. You have to remember this for every relationship you're trying to create, or continue to develop.

Even the smartest people I know should take this course. Just because you're really smart in lets say programming, English, Science, etc... doesn't mean you know the dynamics of Relationships. I wish they taught this in public school, but they don't.

Thank you so much!

Sebastian

❤⃛ヾ(๑❛ ▿ ◠๑ )

創建者 Vichawan S

2019年7月20日

The course contents are somewhat specialised and I'm glad it's offered free of charge.

Learning this course helps in understanding dysfunctional relationship and how to change it from yourself

創建者 Bianca Y

2020年5月27日

The course was really interesting by the title alone that's why I decided to take it, and my expectations were definitely met. Throughout the whole series, I was able to see the value of SSLD framework and the N3C analysis in my life, because the lecturer would really give thorough examples.

I really enjoyed that the lecture also touches of several dimensions of a relationship like its termination & transformation, and also sensitive topics such as sex. It's nice to encounter a MOOC that isn't afraid to delve into the more difficult conversation, because I feel like I was able to learn more about these things since materials on it are not widely available on the web.

While the teaching could have been more "fun" or creative, I still really enjoyed the lessons I got, and how practical it is in my everyday life.

創建者 Maya G

2020年4月23日

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

創建者 Sarkis K

2019年8月2日

The course discusses some interesting points, but the way they are delivered is terrible. Many short videos talk about very similar ideas, and in many cases, the subjects discussed in videoes are not well explained. It's not the best way to deliver this type of topic. If you're not a patient person, this course might drive you crazy.

創建者 Lauren K

2020年4月29日

Interesting material, good course length, enjoyed the experience, came out feeling more wise/educated on relationships and human emotions - I do 100% believe these teachings will help me.

創建者 Zalorén G

2019年2月23日

I love the contents of the course and that the students are putting themselves out there.

創建者 Bruna S D C

2020年7月1日

I highly recommend taking this course, Professor A. Ka Tat Tsang is incredibly super intelligent and explains matters clearly. This course is very interactive, constructive, it is something that you take into life, and that in addition to helping you, you can help others and improve your relationships. I will miss studying this course, I highly recommend it, you will not regret it!

創建者 Amalia S

2018年5月3日

Very interesting, with a practical approach and with many examples. Highly recommended as it offers a good insight on the way people form relationships and connect with others.

創建者 Prolay C

2020年2月13日

Excellent course on Human Relationship. I learned a lot and got a fresh perspective from this course, which I can apply to my life to improve all kinds of relationships.

創建者 Cynthia A

2018年3月11日

I did not encounter "aha" moments of learning but the actual information was a great refresher and very useful. The subject matter does offer a bit of an outline to deal with relationship differences. The subject matters breaks down elements of differences and similarities in relationships in a manner that one (as a coach or counselor) can follow and apply. The most frustrating thing was the instructor's use of the word "like" after every other word; that was annoying. Please people learn to articulate properly when giving an instructional video.

創建者 Emil

2018年8月31日

I didn't like this course. The presentations were of student-made level. Also I didn't like the content, it was more similiar to a lexicon of teenage girl, than to scientist in psychology. It was not an interesting course.

創建者 Jonathan N C K

2020年5月7日

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

創建者 JUSTIN C N

2019年6月1日

The course is a good one, it brought to light the principle of SSLD, the need for self-awareness using N3C and the negative and positive aspect of social script.

創建者 Jay W Y

2017年9月4日

Recommend for people in relationship difficulties, therapists, relationship coaches, and teachers

創建者 Jared E

2018年10月15日

I thought the much of this course was simply evil and the advise to be malevolent, especially in regard to abnormal sexuality. This course recommends abuse. and hides it behind a pretension of psychology.

創建者 Komal S

2020年4月27日

If I could give it 0 stars, I would. The videos are short and content is messy. The instructor could have intelligently shared information rather than rambling on. Would not recommend at all.

創建者 Paula C M d C

2018年10月24日

Dull. It is not engaging, the professor might know a lot, but surely he doesn't know how to express the content. It's a lot of 'nothing'.

創建者 Muhammad A K

2017年11月12日

Boring and monotonous way of explanation.

創建者 Neelesh v

2020年5月19日

I want to unenroll this course

創建者 Julie T

2020年8月4日

Really interesting course. Learned a lot of information about relationships that would definitely aid in the way I build and manage my relationships with others. Also helps with building more understanding and compassion towards others through understanding the reason why certain things such as breakups occur and the reasons why people look for certain bonds with others.

All in all, if you're looking for a course that explores and helps you understand relationships, this one's pretty good.